Thread: Help me sell your club

Help me sell your club

Hi lads and ladies,

didnt't know what to put in the thread title so that'll have to do.
    i am doing a christmas review for my sports section in roscommon and part of it is a new year resolution section/something new for 2008. I have decided to include something along the lines of supporting an eircom league club for the year. As the paper is in roscommon i was going to focus on Longford Town, Galway United, Sligo Rovers and Athlone Town but i thought it would be better to expand it to include all clubs. No point limiting choice to four clubs.

So you might just state your club name at the top and fill in the blanks. feel free to add in more headings if i forgot any interesting ones.

Why support us.......

Player to watch.......

Sample of Chants......

Expectations for 2008.......

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......
    Last edited by padjoe; 03/12/2007 at 11:58 AM.

47 Posts
    Longford Town

We need the money.

Whoever stick around next season.

We hate Athlone...

Athlone

Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Longford Town

We need the money.

Whoever stick around next season.

We hate Athlone...

Athlone

As above, but substitute Athlone for Longford and vice versa

47 Posts
    hehe. See you next season Ash!

30 Posts
    hehe. See you next season Ash!
    Deffo ... we'll have to defend our Shane Brennan Memorial Cup win in
    pre-season ... although as far as I know even though we won it ye
    never gave it back

57 Posts
    I'll give you €20 for Sligo Rovers
    Kom Igen, FCK...

137 Posts
    I'd just do a great big splash on the only LOI club in Roscommon, Athlone Town.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

30 Posts
    With a little more detail ....

Why support us....... oldest league club in the country, lovely new stadium

Players to watch....... Carmine Russo, Brian McCarthy, Noel McGee, Colm Jinks

Sample of Chants...... (been very quiet lately..)

Expectations for 2008....... Get promoted or at least finish higher than Longford

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Longford and Dundalk (they demolished us last season so we need to beat them)

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    I'd just do a great big splash on the only LOI club in Roscommon, Athlone Town.
    Plus former Town players Shane Curran, Enda Kenny and Henry Kenny play GAA in Ros!
    Actually the Kenny brothers played for Longford too so scratch that!
    Last edited by Ash; 03/12/2007 at 1:05 PM.

238 Posts
    Finn Harps.

Why support us....... We have super Higsy, well worth the entry fee alone.

Player to watch....... Conor Gethins and Tony Sheilds

Sample of Chants...... Oohhh super Higsy,
    He used to be a mucker but he's alright now.

He's small, he's hard, he's known to the guards,
    he's tony sheilds, tony sheilds.

you are my Parkhouse, my only Parkhouse,
    you make me happy, when skies are grey,
    acceleration in moderation,
    please don't take my Parky away.

Expectations for 2008....... Stay in the prem. Beat the muckers.

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Against Derry, massive games and big crowds.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Against Derry, massive games and big crowds.
    Should be good games with atmosphere and displays

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post

Players to watch....... Carmine Russo,

Did he make you an offer you couldn't refuse to say that?!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

So you might just state your club name at the top and fill in the blanks. feel free to add in more headings if i forgot any interesting ones.

Why support us....... Fastest Growing Club in the West

Player to watch....... Daryl Robson

Sample of Chants...... Fields of Athenry (sung by Galway people!)

Expectations for 2008....... A top four finish

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......Sligo Rovers, Drogheda United and FAI Cup game(s)!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Why support us....... We are the first division champs and are ready for the prem...... roy keanes first senior club

Players to watch....... Davin O' Neill and Conor "DUBS" Meade was at best average in the first divisoin but hes up for the prem and will be a huge player for us next year

Sample of Chants......
    connor connor meade
    he is a dub
    he loves d club
    connor connor meade

kenny colman is a ram
    is a ram
    is a ram
    kenny colman is a ram
    he loves ramblers

he plays on the left
    he plays on the right
    that boy davin made everyone look ****e

O KEARNEYS F*****G MAGIC
    HE WEARS A MAGIC HAT
    AND WHEN HE SAW SAINT COLMANS PARK
    HE SAID I FANCY THAT
    HE DIDNT SIGN FOR DUNDALK
    OR LIMERICK COS THERE S***E
    HE SIGNED FOR COBH RAMBLERS
    COS THEIR F*****G DYNAMITE

Expectations for 2008....... Stay in the prem hammer city

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... derby against cork city .....
    " YOU NEVER WIN ANYTHING WIT KIDS "

STEP FORWARD COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIVISION CHAMPS 2007

Why support us.......Don't. Support your local team

Players to watch....... Joe Gamble, Dan Murray, Leon McSweeney(maybe)

Sample of Chants......
    The banks of my own lovely lee
    Fields of bishopstown

Ole Ole Ole Ole Ole Ole Ola x2
    We are Cork City FC
    The Rebel Army, The rebel Army

Expectations for 2008....... Sign 4-5 quality players, challenge for league and cups

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... City vs Rovers, City vs Drogheda to see the bigger crowds

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post

Expectations for 2008....... A top four finish
    Seriously ?

Good idea... i've just spent my first year supporting an Eircom League side (Bohs) and i'm hooked so hopefully there are more like me out there.

Why support us... 'cos we're THE big club in Ireland!

Player to watch... Brian Murphy (goalkeeper) - destined for bigger & better things

Sample of Chants... 'Stand up if you hate Rovers' & 'Stand up if you love the Poles'

Expectations for 2008... Challenging for the title and winning some silverware

Must see games in 2008 involving our club... The derby versus Shamrock Rovers
    Yer hame team is yer ain team!

Why support us: we play some of the best football in the league.

Player to watch: davin o neill, shane gutrie, john kearney and graham cummins.

Sample of Chants:
    O KEARNEYS F*****G MAGIC
    HE WEARS A MAGIC HAT
    AND WHEN HE SAW SAINT COLMANS PARK
    HE SAID I FANCY THAT
    HE DIDNT SIGN FOR DUNDALK
    OR LIMERICK COS THERE S***E
    HE SIGNED FOR COBH RAMBLERS
    COS THEIR F*****G DYNAMITE

Expectations for 2008: beat city (thats easy) safety and a cup will do

Must see games in 2008 involving our club: Drogs, Dery, Pats, and City i suppose
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by scottish_bohs View Post
    Why support us... 'cos we're THE big club in Ireland!
    He wasnt looking for entries to the comedy section of the paper

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    I'll give you €20 for Sligo Rovers

That's me out of the bidding
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

He wasnt looking for entries to the comedy section of the paper
    The truth hurts ronnie!!

Now, be off to the first division with you...
    Yer hame team is yer ain team!