View Poll Results: In November's US election I'd vote for...

Voters
63. You may not vote on this poll
  • John McCain

4 6.35%
  • Barack Obama

50 79.37%
  • One of the other loonies

9 14.29%
Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Thread: US Presidential Elections

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Evening Herald (Dublin) article from last week, stated 90,000 new Democrat registered voters in Nevada (or 90,000 more than Republicans).
    You may as well have quoted The Onion.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    You may as well have quoted The Onion.

I was concious of what I was doing at the time.
    I didn't want people to presume it was the Evening Herald (Reno) or something.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    It varies from state to state. Florida is 29 days before, Ohio is 30 days etc...

See here
    Thanks. That's very concise.
    Last edited by HarpoJoyce; 22/10/2008 at 3:15 PM.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    I was concious of what I was doing at the time.
    This makes it even more reprehensible

Step 1: If it's from the Evening Herald and you want to make a serious point, never admit your source is the Evening Herald
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

BBC said last night that as many as 2/3 of voters may have already voted before election day due to huge increase in absentee ballots. This can probably only help Obama win.

230 Posts
    As McCain continues to distance himself from Bush, he just keeps getting closer.

Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

How quiet did it go when he said he couldn't agree with them more
    Last edited by dahamsta; 23/10/2008 at 8:55 PM. Reason: Don't quote videos please.

I will re-post this on November 5 where I will repost this with glee or looking like an idiot.

I have never seen a campaign run this badly. First Big Mc turns nasty Mc - the GOP candidate with the highest appeal to Dems and Ind's has turned into a sub Limbaugh, Hannity demagogue.

Please listen to the interview below - I have never heard anything so illiterate, so incoherent, so much babbling, so much complete drivel.

For some reason, the GOP think the Roive playbook plays here - please remember Rove got beaten by Gore in 2000 and barely beat a staggeringly inept candidate in Kerry on '04.

They preside over the worst regime in US history, they come up against probably the most articulate, but most inexperienced and, let's be frank here, unwhitest, candidate ever, they assume the Rove playbook can win again ?

The GOP seems to have this wide family of Bill Kristol, Limbaugh, Krauthammer etc who wield extraordinary influence - Kristol is reckoned to be behind the Palin pick - which got lucky in 2000 and with the uber fascist Cheney at the helm, they buggered up the world.

Also remember these people went nuts and tried to impeach Clinton for, eh, lying about a skirt - they went nuts - these people are nuts. They nominate Mc, in an intensely skilful move but then he runs to the right.

But the question remains - why do they think they can win with the clueless Palin and the staggeringly overplaying his 15 minutes Joe the For F*** sake Plumber - WTF ???

I have never seen anything this bad - they may win and if they do, I will repost this and look like an idiot - but BO has run a very skilful campaign - he has managed to pcik Biden - a gaffe prone guy but who has credibility - he can say anything he likes and nobody cares because of the clueless inarticulate dummy in the attached.

Why does she keep saying "also" ? Jaysus - the GOP has an illustrious history - Lincoln etc etc - but this lot are mad.

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS...ml#cnnSTCVideo
    DB Cooper is alive !

Quote Originally Posted by Angus View Post
    For some reason, the GOP think the Roive playbook plays here - please remember Rove got beaten by Gore in 2000 and barely beat a staggeringly inept candidate in Kerry on '04.

They preside over the worst regime in US history, they come up against probably the most articulate, but most inexperienced and, let's be frank here, unwhitest, candidate ever, they assume the Rove playbook can win again ?
    Yet in Florida the Democrats are only up 2% on them, although the other keys states seem to be going the Democrats way eg. Ohio. I would like to see a 6-10 point margin in the swing states just to be on the safe side. Surprised they have nt pushed the line about the Democrats controlling the Whitehouse and Congress The Guardian has a good site if you are interested

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/?ut...aign=guardian2

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Yet in Florida the Democrats are only up 2% on them, although the other keys states seem to be going the Democrats way eg. Ohio. I would like to see a 6-10 point margin in the swing states just to be on the safe side. Surprised they have nt pushed the line about the Democrats controlling the Whitehouse and Congress The Guardian has a good site if you are interested

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/?ut...aign=guardian2
    I dn't think that Florida is particularly crucial to Obama winning the election. He could easily lose it and go on to win overall. Besides, it's not really too much of a surprise that Obama is "struggling" in florida as most of the state is similar to the rest of the southern states. Anyway, I'm pretty sure I heard that he was miles ahead of McCain in terms of the electoral college projections, something like 80-100 ahead.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    I don't think that Florida is particularly crucial to Obama winning the election..
    I agree. On the other hand if McCain loses Florida seems impossible to win overall election.

The Republicans had a woeful list of candidates for this election. I suspect better candidates stayed away knowing the difficulty of getting elected on Bush coat tails. Maybe Romney would have had a go with the economy collapsing but the likes of Guiliani & Huckabee would never have stood a chance.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I agree. On the other hand if McCain loses Florida seems impossible to win overall election..
    Dont disagree but after what happened in 2000 and 2004 it would be revenge for local Democrats - and you would have to ask yourself if the Democrats didnt take what would it take for a Republican to lose it ?

Major gaffe regarding Cuba ?, gay love triangle, financial scandal ?

It could turn into a Kansas, ie no matter how **** the economy is /the republicans are they will always get elected

I knew Kerry was in trouble in 2004 when Florida was 'too close to call' on election night, after 2000 you would have thought it should of been a landslide.

Would it be at all possible for one of you guys to put up a poll and let us vote Obama or Mc Cain?? Just to see what the general consesus is amongst us lowly football fans.
    Last edited by Pike B; 24/10/2008 at 12:11 PM.

Would you vote for?

adding a poll...
    Last edited by Dodge; 24/10/2008 at 11:52 AM.

Who would I vote for?

Obama all the way

Ron Paul would get my vote before McCain

Done. Good idea

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Done. Good idea
    Nice one lads.

Oh and Obama all the way..

A poll of Irish people means nothing as we can't possibly be familiar with the multitude of domestic issues.

Neither candidate gives me much hope they can solve the economic situation which has the most impact on us. Looks like Obama will win alongside Democrat controlled Senate & Congress. I read that if the Democrats get 60 seats in the Senate they will be able to pass any bill they like. Seems generally US voters don't like to have one party control all areas of government. The upside is might make republicans get back to basics & drop the religious nutters.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    A poll of Irish people means nothing as we can't possibly be familiar with the multitude of domestic issues
    Most wouldn't affect us so we can vote on the topics that will affect us, and we know a bit about. Its only a poll, its not supposed to swing the election one way or the other

Aww damn, and here I thought we'd make a difference...

Its only a poll, its not supposed to swing the election one way or the other
    Not sure about that. Surely American voters see how Irish people on foot.ie vote before casting theres?

Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast