Pro venables:
    John Giles - RTE
    Paul Hyland - The Evening Herald
    Paul Lennon - The Star
    Roy Curtis - The Sunday World
    Kenny Cunningham - The Evening herald
    Dion Fanning - Irish Independent
    Liam Mackey - Irish Examiner
    Most players or ex-players have positive things to say about venables, not gonna name names on this one.

Anti venables:
    Eamon Dunphy - RTE/The Star
    Tom Humphries - The Irish Times
    Daniel McDonnell - Irish Independent
    Kieran Cunningham - The Star

Help me add to the list please.
    Giles adds a big conditional to his support for Venables.
    Giles would have to state that he believes TV would concentrate on the job in order for him to be considered pro Venables.

Quote Originally Posted by Juanace View Post
    Realistically Leo Beenhaker, Otto Rehagel, Louis Van Gaal wouldnt take the job, much as we'd like.
    Why not?

What makes managing Poland, Greece or a provincial Dutch club side so much more attractive?
    Together with all our hearts.

well poland and greece are both in the euros...were not, and realisticallly we would have to wait till after the euros to approach them, meaning a distinct lackof time to prepare for them with new coach(if we get him )
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

we could offer more money than either of the greek or polish job. some people like money they should be considered

A manager who hasguided his team to the European Championships isnt going to look twice at the Irish job at the moment, dont be silly. Unless we offer silly money neither of those gentlemen would even discuss the job

2,796 Posts
    I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.
    Glad to hear it. I have no access to Irish radio or TV but what I've seen in the print media has been mainly one way. Maybe the pro-Venables media went out of the traps too early.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schlooooomp View Post
    Anti venables:

In the anti-Venables column I'd add foot.ie
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

If you lot protest Venables and we get that Kendell lad i won't be to pleased with yous.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

85 Posts
    Bull**** mate, its called being realistic. Name me some managers we are in the market for who would be better than TV or Hodgson??

I am no apologist for the FAI, i just dont see the point in damning TV when in my objective opinion he is one of the better candiates to show an interest in the job. Whats so unreasonable about that?

Your opinion of TV is very glass half empty as well. He acheived quite a few positives in his career, yes he has black marks but of the managers who might consider the Ireland job who doesnt??

Dude... I'm all for being realistic about our options.. Sure I've been championing Greame Sounness on threads here, same as Roy Hodgson when Stan got the job. I'm fully aware that we're not gonna go from hiring Wallsall backroom staff and Underage managers to hiring managers with league titles and high pedigree. But I don't know how you can't see that Venables has treated every job since Euro 96 as a 'nixer'. There's no loyalty to the guy. He's a "me feiner"... He's a gangster aswell to put it bluntly.

And the positives he's achieved, yeah, you can't argue with facts.... But that was back in the early 90's... As they said on Newstalk the other night. Jack Charlton was a good manager in the 90's.. Will we bring him back aswell. The game has moved on from the 90's. We need someone who's moved with the times a bit..
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Whats with protesting bout El Tel!!

All this bleedin media hype slaggin him off..its ridiculous.

Look at the managers who we've got a hope of signing and he's gotta be one of the better one's - personally id go for him or Hogdson, sure who else do ye think were gonna get?? Mourinho, Capello?? Lets come back to the real worlds lads. Who do we think we are - Were not Brazil were bleedin Ireland!!
    Ah sure we are only a poor small country ( doffing cap in subservience). Juanace, get a grip and get out of the 19th Century for fcuk sake

Name names:

Pro venables:
    John Giles - RTE - conditional support, based on venables concentrating on the Irish job and not media profile
    Paul Lennon - The Star
    Most players or ex-players have positive things to say about venables, not gonna name names on this one.

Anti venables:
    foot.ie

This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Name names:

Pro venables:
    John Giles - RTE - conditional support, based on venables concentrating on the Irish job and not media profile
    Paul Lennon - The Star

Anti venables:
    foot.ie
    ALAN SUGAR
    see above!.....He certainly knows who is/isn't "good management material"
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by danonion View Post
    If you lot protest Venables and we get that Kendell lad i won't be to pleased with yous.
    Why is that? Do you like old style English managers?

you can add newstalk to the anti venables list

2,796 Posts
    According to McDonnell in the Indo Delaney faces a grilling on the prolonged debacle at today's official opening of the FAI's new offices at Abbotstown.

Pro venables:
    Paul Lennon - The Star

Anti venables:
    foot.ie
    Newstalk - Off The Ball show
    ALAN SUGAR - I'll add him but I'm not sure he has come out and said anything specifically about the Irish job.

Where is Juanace, I expect him to add to the Pro venables list.
    Last edited by Schlooooomp; 05/12/2007 at 11:45 AM.

130 Posts
    Name names:

Pro venables:
    Paul Lennon - The Star

Anti venables:
    Eamon Carr - The Evening Herald
    foot.ie
    Newstalk

Big difference in the quality of journalist on the bottom list in my opinion.

130 Posts

CRYSTAL PALACE 1976-80

"saw his Eagles soar from Third Division to First in three dizzy seasons" - Not bad i'd say.

QPR 1980-84

"winning promotion to the First Division (after three seasons) and taking the Rs to the 1982 FA Cup final" - Thats not bad either.

BARCELONA 1984-87
    his team won a weak Spanish league in his first season, and made the last two of a ****-poor post-Heysel European Cup field in his second. - So he also one the spanish league title!

TOTTENHAM 1987-91

"Let's put aside the 1991 FA Cup" - thats not very fair now is it?

ENGLAND 1994-96

"England then played above themselves in their final game before going out bravely" - so he got to a semi final and only lost on penalities, hardly a disgrace.

AUSTRALIA 1996-97
    "as two late Iran strikes saw them through on away goals" - i saw this game, they was very unlucky to go out.

MIDDLESBROUGH 2000-01
    "truth, it was Venables who called the shots, and steered Boro to eight wins in 25 matches and clear of relegation." - so he saved them from certain relegation?

Black marks: Crystal Palace and Portmouth didnt work out, possibly Australia, we all know the difficulties Leeds had.

ALL im saying is there is two ways of viewing his career to date. He has VAST experience, and should be one of the candiates we should seriously consider. Please name me the better candidates?

CRYSTAL PALACE 1976-80

"saw his Eagles soar from Third Division to First in three dizzy seasons" - Not bad i'd say.

30 years ago.

QPR 1980-84

"winning promotion to the First Division (after three seasons) and taking the Rs to the 1982 FA Cup final" - Thats not bad either.

27 years ago.

BARCELONA 1984-87
    his team won a weak Spanish league in his first season, and made the last two of a ****-poor post-Heysel European Cup field in his second. - So he also one the spanish league title!

Started well and fell away badly at the end of his reign.

TOTTENHAM 1987-91

"Let's put aside the 1991 FA Cup" - thats not very fair now is it?

Quoted out of context, there is more to that extract.

ENGLAND 1994-96

"England then played above themselves in their final game before going out bravely" - so he got to a semi final and only lost on penalities, hardly a disgrace.

Again quoted out of context, there is more to that extract, look at the 5 games they played and the farcical refereeing in the quarter against Spain. this wasn't total football as some in the media would have you believe.

AUSTRALIA 1996-97
    "as two late Iran strikes saw them through on away goals" - i saw this game, they was very unlucky to go out.

I also saw that game and disagree, I think the shape Australia settled into once they went 2 up ceeded the initiative and with defenders pushing up caused them to get caught out. They were ahead 3 times in that tie overall and couldn't close it out. His team selection and tactics for the 2nd leg were questioned big time after that match

MIDDLESBROUGH 2000-01
    "truth, it was Venables who called the shots, and steered Boro to eight wins in 25 matches and clear of relegation." - so he saved them from certain relegation?

If he saved them as assistant then why isn't he culpable for England's recent failure when he was in the same role?

Black marks: Crystal Palace and Portmouth didnt work out, possibly Australia, we all know the difficulties Leeds had.

The difficulties Leeds has were multiplied exponentially by TV's failure, the fact that they were in relegation trouble despite the strength of squad they had was a major trigger for the creditors looking for money back, do you think they'd have come knocking had Leeds been top of the league?

I've no problem with Venables early record, it's the last 10 years that concern me.

There's plenty of candidates with a far better recent record mentioned on various threads.
    Last edited by Drumcondra 69er; 05/12/2007 at 12:11 PM.

2,796 Posts
    you can add www.chatsoccer.eu to the anti-camp. No pool taken but majority on that forum are negative.

Mark Lawrenson dropped a very basic positive Venables remark (players like him) / anti-Hodgson remark (Finland didn't qualify) in the Irish Times last week.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 05/12/2007 at 1:08 PM.

Pro venables:
    Paul Lennon - The Star
    Mark Lawrenson

Anti venables:
    foot.ie
    Newstalk - Off The Ball show
    ALAN SUGAR - I'll add him but I'm not sure he has come out and said anything specifically about the Irish job.
    Chatsoccer.eu

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast