Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Dont think Stephen will be coming back
    Hardly. Its been a season of dreaming so youd never know

112 Posts
    Yeah id like to add my sentiments. Thank you Alan for the cup wins, keeping us on the map and his dignity throughout the season when he could have just slagged off the board.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

gutted that alan has gone. he deserves massive respect for stayin put even when we had those six points deducted!! i always got well with alan and wish all the best in his next job!! he was excellent in his five years with us we will probably never win any trophies again. he was a miracle worker and always seemed to get in any decent signings. in the daily mail article written by rocky (is that ok to say rocky?) five cvs were received by five o clock yesterday...two of them are highly qualified with a pro licence.

just got a text from alan matthews:

thanks marty i am very sad to be going. the club has being a big part of my life over the past six seasons. I very much appreciate your support along with the section o crew.I could do no more and I am delighted that we gave the fans some good memories over the years. thanks for your text again very much appreciated talk to you again alan.

If any of ye lads want alan matthews mob no to text him, send me a pm or send me a text by phone.

33 Posts
    fair play to Alan, he worked wonders at the club. I wasn't always his biggest fan over some of the football we played when we had decent players who actually pass the ball.

as for a new manager i would have grave reservations about Vinny as he has only started his badges, Stan was a legend for Ireland fcuking ****e as manager. Let people apply and see what happens. I think Trevor Crolly would not be a bad choice.

Remember feck all people had heard of Stephen Kenny when he got the job so maybe some young hungry manager comes forward.

Quote Originally Posted by ltfc_2004 View Post
    fair play to Alan, he worked wonders at the club. I wasn't always his biggest fan over some of the football we played when we had decent players who actually pass the ball.

as for a new manager i would have grave reservations about Vinny as he has only started his badges, Stan was a legend for Ireland fcuking ****e as manager. Let people apply and see what happens. I think Trevor Crolly would not be a bad choice.

Remember feck all people had heard of Stephen Kenny when he got the job so maybe some young hungry manager comes forward.
    Thats just it. Trevor seems to have changed to a large extent Matthews defensive mentality and it beared fruit with the amount of goals Mooney got all season. I agree on the reservations of bringing in Vinny as untested but there is no doubt he would have the heart for it. I would have no reservations about employing trevor as manager and maybe vinny as his assistant! Its a decision we must get right!!

Quote Originally Posted by ltfc_2004 View Post

and the difference between the two are ??? Maybe Crolly and Vinny together might be good ( as mentioned before)
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

33 Posts
    stephen kenny had been St Pats under 21 manager and also manager of Tallaght Town, he had experience

will be a loss to the club and wont be easily replaced, but longford would be a club that would interest a lot of managers im sure, even though they're in the first division its a good enough club with a lovely ground, and ye may have a decent budget for next season. will he look to manage another club?

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    will be a loss to the club and wont be easily replaced, but longford would be a club that would interest a lot of managers im sure, even though they're in the first division its a good enough club with a lovely ground, and ye may have a decent budget for next season. will he look to manage another club?

tbh feo im expectin him to give up his banking career and go fulltime with one of the big clubs... thats what one of the tabloids yesterday reckoned....

Dont believe what you hear in tabloids. I sincerly doubt he will give up his banking job for football management. He will do both Id imagine!

81 Posts
    Does anyone have any idea who has applied for the job?

Daily mail said 5 people 2 with pro licences who I cant fathom who theyd be. It went onto say that Vinny perth was fans favourite to take the reins and that he is keen on the job so I guess he is one of the 5!!? He be a popular choice but whether he is the rigth choice is another thing altogteher!

Marty, hold off on lashing Alan Mathews' mobile number around the net in fairness!

I heard two names mentioned...one is very obvious, was with the club before...the other was managing our purple friends in the west a few years ago.

The only Town manager to deliver senior trophies (3 of them) and the manager that delivered our highest ever league finishes. A great manager (still it seems) vastly underated by a significant portion of the Town support. I think we'll look back on the "Matthews years" as the hey day for the club.

The football could've been better at times, but I don't think it was as bad as people made out either. He could've perhaps brought through a few more local players (Adrian Murphy springs to mind), but overall you cannot argue with his record.

As for the man, always an absolute gent when I was talking to him. As with the football, maybe suffered an unfair comparison to previous incumbents who were better politicians. Given the criticism he has recieved in the past, he would've been within his rights to walk long before this season, but especially after the points deduction debacle (for a while he was damned if he did, damned if he didn't). Now is probably the right time as he's eveyone basically appreciative of his efforts and loyalty and will rightly go down as a Legend.

Thanks for the efforts Alan, and thanks for the memories.

112 Posts
    We'll be very lucky to have a manager of his stature working for us again. As for the whole 'he doesnt click with the fans' thing. Who cares? Success and trophies are where it's at. Mathews has supplied us with plenty of the latter. 3 trophies lads. For a club our size, he should be made Freeman of the Town!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by Nipper View Post
    Marty, hold off on lashing Alan Mathews' mobile number around the net in fairness!

I heard two names mentioned...one is very obvious, was with the club before...the other was managing our purple friends in the west a few years ago.
    tbh nipper only one person off this website has asked for matthews mob no so theres no fear of this happening!!!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Just heard on RTÉ radio that Rico has rumoured to have been approached by Longford.

Todays mirror says Aaron Callaghan and Vinny Perth are in pole position to be named as manager. Whoever it is I hope they make an appontment sooner rahter than later. Robbie Martin gone to Dundalk. Even the poor players are leaving

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Just heard on RTÉ radio that Rico has rumoured to have been approached by Longford.
    bit surprised that rico would be linked with us....

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast