Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Laptop Recommendations

1,928 Posts
    I got a Mac Book Pro 17" last year, the equivalent laptop from Dell with the same proc, memory, hard drive, graphics card and screen would have cost $300 more.
    I run a windows on it as well, no prob. So far I haven't come across a windows laptop that can boot faster.
    What makes it easy to maintain is that the software drivers/support for all the components/software are incorporated into the OS. I haven't had trouble with an incompatable driver since Mac OS 8 1997?
    A beta version of Adobe CS3 was up and running on the Mac, instantly stable and compatable with everything, not one glitch, I can´t say the same with setting it up on Windows, took months.
    In 12 years of using Macs on the internet I have never once used anti virus software nor had any reason to do so.
    Up to OS9, it was a doddle to manage the extensions, drivers, software support whereas finding troublesome things in the Windows registry was a feckin nightmare.
    Since OS X I haven´t had one reason to even have a look where the drivers are on the OS.
    I got a white Mac Book for my daughter to use at her school. For school she uses the Windows side, for everything else she is on the Mac side.

Boot Camp is an absolute doddle
    I haven´t tried Paralells (supposedly even easier) because at the time Paralells didn´t support 3D.

Nowadays Mac OS can installed on a PC (with some extra effort) so brand name doesn't matter. I´d be interested to piece together my own now.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    What exactly is superior about it?
    Speed, Stability, ease of navigation and the colours on screen are much closer to actual colours when processed. the last being the main reason they are used in the Graphic and Print industries

82 Posts
    I agree that the average bebo, ebay and word processing user will probably have far less hassle and problems if they used a Mac over Windows Vista.
    Is that an air of superiority I detect Gavin?

I don't use social networking and rarely use word processing on my Mac.

I orginally bought my Imac for design reasons, as I live in the standard Dublin small one bed apartment and wanted something I could stick in the corner of my bedroom.

The reason I'd continue buying Macs is probably now more about stability and the vastly superior user interface (vs vista or especially XP).

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Speed, Stability, ease of navigation and the colours on screen are much closer to actual colours when processed. the last being the main reason they are used in the Graphic and Print industries
    I don't know about speed, but stability over windows is an advantage - however, I can't see that being a reason for graphics works choosing it since the average IT worker on windows NT has a lot more to lose should their machine go, than an artist. not sure about the last one; isnt it just a case of selecting the right deisplay settings for the right monitor? Its that way in linux anyway.

None of that seems to give any advantage over linux, however.
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Is that an air of superiority I detect Gavin?
    No! I dont see how saying that people having different needs for their PC implies any kind of superiority. What I am saying is that the stability and lack of maintenance required makes it perfect for a home user - but again, you can get the same thing for free...

I orginally bought my Imac for design reasons, as I live in the standard Dublin small one bed apartment and wanted something I could stick in the corner of my bedroom.
    You wanted the shiny fruit coloured backside of it, in other words, and you paid the extra dosh for it. If I may start generating that air of superiority now, thats pretty much like selecting books for your library because they've got nice covers. if someone is happy to do that, fair play, but I'd see it as nonsensical.

The reason I'd continue buying Macs is probably now more about stability and the vastly superior user interface (vs vista or especially XP).
    Again, I'll give you stability but then the same is true of linux, at zero cost. UI vastly superior? I don't know. Really? I mean, it does look pretty out of the box but then with a little effort its pretty easy to exactly replicate the mac look - after all, its pretty much just a theme and an iconset.

Windows:
    Linux: http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/4842/286861wq6.png

Personally I prefer my set up, aero's glossiness can be a bit distracting while trying to code.

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/8...enshot1hk0.png
    Last edited by GavinZac; 14/12/2007 at 1:58 PM.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

1,928 Posts
    You wanted the shiny fruit coloured backside of it, in other words, and you paid the extra dosh for it. If I may start generating that air of superiority now, thats pretty much like selecting books for your library because they've got nice covers. if you're happy to do that, fair play, but I'd see it as nonsensical.
    Don't expect to be taken serious with this hogwash of slyly refusing to take ORA's reply as it was stated. This type of debating tactic is low standard.
    ORA wrote clearly what his original reason was and what his reason is now.

The original reason why I bought a mac is radically different to why I would continue to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Don't expect to be taken serious with this hogwash of slyly refusing to take ORA's reply as it was stated. This type of debating tactic is low standard.
    ORA wrote clearly what his original reason was and what his reason is now.

The original reason why I bought a mac is radically different to why I would continue to do so.
    the "you" in question was generalised, the rest of my post answered the rest of his. I don't use "youse" . If thats unclear, I'll edit "if you're happy" to "if someone is happy".
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

1,928 Posts
    the "you" in question was generalised, the rest of my post answered the rest of his. I don't use "youse" . If thats unclear, I'll edit "if you're happy" to "if someone is happy".
    Pull the other one.
    Sound even more corny now.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Pull the other one.
    Sound even more corny now.
    What? Elaborate or go spam another thread.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

82 Posts
    You wanted the shiny fruit coloured backside of it, in other words, and you paid the extra dosh for it. If I may start generating that air of superiority now, thats pretty much like selecting books for your library because they've got nice covers. if someone is happy to do that, fair play, but I'd see it as nonsensical.
    1. Its white. All white.
    2. It has an integrated one box design which has a smaller footprint than any desktop I'm aware of.
    3. Its actually more akin to selecting a paperback because you haven't got room for the hardback...

1. Its white. All white.
    2. It has an integrated one box design which has a smaller footprint than any desktop I'm aware of.
    3. Its actually more akin to selecting a paperback because you haven't got room for the hardback...
    oh ok, by imac, i assumed you meant one of these old monsters because we were talking past tense. Thats fair enough if the new slimmer "reconfigured laptop" size ones made more sense.

The rest stands, however.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Macs are a niche product. Like or hate it but Windows rules the business world.

521 Posts
    I'm afraid he's right. I'm a linux consultant, developer and sysadmin, but I simply have to run Windows on my workstations for compatibility, communications, ease of use, etc. As much as I love desktop linux, it doesn't sync with my mobile, it doesn't work with my bank, and it's still buggy. It is getting there very fast though.

Wouldn't touch a mac with a barge pole, for the same reason I wouldn't buy an iPod or any other Apple product if I can possibly avoid it. Apple is a closed-minded, closed-source, self-serving and suppressive company that doesn't deserve the support of anyone that believes in open standards, open source and open society.

Don't even get me started on Vista. If it wasn't for Office, Microsoft would be in big trouble right now.

3,498 Posts
    This strip pretty much sums up what I think of Mac users: http://www.pvponline.com/2007/04/06/apr-6-2007/
    As you might have guessed, I'm not a fan.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    This strip pretty much sums up what I think of Mac users: http://www.pvponline.com/2007/04/06/apr-6-2007/
    As you might have guessed, I'm not a fan.
    So you just ignored all the posts above?

Hugely open minded. Since you're so keen to pidgeonhole, I'll put you firmly in the nerdlinger category.

Macs are for people that use computers to do things, not people who use computers because they like to.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 16/12/2007 at 12:29 PM.

3,498 Posts
    So you just ignored all the posts above?
    Nope, I've been reading the thread with interest since I posted on the first page

Hugely open minded. Since you're so keen to pidgeonhole, I'll put you firmly in the nerdlinger category.
    Sounds about right, I've owned a few PC's, and I've Linux on 2 of my machines at home at the moment, and one one of my work machines. Like Adam, I only use Windows out of necessity.

Macs are for people that use computers to do things, not people who use computers because they like to.
    Are you saying that people who use PC (Windows or Linux) don't use them to do things? If that's your point of view, it's not mine but I respect it.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 16/12/2007 at 1:56 PM.

Computers are for people who use computers to do things. I've yet to hear of anyone getting hot under the collar for sitting at a keyboard.

I don't know if you're implying that linux users "use computers because they like to" but I cant really think of anything that Mac users would be doing that linux users wouldnt, except perhaps paying for all of their software.

From what I've seen, mac users tend to want to be different, and yet still conform to something. Has anyone been bold enough to try the live cd?

http://ie.releases.ubuntu.com/gutsy/...sktop-i386.iso
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

3,498 Posts
    For the record, I do have an iPod. I had 2 creative Zens before that, both of which died on me, so I went with the iPod. I really hate iTunes though, so I stuck rockbox - http://www.rockbox.org/ - on it. Problem solved.

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    it doesn't work with my bank
    Which bank? from complaints on ubuntuforums.org, it seems as though some banks are blocking non-windows access, possibly in a misguided attempt to increase security (linux? isnt that what hackers use?). a suggested fix is the user-agent switcher for firefox (built into opera, also) which lets you pretend to the server its a vista box. of course, send a complaining email to the admin anyway.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Picked up a great bargain today in PC World.

Got an Apple Mac mini for only €249, a saving of over €300 on normal retail.

For anyone interested they also have Netgear DG834PN ADSL MIMO wireless modem routers with USB adapter for €79.99!!!!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Dragging this old boy up again.

My old beauty of a Dell Inspirion 1100 which has been on the go for years is starting to show its age to an extent. Having trouble with network both on the work on via ethernet (it keeps saying network cable disconnected etc etc) and on wifi it seems to lose the signal all the time.

I work in a British University which has an attached IT shop for students and staff so I went in and had a look around and this caught my attention. At first I thought it was a toy but it seems to have quite the cult following. Tiny little laptop with 7" screen, 4gb ssd and Linux Xandos installed. Been mentioned to be that Ubuntu would be better to use on it.

All I ever do is write word documents, internet and read pdf so the supplied firefox, mozilla and open office would seem to do the trick.

Am I mad to be considering this?!?

Ideally what I'd like to do is some how fix the Dell laptop (thinking maybe a usb ethernet adapter might do the job?) and then get the eee pc as a mobile yoke. I've been using a second hand jornada 680 for on the go stuff but its suffering from poor health too and the tiny keyboard isnt really an option for writting papers etc.
    Last edited by SÓC; 20/03/2008 at 5:00 PM.
    Oh no not them again

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast