Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer rumours

30 Posts
    heard from a close source that we are being heavily linked with two athlone town players that are currently out of contract. one a young centre half 6 foot 4' the other a right winger. no names confirmed. any athlone town fans (ASH!) care to clarify who these players are???
    Havent heard any rumours ... but then again Athlone Town is a wall of
    silence at the moment

Centre half sounds like Brian McCarthy ... no offence, well, plenty of offence ,
    but he's better than Longford. Still a bit raw but a great emerging talent.

Winger could be Colm Heffernan ... depends on what money ye have I'd imagine though

Stevie Gavin retired due to other committments . He got married during the season so
    dunno if he'll be back playing. Absolute legend and a gent.

PS
    Happy New Year Longford ... See ye soon!
    Last edited by Ash; 02/01/2008 at 8:00 AM.

1,104 Posts
    Interesting. Young emerging players are definitely the way he wants to go and probably has to go coupled with a spine of senior players. The recruitment process should be kicking off in the next week or two I'd say. He has a lot of players in mind but whether he gets them or not we'll have to see. Shay Kelly is more than likely staying with us apparently and as was said Gary Murphy is coming back too

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Interesting. Young emerging players are definitely the way he wants to go and probably has to go coupled with a spine of senior players. The recruitment process should be kicking off in the next week or two I'd say. He has a lot of players in mind but whether he gets them or not we'll have to see. Shay Kelly is more than likely staying with us apparently and as was said Gary Murphy is coming back too
    Any word on Paul Kelly coming back!!?? Wouldnt be a bad option to take up. He would be as good as Robbie Martin or David Feeman thats for sure aside from maybe the experience and he is local.

30 Posts
    Actually just heard that McCarthy and indeed Stevie G are the players in question.
    Eric looking for a way back to ye too!
    Last edited by Ash; 02/01/2008 at 12:15 PM.

1,104 Posts
    Eric is indeed looking for any way back he can possibly get. Not for the first time. Do we want him back? No. Although we do need a kit man.He'd probably take it too. Paul Kelly is as far as I know a part of the plans for next year. He was playing with the Under 21s last season for a while and did very well

22 Posts
    A guy I work with is mates with Collie and he told him over Christmas that he is planning on staying. Says he knew relegation was on the cards when he joined anyway and is prepared to play on.

Heard Sulli and Deego might be staying on aswell. Any truth in that?

1,104 Posts
    Aaron was to get in touch with all the players from last year who hadn't signed for anyone else and he had said that was a priority after he was appointed so I presume he has been in touch with them at this stage. Haven't heard any further than that. Would be good if we could keep those lads and build around them.

22 Posts
    What about Vinny? I suppose Aaron wouldn't want the guy who wanted his job playing hanging around, but he's only 31. Would he want to come back now? He had officially retired this time last year before Gill persuaded him to play on.

Vinny, lavine, stevie gavin? They were great servants when they were here before but as far as now is concerned its madness talkin bout bringin these players back.. We need to move on stop liven in the past. If we can keep the players from last year that havent signed for other clubs yet and mix it with youth we will have a competitive team.. All this talk of past players comin back is ridiculous.. They are past players for a reason we need to move on from them.. We have already taken 1 step back into the 1st division lets not take a second step back by becoming an average mid table 1st division club
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

22 Posts
    No one is seriously talking about eric, while the Gavin rumours appear to be coming from management and not fans. As for Vinny, he was in the first division winning side two years ago and played in the team that finished third last season. He's hardly over the hill or anything.

It's fine having hungry young fellas, but you need a few old heads too. Did Stephen Kenny not bring Richie Parsons back?

So we would settle for third then? 9 appearances and 8 as a sub for dundalk last year.. Not exactly a big season.. Its just am opinion that we should be showing a bit more ambition.. Biggest signin we can make this season is gary deegan. Getting him to stay would be a massive boost
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    Biggest signin we can make this season is gary deegan
    Agreed. Would be a real statement of intent on the club's behalf.

So we would settle for third then?
    Well considering Shels and Dundalk have done a lot of strengthening and we've still only one player under contract at this minute I'd say yes. Aaron said himself in a Daily Mail interview a couple of weeks back that 2008 is more about consolidation that promotion.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    Agreed. Would be a real statement of intent on the club's behalf.

Well considering Shels and Dundalk have done a lot of strengthening and we've still only one player under contract at this minute I'd say yes. Aaron said himself in a Daily Mail interview a couple of weeks back that 2008 is more about consolidation that promotion.
    you can have all the squad in the world, but without morale its nothing and Vinny can bring that. A leader and a talker, Eric.......eh no chance

Gettin Shat Kelly to stay is great if we can do it. We need youth with a few experienced heads as well.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Actually just heard that McCarthy and indeed Stevie G are the players in question.
    Eric looking for a way back to ye too!
    Whether or not Brian will be with us next season, he certainly won't be with Longford. Under 23 with two seasons on a pro contract as well as a few seasons underage with the club adds up to €€€€€€.

I hear they might be adding Tom Silke though.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

238 Posts
    I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter
    Info? Rubbish yeah?

Dont forget Mooney still hasnt signed for anyone else! Well youd never know

82 Posts
    So we would settle for third then? 9 appearances and 8 as a sub for dundalk last year..
    He was injured and unfit most of season but was excellent in a couple of games in the middle of the season before he got injured again. If he could stay injury free and fit he could still do a good job in the first division.

1,104 Posts
    Apparently Vinny is returning to his spiritual home! Aaron is bringing him in as his assistant. He will also be registered as a player. Good news I reckon. It'll be good to have Vincent back around the place.

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast