Thread: Galway Game

Galway Game

I think it is fair to say that we were robbed. But not taking our chances was like leaving your door unlocked and windows open and giving out because you were burgled.

We really need to get sharper in front of goal. It shows in the goal tallies of our strikers at this stage of the season. We played a lot of good football - the only team to do so - but it was to no effect if we waste chances once we make them. Talking to a couple of Galway fans in the bar after the game they said the general consensus among them was that Limerick were the best team they've played so far.

I thought the defence was outstanding. Healy's early flapping and poor kick-outs aside he did okay. This new full-back Stephen O'Mahoney is a class act. He could definitely be the find of the season. Paul Finucane is back to his old self and Paddy Purcell was great too. It was not a penalty. Keating solid as ever. Midfield was good. Cooney really went out of the game in the second half - don't know why Heffernan wasn't given a run. Sugrue looks useful. I also think Sweeney is a fine player - really committed but skillful with it. It'd be great to see him hooked up with Weldrick in the centre although it would be a bit of a short-ar$e centre.

It was a really good performance - I am a lot more confident that things are getting sorted out on the pitch. O'Connor and Kerley have unearthed quite a few really impressive young players.

The meeting afterwards was interesting - expecially Gael's tantrum.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Just a couple of things....Firstly it's nice to see someone acknowledging the fact that O'Connor did unearth and develop some vital players, and that Kerley is pulling his weight in that department too.Without sounding sceptical, though I fear I'm going to be accused of it, I can't help but feel we're in a false position in this league...or else it's just a shockin' league to play in.This side could and should play much better football. I still am not convinced about Sugrue and O'Mahony...they look to have bundles of talent, but for me are still too young and too light to really stand out.Pat Purcell has, and has admitted this himself, made more mistakes this season than he did in the entire campaign last season and I wouldn't be as confident about him as I was. Cooney is a central midfielder...a strong tackler who can break up the play and create chances. What the hell is he doing out on the wing? He's like a lost deer in the headlights out there. He's certainly head and shoulders above anything else we have as a central midfielder (with the possible exception of Keating) and the only reason he's with us is that Bohs refused to loan him to other Premier clubs who wanted him. O'Connor did a good job grabbing him. I know its early and his first ever job, but I believe Kerley has to get to know what he wants and stick to it..not keep altering things.This is the worst standard of First Division Football there ever been, and so represents our best ever chance of joining the big boys...I've still got a bad feeling though....and thats without voicing my opinions on off the field matters!!

Last night was interesting on many differnent levels on and off the pitch. We should have won the game by a hatful and I have to agree with you LFC in Exile that we are not sharp enough upfront.

I wasnt sure about the peno still arent.But we are not getting into the position of scoring more than one goal. At that stage of the game we should not have had to worry about a peno as we should have been home and hosed.

The Business after the game as Players walked off was messy and should not be let happen. If we are trying to get supporters to games this could put them off. Afterwards I thought the meeting went well enough with some very good input from Manager, Committee rep and fans. The turnout was also ok. It's a start anyway and we will see what comes out of it in due course.

Re: Galway Game

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    I think it is fair to say that we were robbed. But not taking our chances was like leaving your door unlocked and windows open and giving out because you were burgled.

The meeting afterwards was interesting - expecially Gael's tantrum.
    Good point about not taking our chances - I am trying to think of times when we have won by more than one goal and there are very few. Kildare and Athlone away last year, Waterford the year before I think. We don't put teams away and we lost three points that we deserved last night.

As for Gael - I think this was all a misunderstanding, and talking to him afterwards there wasn't any problems. The meeting went very well and it was great that everyone who came along saw that it was open, inclusive and there were no hidden agendas. Everyone wants to do something to make a difference to the club.

Nempton and LFC in Exile made some excellent points about the pros and cons of going either direction with the SC. The general consencus at the end of the meeting seemed to be centered around the following points:

1. That people wanted a SC that would work with the club and interact with the club committee while still maintaining their anonimity as a seperate entity. As long as everyone is working together to improve the club I really wouldn't be overly pushed either way on this subject.

2. That PR was the most pertinent issue to be addressed by the board Supporters Club when elected, with an aim to increase our profile whereever and whenever possible.

3. A Code of Conduct - Something that I think is needed as the scene at the end of the match clearly highlighted. While it may not bother the die-hards how much someone curses or loses-the-head, other fans, for example those with kids, would not like to come to a game and have young children listen to what comes out of our mouths in the heat of the moment. While I don't believe anyone should curb their support for the team, possibly we should try to put in place a system where we have die-hard and family enclosures. I believe that would make everyone happy and boost numbers without ruffling anyone's feathers.

It was an incredibly positive meeting and I was delighted to see players, their parents, Ralph from the committee and the manager there. It was a great sign that everyone wants this to benifit the club and that everyone is pulling in the same direction.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Sounds like a positive reaction. Getting players to realise that they are playing for the fan's is something that other supporters will really envy. LFC have in the past had some players who could be described as mercenary.
    It is vital to self regulate fans. Keeping cool is sometimes hard but we should always remember we are ambassadors of the club and we represent the City as well. Shamrock RFC were able to blacken Limerick FC's name for years because some kids in Rathbane were riding some ponies nearby, they called it a cavalry charge by Limerick fans and it got a bit of press as well.
    But there is no real substitute for passion in players or fans.
    You're ruining a grand game

Wasn't able to hang around for the meeting, but I have to say ye were very unlucky in the game. Dunno whether it was a pen or not (but ye did get away with a clear handball in the box!!!) but ye should have had 3 or 4 at that stage. Limerick really need someone in the centre of midfield to boss things