Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Laptop Recommendations

Laptop Recommendations

I want to buy a new laptop.

I spoke to Dell, and my head was left spinning.

I like their XPS, but it's getting a bit daft when it costs you £670, and then they want another £100 to put the feckin software on it. Then you can't have Outlook and Powerpoint together, as they're different packages....!

Anyone able to recommend a good laptop ?

Spearmint Rhinos...
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

The Dell Latitude Series are class. I use a Latitude D620 in work. No Idea of the cost

My brother recently bought the XPS and its a brill little yoke. When I start making millions at my new Job am gonna treat myself!

30 Posts
    Steve

I have an Acer Travelmate laptop. I found their range to be very good.

Also have a look at this crowd, their laptops are getting rave reviews at the moment:

http://www.rockdirect.com/

ill install every single piece of software ye want for £75

Ill also install vista for ye in that too!

30 Posts
    For every good deed ....

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ill install every single piece of software ye want for £75
    Theres a bad deed ...
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Ill also install vista for ye in that too!

Get a dell vostro, they are phenomenal value. Dont pay for MS's rubbish software, openoffice and thunderbird are better anyway.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Steve, I'd go with the Dell's as well, we use them in work and no hassles.

It depends what your after it for, for what model to go with, it work, I'd go along with the Latitudes as well, we use the D630's now.

In regards to Office, your can get PowerPoint and Outlook in the MS Office Small Business Edition.
    Derry City FC Dublin Supporters Club

http://dcfcdsc.blogspot.com/ - Dublin Supporters Club Blog

Don't get a Toshiba. I got one and it's useless (despite being very pricey). I would have thought Dell would be best. Also, although macs are difficult to navigate once you get used to them they're meant to be excellent and they don't get viruses (I think it's a Microsoft conspiracy).

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    macs are difficult to navigate once you get used to them they're meant to be excellent and they don't get viruses (I think it's a Microsoft conspiracy).
    Don't be going around saying things like that. MAC OSX is the easiest operating system ive ever used and MAC's do get viruses just not as many as most are written in a language that is only PC relevant

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Don't be going around saying things like that. MAC OSX is the easiest operating system ive ever used and MAC's do get viruses just not as many as most are written in a language that is only PC relevant
    My mistake. Just going by what I was told by a good few people.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    My mistake. Just going by what I was told by a good few people.
    No Bother just wouldn't want steve dishing out a few grand on a MACbook and a course to learn how to use it only for it to die after a week cause he'd no anti-virus software installed

that is only PC relevant
    ha?! .

43 Posts
    Just get a mac. So easy to use. Never had a virus and never slows up. Its great. If your at work all day on a PC its great to look at something different. Only downside is you cant seem to watch online footie. But that's what I use the crappy fujitsu siemans desktop for.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Mac. Only way to go

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Mac. Only way to go
    Concur. And now with Intel based Macs and Bootcamp you can run dual OS's if you feel the need.

I wouldn't go back to PC after 3 years of Mac. Also, the Macbook and Pro are seriously nice pieces of kit.

Although seeing Steve's recently updated user status, maybe he doesn't need the new laptop for a while

Should one take Vista or opt for XP? Dell are giving the choice
    Oh no not them again

3,306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by willymccann View Post
    In regards to Office, your can get PowerPoint and Outlook in the MS Office Small Business Edition.
    go with openoffice - http://www.openoffice.org - offers everything that Office has, except an email client, and it's free.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC View Post
    Should one take Vista or opt for XP? Dell are giving the choice
    Go with XP, my dad bought a new Acer laptop lately with Vista installed, 3 weeks later he downgraded it to XP and there was an immediate speed increase. Vista is an awful resource hog.

no other option but a mac......
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    No matter to us. We win all our games, we win the league regardless of what anyone else does.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast