Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: 2day FM + Bertie

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    the programme is called premier lge live so they will interview bertie about the premier lge. how on earth does that mean he is anti Irish football?
    Well he could show some support at home in the game he loves!
    The only game I can remember him taking in was a friendly - Bohs v Sunderland!

Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    I live in clare I cant stand the Eircom League and the fans. If your looking for a reason why people won't follow the LOI then you have it. ITS YOUR KIND! Get over yourself.
    Why are you on an Eircom League MB then???Kind of illogical dont you think!

Id say you get some strange looks in Barcelona all the same with them having such a Nationalistic support?

We truly are the only nationality who follow the glory wherever it is in the world!!!!If Barcelona were to be relegated would you still follow them?

Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late and the emergence of Chelsea fans in the last couple of season.Odd that!

No wonder we are the laughing stock of Europe!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Why are you on an Eircom League MB then???Kind of illogical dont you think!

Id say you get some strange looks in Barcelona all the same with them having such a Nationalistic support?

We truly are the only nationality who follow the glory wherever it is in the world!!!!If Barcelona were to be relegated would you still follow them?

Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late and the emergence of Chelsea fans in the last couple of season.Odd that!

No wonder we are the laughing stock of Europe

Why have cotton when you can have silk!
    Last edited by A face; 10/12/2007 at 6:00 PM. Reason: Fixed quotes
    Barca 2 vs manchester 0

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    That's not a fair comparison.
    A fairer comparison would be to use Football. Football isn't a popular sport at Tipp and the team stinks at it so it's not really supported. So ok, if there's a football fan in Tipp and they want to support a successful team who do they support?
    They could try doing whatever they could to help the Tipp football team be successful. Or should seeing Gooch Cooper getting an All-Star mean more to them than Declan Browne?
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

This country makes me sick. Where else would you get the leader of a country spouting on national radio about a foreign league. Disgusting.

He's showing his support as a soccer fan not as a political leader.

I support Bayern Munich above all else, If I was elected to a position of power I wouldn't start suddenly falsely swinging a Cork City flag to raise support, I'd be myself and speak of my desire to see Ribery and Schweiny tear Stuttgart apart

Give him a break, if he was screaming of Eircom League support from the rooftops people would be complaining that he was just another smarmy politican pandering to the voters. He supports Man Utd, always has. What do you want? For him to change that and pretend that he doesn't?
    I agree 100%.
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

Don't you all know Bertie only went to Manchester to walk his beloved United & not to take "loans" from businessmen.

Far too many cynics here.

BTW Live after 5 is the saddest radio or TV show in Ireland. Hi Mick from Tralee who has never attended a live football match in his life.

82 Posts
    I think it'd be silly to support an unsuccessful club out of obligation. Maybe when Cork City achieve something, they'll win my support.
    My advice would be to change your name to Johnny Barstool asap.

BTW you're not a football supporter and you're kidding yourself if you think you are. You're a consumer.

Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late
    Oh that is so true! My own uncle was a former secretary for the Leeds Utd Dublin Supporters group. He went over to Elland Road about 10 times a year and slagged the hell out of me and my brother for supporting Bohs. When Dave O'Leary took over he was like "now they are the main Irish club in England" - I am 100% serious! He spent huge amounts of his time justifying to all and sundry, all the ways he could prove that Leeds were actually an Irish club. I tell this story to other blokes and they tell me almost the same tale of somebody they know who likewise claim that Arsenal, Liverpool, Notts Forest you name are really "Irish" clubs.

Anyways, my uncle after 30 years of devotion to Leeds started following Sunderland "cos of Keano" [?!?] (like he never followed LUFC in the first place!) and is currently "not interested in football" (LOL!), but still passes a snide comment about Bohs and "League O' Urland" when he can. He is a lovely bloke, but he epitomises the mentally of the typical Irish soccer fan. Hasn't a ****ing clue unless it's really popular and he is somehow connected to it.

Mind you, I have noticed a generational change in the last 5 years. You get a lot more young kids into the LOI now and they are happy to support some British team, but not make fun of LOI and even support them. The cut off age now seems to be around 25 and above were they are like my uncle. If anything I have noticed 'the thick Paddy into some "Oirish" club' in the UK seems to be tapering off.

20 Years ago if I was to say "I support Bohs" 100% of people would laugh at me. Now it's like down to 25% and a lot of people say things like "I would like to support an LOI club, but..." So things are on the up in that regard.

But nearly every Irish soccer fan from the age of 25 up are all like Bertie, they all have this national identity crisis and are so arrogant and clueless about what being a soccer fan really is. It use to make me mad, but since so many foreigners have come to Ireland and I see them all laughing at the "Oirish" soccer supporters, just confirms that we were right all along.

I work with a lad from Spain and he was ripping the diddies out of all the Liverpool and Man U lads at work and saying things like "you are all wired wrong - support an Irish club!" They honestly are shocked that he now supports Bohs since moving to Ireland and not Sunderland or Celtic.

This has to be a WUM!!!!

Bayern Munich is one of the oddest chioces possible.Are you German?Any Germans that support Cork City you reckon?

I think this guy needs it spelled out to him.........you are a G L O R Y H U N T E R !!!!!
    Get off your high horse mate, its pathetic. Theres a hell of lot more important things in the world to worry about, than what team a guy supports.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

544 Posts
    as soon as i saw this thread it was just all so predictable that it was going to end up as an eircom lge vs the rest of the football world rant

70 Posts

Clubs? Clubs are businesses.
    Goodnight Eileen
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

82 Posts
    as soon as i saw this thread it was just all so predictable that it was going to end up as an eircom lge vs the rest of the football world rant
    In an Eircom League forum of all places.....who'd have thunk it?

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    In an Eircom League forum of all places.....who'd have thunk it?
    well, if its confined to the eircom lge section only from now on that would be a godsend

82 Posts
    well, if its confined to the eircom lge section only from now on that would be a godsend
    Forgive me, I didn't realise I was on foot.co.uk.

If you don't support EL football, why on earth would you come in here? Do you have guilt issues or something?

544 Posts
    Forgive me, I didn't realise I was on foot.co.uk.

If you don't support EL football, why on earth would you come in here? Do you have guilt issues or something?
    i have an interest in all Irish football. heavily involved in Irish football too. practicaly zero interest in uk football except to see how our lads are getting on over there. do you support other eircom lge clubs? probably not.... yet id say i'll find a few of your posts on other clubs sections

82 Posts
    i have an interest in all Irish football. heavily involved in Irish football too. practicaly zero interest in uk football except to see how our lads are getting on over there. do you support other eircom lge clubs? probably not.... yet id say i'll find a few of your posts on other clubs sections
    Well then why are you surprised at a bunch of EL fans supporting their own league and ridiculing our leader for not supporting his local team?

Like many others on here I intensely dislike the garden variety Irish football consumer who has the footballing alligience of an Italian tank commander. Bertie is the ultimate poster boy for these kind of people and deserves ridicule for it.

I presume by your posts your one of the schoolboy brigade who see their role as feeders clubs for the English professional game?

22 Posts
    Sport and sporting allegiances have their bases in tribal instincts.

Call me old fashioned if you will, but I'd rather support my local team than someone else's...

544 Posts
    Well then why are you surprised at a bunch of EL fans supporting their own league and ridiculing our leader for not supporting his local team?

Like many others on here I intensely dislike the garden variety Irish football consumer who has the footballing alligience of an Italian tank commander. Bertie is the ultimate poster boy for these kind of people and deserves ridicule for it.

I presume by your posts your one of the schoolboy brigade who see their role as feeders clubs for the English professional game?
    believe me, the usual "yous are all just barstoolers" tone does not surprise me in the slightest. no, not involved in schoolboy football and you comment about schoolboy football seeing themselves as feeder clubs to english football is well wide of the mark. do you think schoolboy football in this country supplies no players to the eircom lge? why the obsession with british football??

Quote Originally Posted by shanman2 View Post
    Bertie Ahern can support who ever he wants to. Fair play to him for voicing his opinion. I support FC Barcelona I travel over at least 6-7 times a year with the possy I live in clare I cant stand the Eircom League and the fans. If your looking for a reason why people won't follow the LOI then you have it. ITS YOUR KIND! Get over yourself.
    You aren't a fan of an Eircom League club because you don't like the type of fans but you claim to support FC Barcelona? You've no problem with Boixos Nois and their antics? Top lads, them boys. Not a racist bone among them.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast