Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Delaney interview last night

60 Posts

Delaney interview last night

Anybody watch One on One, last night on RTE. John Murray was the interviewer and questioned Delaney on everything from Eircom Park to Lansdowne, ticket prices, Eircom League, EL clubs in financial trouble, Stauntons appoinment, Delaneys salary, his appointment, the managers job, facilities compared to the GAA. It was a really in-depth interview. I've been a huge critic of Delaney, but have to say he acquitted himself very well.
    Always look on the bright side of life

3,498 Posts
    Interview available online here: http://www.rte.ie/news/onetoone/index.html

Yeah he did well but in fairness I wouldn't have expected anything less. He's a real politician. Without wishing to open up a whole new debate on this he repeatedly referred to the British Isles when speaking of ourselves, Northern Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales which I found a bit irritating, but like I said, other than that he did well.

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Anybody watch One on One, last night on RTE. John Murray was the interviewer and questioned Delaney on everything from Eircom Park to Lansdowne, ticket prices, Eircom League, EL clubs in financial trouble, Stauntons appoinment, Delaneys salary, his appointment, the managers job, facilities compared to the GAA. It was a really in-depth interview. I've been a huge critic of Delaney, but have to say he acquitted himself very well.
    I agree - thought he was very calm and collected , considering John Murray spent the whole interview trying to get a rise out of him, using an interview style that would have put the spainish inquisition to shame. I also have been a big critic of Delaney, but credit where its due.
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

He also sounded very credible a couple of years ago when he told us he was appointing an up and coming, enthusiastic new manager, a former player with over 100 caps, who would bring passion and commitment back to the side, and whose youthful exuberance would be matched with the steady hand of a wise old footballing eminence grise with a long track record behind him . . . .

60 Posts
    I know, a fact I have referred to in other posts. But he talked about the amount of money the FAi will have in the bank by end of year €30million, facilities improving around the country at grass roots level, ect ect
    Last edited by drummerboy; 11/12/2007 at 2:45 PM.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    Yeah he did well but in fairness I wouldn't have expected anything less. He's a real politician. Without wishing to open up a whole new debate on this he repeatedly referred to the British Isles when speaking of ourselves, Northern Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales which I found a bit irritating, but like I said, other than that he did well.
    Yea, I thought he was pretty good as well and he wasn't given an easy ride either. He did sort of apologise for referring to ourselves as the "British Isles". He let the mask slip though, when talking about the new youth development/elite academy - something to the effect that we dont want to miss out on the young Peter Canavans, etc. etc, (played GAA for Tyrone for those of you who don't know!).

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by janeymac View Post
    Yea, I thought he was pretty good as well and he wasn't given an easy ride either. He did sort of apologise for referring to ourselves as the "British Isles". He let the mask slip though, when talking about the new youth development/elite academy - something to the effect that we dont want to miss out on the young Peter Canavans, etc. etc, (played GAA for Tyrone for those of you who don't know!).
    Tbf, Tyrone is British, after all!

Anyhow, those who get irritated when someone refers (technically correctly, btw) to "the British Isles" might consider how irritating it is for others when they themselves refer e.g. to "the North" (for NI) or "Ireland" (when they mean the Republic of Ireland football team) as the very title of this Section of the Board exemplifies!

Btw, Peter Canavan is just about the last individual who might be persuaded to play a "garrison game", if you know what I mean!

1,928 Posts
    Ah Zebedee is back, don't miss a chance to pop up whenever there is the slightest opportunity.

I didn't get the mask slipping bit.
    Delaney's point was about developing the acadamies so as not to miss out on the Mikey Sheehys or the Peter Canavans, in other words athletes who excelled in other sports.
    In the (unlikely) event that Canavan would have wanted to and excelled at soccer, hard to picture him at WP though

Ignore him!

Saw that interview in my leaba last night. Loved the part where he was asked "Are you a multi millionaire?..... Ah now thats.......(stutter)....thats not a fair question".

He's well able to talk!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    Ignore him!

Saw that interview in my leaba last night. Loved the part where he was asked "Are you a multi millionaire?..... Ah now thats.......(stutter)....thats not a fair question".

He's well able to talk!
    So Kingdom what do think of Delaney's search for big strapping 12 year old lads down the country (Kerry way) and develop them in the skills of soccer and that it's been well recognized that depending on mini sized Dubs isn't enough.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Delaney's point was about developing the acadamies so as not to miss out on the Mikey Sheehys or the Peter Canavans, in other words athletes who excelled in other sports.
    So is Delaney intending to open Academies in Tyrone, then?

So Kingdom what do think of Delaney's search for big strapping 12 year old lads down the country (Kerry way) and develop them in the skills of soccer and that it's been well recognized that depending on mini sized Dubs isn't enough.
    Not much geysir,

I dont care if its kerry or any other part of ireland these lads come form as long as his search is successful.

I just turned on the tele when i went to bed last night, did'nt actually hear him mention kerry. What did he say?

I didn't get the mask slipping bit.
    In the (unlikely) event that Canavan would have wanted to and excelled at soccer, hard to picture him at WP though
    The devious FAI's plan to rob Norn Iron of all its youth is now out in the open!

Of all the top GAA players in the Republic - Henry Sheflin, Owen Kelly, Kieran Donaghey, the O'Halpins to mention but a few, but he had to mention Canavan. Mind you, the GAA blazers would probably be very happy if the FAI took all of the Ulster 'rump' along with Cork. They are always up in arms about something. Cork hurlers & footballers are on strike at the moment (and fair play to them).

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post

Not much geysir,

I dont care if its kerry or any other part of ireland these lads come form as long as his search is successful.

I just turned on the tele when i went to bed last night, did'nt actually hear him mention kerry. What did he say?
    Just referred to getting the Mikey Sheehys, (considered to be an outstanding athlete) and I just surmised that Kerry was the place to find them

The devious FAI's plan to rob Norn Iron of all its youth is now out in the open!
    Of all the top GAA players in the Republic - Henry Sheflin, Owen Kelly, Kieran Donaghey, the O'Halpins to mention but a few, but he had to mention Canavan.
    I didn't think of the geography like that 'cause Canavan's identity is so obviously just Irish now that you mention it, Delaney is a smart cheeky fécker behind the spiel.

Surprised nobody has mentioned his defence of the ticket prices .. which he justifies by the money that is going back into the grassroots.

Leaving aside, that it is also funding his rather large salary and a pay-off to an ex-manager who everyone here could see was going to end in disaster, 50 and 70 euro is an obscene amount of money to be charging people .. especially for families.

Then again, as with everything in Ireland .. from 30 year old badly insulated houses down to eating a poor meal in an expensive restaurant, we are all very quick to part with our money for a poor product.

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    I don't see why not, especially if FIFA's executive committee accepts their own legal department's consistant rulings on the eligibility issue.

If FIFA makes an executive ruling in favour of players from the North representing Ireland, it can hardly deny the association the right to train, facilitate & nurture future young internationals in their own areas, be it in Tyrone or Kerry.

282 Posts
    Originally Posted by EalingGreen

Quote Originally Posted by co. down green View Post
    I don't see why not, especially if FIFA's executive committee accepts their own legal department's consistant rulings on the eligibility issue.

If FIFA makes an executive ruling in favour of players from the North representing Ireland, it can hardly deny the association the right to train, facilitate & nurture future young internationals in their own areas, be it in Tyrone or Kerry.
    So we can also expect to see the FAI opening Academies in England, Scotland and the USA for example? After all, it would be a shame to miss out on the next generation of Peter Butlers, Owen Coyles and Joe Lapira's wouldn't it?

This is fascinating stuff, lads. Has this topic ever been debated on here before
    SIGNATURESCOPE

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    So we can also expect to see the FAI opening Academies in England, Scotland and the USA for example? After all, it would be a shame to miss out on the next generation of Peter Butlers, Owen Coyles and Joe Lapira's wouldn't it?
    Well no because none of those countries you mentioned are part of Ireland. Tyrone is.

See the difference
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast