75 Posts
    there is a new word Pa maybe Brian Cowen should learn it
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Postivity is one thing, spoofery is another.

There is no factual or statistical basis to a sales figure of 110 tickets.
    It is an estimate, too high I would imagine.

I have been heavily involved in season ticket campaigns in the past, and
    overstatement of sales is pointless.
    I would agree pointless is right .
    Never for one moment did it entry my head that when Nic said the the club had sold 105 tickets that it was only guess work I think we all know that season tickets sales will be down for the coming season and maybe as much as 50% .

FACTS
    I have spoken to 7 people I know who will not be renewing thier tickets , now this does not include thier friends as this would be only hear say on my behalf . The only other person for a fact that I know has renewed is Saigon as I saw his ticket .
    Without doubt I would say most of the people who were at the meeting on Tuesday will be buying Season Tickets but it's the floating fans who ( a word I like to call them ) will not invest this season mainly due to the cost which all have said to me .
    The bottom line is I think Nic has dropped the ball on this , I just hope that I am wrong
    Last edited by Claret Murph; 06/12/2007 at 8:46 AM.

you are not far wrong Murph.

i know at least 3 people who bought them last season without even a notion of going up to more than a handful of times. they just bought them as they wanted to give the club a dig out. maybe between them the 3 tickets were used 10 or 12 times.

of the 3 none are renewing this year. they said they may just go up to one off games but also added that at €25 each that wouldn't be too many, especially if the football/results are as bad as last year.

how many season tickets sold last year? iirc it was about 700-800. i reckon there won't be more than 300-400 sold this season. add that to the good will lost and it will be a blow.

there is no chance in the world that we will be one of the highest average attendances in the league unless we are pushing to win it!!!!

if performances had been good last season there is no reason why we wouldn't have got more people through the door. as it stands the loyal supporter is being asked to pay in advance for something that i, personally, don't think the current management can deliever.

PS - haven't bought my season ticket yet but will at some stage. many, many others who did last year will not.

75 Posts
    Hate to buck the trend but ive just had a friend on who took one last year and has just taken three. At this stage last season we hadnt even season tickets on sale so all the prophets of doom should hold their fire.

Its the first major increase we have had in 4 years yet our budget will be almost 4 times what it was back then.The choice is plain and simple either you want a succesful el team in galway or you dont the choice is yours.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The choice is plain and simple either you want a succesful el team in galway or you dont the choice is yours.
    It is still a fair auld jump in fairness, you can't deny that, especially given the muck that was on display last season. Getting the fans to fork out big bucks won't have as much say on on-field success as the manager and his, ahem, assistant who, on the evidence so far, are just not up to it.
    You can't have it both ways, giving out to people mouthing off about the manager, and then criticising them for not funding his bloopers in the transfer market.
    An increaseis needed, fair enough, but an improvement in performances is also needed, so while you tell the doom merchants to hold their whist, you would be advised to do the same until we see how things stand after the first dozen games or so
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

75 Posts
    Bar Brianas and the 2 unfortunate injurys id say Tony has done better than most managers in their first season in the premier as regards signings.

ya i wouldnt say most were bad, but considering we never saw any of there potential yet, it leads me to believe he doesnt know how to manage and get anywhere near the best out of what he has....would be a decent scout though!!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 07/12/2007 at 4:08 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Its the first major increase we have had in 4 years

Where are you getting that this is the first major increase in 4 years? The price of tickets at the gate were 10 euro 2 years ago 15 euro last year and now 20/25 euro this year. Both connacht rugby and Galway gaa charge 15 euro into league games why should we have to pay up to 10 euro extra per match?

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gordongekko View Post
    Where are you getting that this is the first major increase in 4 years? The price of tickets at the gate were 10 euro 2 years ago 15 euro last year and now 20/25 euro this year. Both connacht rugby and Galway gaa charge 15 euro into league games why should we have to pay up to 10 euro extra per match?

I think GUFCT was talking about the price of season tickets
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

46 Posts
    the price increase from 10 - 15 had to be made as the Fai have a rule that all premier clubs have to charge a min of 15 euro at the gate

as for prices this season we need the price increase in order to get a better squad in orfer push up the table

I know that people are giving out about prices but simple fact is if people dont get behind these prices, Gufc will go back part time at the end of next season as the club will not be able to afford full time football.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    I think GUFCT was talking about the price of season tickets
    Exactly paddyfield and as for Connacht rugby you stand in the freezing cold with no cover for well over 2/3 rds of the supporters. The league for County teams is not a serious competition.

2 fans.

i know 2 fans who were casuals but got season tickets last year who will be renewing their tickets next year.there wont be as big a drop as some are saying i think but if performances are bad and we are fighting relagation again then obviously attendances will be low.
    the standard on the pitch HAS GOT TO IMPROVE next season,simple as.its all on the players next year to see if there will be full time football the following year.

Exactly paddyfield and as for Connacht rugby you stand in the freezing cold with no cover for well over 2/3 rds of the supporters.
    yes but it will cost you a fiver more to stand in the uncovered freezing cold in Terryland

whatever ye think about TC's signings, and i am not convinced btw, my main gripe is the style of football* which obviously shows the manager has no faith in his players. asking us to stump up increases of about 75% to fund potential improvement is a bit rich imo.
    take the following analogy; you bought a new 07 car for 20 grand, it ran poorly for the year and barely survives till the end of the year. next thing the dealer turns around and tells you to buy the spanking new 08 model for 35 grand. he promises it will be an excellent car, up with the best models even though this years car gave no hint of that - do you really think that everyone who bought the 07 model is just going to be over the moon with the 'offer' of the new one!!!!

as i have said regardless of TC's and Nicks spin, and yours too gufct, the club has lost massive goodwill over this and also will lose numbers at the gate

*and crazy team selections, not to mention buying loads of players for some positions while none for those needed
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 07/12/2007 at 11:49 PM.

GUFC are asking supporters to contribute E5 per week towards the running of the team.

As United supporters, we need to put this in perspective.

It will cost E30,000 per week to run the team next season.

288 Posts
    Its not a sob story we have no assets so no Bank in todays climate would let us go over €100k overdrawn with no security
    I don't often agree with you gufct but... come on people!!! We don't own our ground it's difficult to attract top players away from dublin, even if they do fall within the current wage structure. We dont have the benefit of being able to have 2 and 3 players to covers for every position on the park. My initial thought when they announced the new prices was that we would lose numbers. If we can achieve the same numbers we did last year for tickets, i see that as a success. I will happily buy the ticket. It may be a bit of a stretch for a good few and i acknowledge that, but i believe that it needed to be done or otherwise we would be less competetive than last year.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    yes but it will cost you a fiver more to stand in the uncovered freezing cold in Terryland

whatever ye think about TC's signings, and i am not convinced btw, my main gripe is the style of football* which obviously shows the manager has no faith in his players. asking us to stump up increases of about 75% to fund potential improvement is a bit rich imo.
    take the following analogy; you bought a new 07 car for 20 grand, it ran poorly for the year and barely survives till the end of the year. next thing the dealer turns around and tells you to buy the spanking new 08 model for 35 grand. he promises it will be an excellent car, up with the best models even though this years car gave no hint of that - do you really think that everyone who bought the 07 model is just going to be over the moon with the 'offer' of the new one!!!!

as i have said regardless of TC's and Nicks spin, and yours too gufct, the club has lost massive goodwill over this and also will lose numbers at the gate

*and crazy team selections, not to mention buying loads of players for some positions while none for those needed
    that was a crap analagy in fairness...

147 Posts
    Bar Brianas and the 2 unfortunate injurys id say Tony has done better than most managers in their first season in the premier as regards signings.
    Are we forgetting Colm James? Shaun Fagan?

75 Posts
    Never had any problem with Colm James and wouldnt rate him as a bad signing and Shaun Fagan played 4 games and got injured.

147 Posts
    No problem with James???
    Okay, we'll just have to agree to disagree on all things TC as I don't think there is any talking to you, and you probably think the same about me. Lets hope I am the one proven wrong

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    that was a crap analagy in fairness...
    how so???

we struggled all last year, had a manager who consistently picked players out of position, bought cover for positions we had loads in already (how many middle of midfield players did we have when we had no proper left back or right winger???).

now we are being asked to pay 75% more for our tickets because we are going to be a top 4 (oh no sorry that was changed wasn't it it's a top 6) side!!!! on what evidence is this being based.

we will do well to avoid relegation this season never mind be in the top six! don't forget how close to the drop we came this year. going into the derry game we were clinging on for dear life. yes we finished 8th (an inflated position imo) and most have forgotten that we could so easily have gone down.

personally i wish we hadn't equalised in UCD in the middle of the season because i have it on very good autority that TC was gone if we had lost.

forgive me pessimism but i don't live in the dream land that most on here do........ i don't rate the manager and feel that the extra money spent on supporting the team will be squandered

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast