Thread: Protest against Venables?

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    ah begorrah to be sure to be sure!
    To be shoor, to be shoor. Shoor isn't it great dat we came turd in de group and sure wouldn't it be great if Sir Terry would come over and manage us eejits............it is Wogan dey are talkin about.... isn't it lads
    Last edited by Scram; 04/12/2007 at 3:03 PM. Reason: **** spelling

Quote Originally Posted by Juanace View Post
    sure who else do ye think were gonna get?? Mourinho, Capello?? Lets come back to the real worlds lads. Who do we think we are - Were not Brazil were bleedin Ireland!!
    That's mighty dangerous talk around these parts, pardner....We call it the "Staunton Defence".

If people in the FAI thought like that then we'd end up with a washed up bunch of uneployed has-beens, never-were's and barely law-abiding chancers as our pool of potentials......

Oh, wait...hang on a minute...
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    OMFG... Dunno what rock you crawled from under but any frequent visitor to this board would acknowledge the the majority here are objective grounded fans.... What you've just posted is typical of the FAI's attitude to Irish fans over the last four year.. We're all ill-informed sheep of the media with too high expectation apparently...

We're never in the running for Mourinho or Cappello... But we deserve better than a man who has left almost every team he was involved with over the last decade or so in a worse condition than he found it, and not just on the pitch either... The two exceptions in Aus and Boro hardly constitute success.
    That is what the FAI need to be slapped with time and time again.. very 50/50 ie if it works, it could be brilliant.. if it doesn't you could end up worse than you are now. I liked Staunton, at least you knew what you were getting with him
    Shelbourne FC Longford Town FC Drogheda United FC Glentoran FC Derry City FC Cork City FC

All fallen beneath the Linfield Sword
    Audaces Fortuna Juvat

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post

Engerland get 'The Special One' and we get 'Very Terribles'

Really? When did they get him? Are do you just watch Sky Sports News too much

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Really? When did they get him? Are do you just watch Sky Sports News too much

well what we need to do now is get someone to find out where Roy Hodgson lives then send Tony O'Donoghue out there to grovel on our behalf....sure if it works for the English then must be worth a try!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

OMFG... Dunno what rock you crawled from under but any frequent visitor to this board would acknowledge the the majority here are objective grounded fans.... What you've just posted is typical of the FAI's attitude to Irish fans over the last four year.. We're all ill-informed sheep of the media with too high expectation apparently...

We're never in the running for Mourinho or Cappello... But we deserve better than a man who has left almost every team he was involved with over the last decade or so in a worse condition than he found it, and not just on the pitch either... The two exceptions in Aus and Boro hardly constitute success.

Bull**** mate, its called being realistic. Name me some managers we are in the market for who would be better than TV or Hodgson??

I am no apologist for the FAI, i just dont see the point in damning TV when in my objective opinion he is one of the better candiates to show an interest in the job. Whats so unreasonable about that?

Your opinion of TV is very glass half empty as well. He acheived quite a few positives in his career, yes he has black marks but of the managers who might consider the Ireland job who doesnt??

Are you for real, it is the media that is hyping up venables!

Any time I turn on a radio programme or the tele he's being slated. I know a number of written journos are backing him but why shouldnt they. Whatever anyone says he is one of the better candidates. Im still to be convinced of a realistic better alternative to him or Hodgson. Im all ears???

130 Posts
    Are you for real, it is the media that is hyping up venables!

Any time I turn on a radio programme or the tele he's being slated. I know a number of written journos are backing him but why shouldnt they. Whatever anyone says he is one of the better candidates. Im still to be convinced of a realistic better alternative to him or Hodgson. Im all ears???
    Post 4 on this thread for starters.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=77234

Bull**** mate, its called being realistic. Name me some managers we are in the market for who would be better than TV or Hodgson??
    tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it.

tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it

Name me 5?

Post 4 on this thread for starters.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=77234

CRYSTAL PALACE 1976-80

"saw his Eagles soar from Third Division to First in three dizzy seasons" - Not bad i'd say.

QPR 1980-84

"winning promotion to the First Division (after three seasons) and taking the Rs to the 1982 FA Cup final" - Thats not bad either.

BARCELONA 1984-87
    his team won a weak Spanish league in his first season, and made the last two of a ****-poor post-Heysel European Cup field in his second. - So he also one the spanish league title!

TOTTENHAM 1987-91

"Let's put aside the 1991 FA Cup" - thats not very fair now is it?

ENGLAND 1994-96

"England then played above themselves in their final game before going out bravely" - so he got to a semi final and only lost on penalities, hardly a disgrace.

AUSTRALIA 1996-97
    "as two late Iran strikes saw them through on away goals" - i saw this game, they was very unlucky to go out.

MIDDLESBROUGH 2000-01
    "truth, it was Venables who called the shots, and steered Boro to eight wins in 25 matches and clear of relegation." - so he saved them from certain relegation?

Black marks: Crystal Palace and Portmouth didnt work out, possibly Australia, we all know the difficulties Leeds had.

ALL im saying is there is two ways of viewing his career to date. He has VAST experience, and should be one of the candiates we should seriously consider. Please name me the better candidates?

Unfortunately it would seem that Delaney is only interested in 1 man and that is venables.

However, I would be happier with any of the following:

Roy Hodgson
    Gerard Houllier
    Louis Van Gaal
    Steve Coppell

Both in jobs but I'd be happy for us to wait until the end of the Euros.
    Leo Beenhaker
    Otto Rehagel

David O'Leary
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

I have to say Juanace that based on some of the spelling and grammar in the comments above I am beginning to think that you might just be a journalist

Go on, tell us who you are?

Realistically Leo Beenhaker, Otto Rehagel, Louis Van Gaal wouldnt take the job, much as we'd like.

Roy Hodgson - yes please.
    David O'Leary - im a Villa fan, eh no thanks.
    Gerard Houllier - arguments for and against, id have him behind El Tel personally.
    Steve Coppell - interesting one, he's defo worth an interview.

My only point is El Tel is worth considering and not jus pushed aside as so many on this forum want to do

2,796 Posts
    Yes, he should be considered. But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody else's candidacy.

I've clearly & concisely explained my stance on Venables above so I won't go over it again. I recognise the plus points on his CV but feel the negatives vastly outweigh them.

The term "headhunting" has been used by the FAI. This means candidates should be approached and that they should not just be passively mulled over.

Hodgson - very good candidate
    Haan - interesting, not sold on him but should be interviwed
    Beenhakker - already employed but should be approached. That's what headhunting is.
    Coppell. As above, and has indicated availability.

Others include O'Leary and Brady.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 04/12/2007 at 4:21 PM.

I have to say Juanace that based on some of the spelling and grammar in the comments above I am beginning to think that you might just be a journalist

Go on, tell us who you are?

LOL, im not a journo!! So i cannt spell, im a irish footy fan who is not gonna protest against Terry V. being considered for the job.

Yes, he should be considered. But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody elses candidacy.

I've clearly & concisely explained my stance on Venables above so I won't go over it again. I recognise the plus points on his CV but feel the negatives vastly outweigh them.

The term "headhunting" has been used by the FAI. This means candidates should be approached and that they should not just be passively mulled over.

Hodgson - very good candidate
    Haan - interesting, not sold on him but should be interviwed
    Beenhakker - already employed but should be approached. That's what headhunting is.
    Coppell. As above, and has indicated availability.

Others include O'Leary and Brady.
    Wouldnt disagree with much of that. Headhunt away.

One point though:

"But the fear is that nobody else is being considered and that there is no objective debate in the public domain about Venables' or anybody elses candidacy."

I dont believe that the 2 Dons (well Don Howe anyway) will just rule everybody out in favour of TV and I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.

Realistically Leo Beenhaker, Otto Rehagel, Louis Van Gaal wouldnt take the job, much as we'd like.
    I have no basis for saying this but I'm not sure that it is the case that none of these guys would be interested in the Irish job. I think a decent offer would tempt any of these guys, we may not have a large population but I'd think that we could probably match their salaries.

It would be interesting to know the salaries of international managers, apart from England, it is really a special case and we could never offer the type of money that the FA can.

I must be listening to different radio/television shows or reading different papers cause most of what im hearing is anti El Tel.
    Name names:

Pro venables:
    John Giles - RTE - conditional support, based on venables concentrating on the Irish job and not media profile
    Paul Hyland - The Evening Herald
    Paul Lennon - The Star
    Roy Curtis - The Sunday World
    Kenny Cunningham - The Evening herald
    Dion Fanning - Irish Independent
    Liam Mackey - Irish Examiner
    Most players or ex-players have positive things to say about venables, not gonna name names on this one.

Anti venables:
    Eamon Dunphy - RTE/The Star
    Tom Humphries - The Irish Times
    Daniel McDonnell - Irish Independent
    Kieran Cunningham - The Star

Help me add to the list please.
    Last edited by Schlooooomp; 04/12/2007 at 4:58 PM. Reason: Adding more names to the lists

tbh if I was getting paid to do it I'd find 50 people I'd rather got the job than Venables and I'm sure 1 of them would take it

Name me 5?
    Troussier, Toshack, Brady, O'Leary, Dowie. I'm just giving you those 5 names to show you where I rate Venables. I simply don't want Venables as our manager. I don't necessarily want any of those names as manager either but if it was a choice between them and Venables it's an easy choice. Dowie being the only manager there I'd like to see considered.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast