Thread: Ireland 3rd jersey without eircom Logo on it

38 Posts

Ireland 3rd jersey without eircom Logo on it

I was in a shop in Ballybofey today looking through the Ireland kits.

The new Ireland third kit - the grey one - is available to buy without the eircom Logo on the front of it. However, it has Keane and number 10 on the back and the small number 10 below the umbro logo on the front.

I asked the guy in the shop how come it didn't have the eircom logo on it and he said that they (FAI/Umbro) are going to be bringing out some more of these with Duff 11 and a goalkeeper one with Given 1 on them before Christmas. He said that they wanted to get the jersey more like a replica one.

I wonder if there hadn't been such an uproar about the third kit, would the FAI have sold them without the eircom logo on them. Also, I wonder if they will do the same for the green and the white shirts?

They are still selling ones with the eircom logo on it, but the ones with the players names/numbers and it don't have the eircom logo on it. So basically, you can buy the third kit with either the eircom logo on it, or a players number on it.

Just thought youse might be interested.

Did anyone see these shirts anyway else?

seen them in mcelhinneys alright, pity they had not got the green ones without logo..some decent fai fleeces in there, only boys sizes though

I think England have been doing this for a while now , or I may be wrong

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    I think England have been doing this for a while now , or I may be wrong
    They have, but England never sold replicas at any stage with a big ****ing sponsors logo on the front of it.

I'm still promoting Opel, and have no wish to further line the coffers of an organisation who couldnt be trusted not to squander the contents of me grannies coin purse, never mind safely capatalise on multi million pound kit deals.

Even if a new super duper hypersexy Tommy Hilfigger kit, doused in Colin Farrell pheromones with tenners pinned to the lapels came on the market, the FAI would still get buggerall money from me for clothing.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

30 Posts
    They will probably only do it for the 3rd kit to try and boost sales.

seen the grey shirt in lifestyle with no sponsor and keane 10 on the back and 10 on front.got an Ireland shirt with no sponsor on e-bay a few months ago
    LIMERICK37

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    163 Posts
    Does anyone know where I might purchase a full set of jerseys? My pub team needs new shirts, home and away and I'd like us to wear the Ireland shirts. Any idea on price even?

Quote Originally Posted by B1977 View Post
    seen the grey shirt in lifestyle with no sponsor and keane 10 on the back and 10 on front.got an Ireland shirt with no sponsor on e-bay a few months ago
    seen them in lifestyle in dundrum look decent enough..65 bunts though!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Does anyone know where I might purchase a full set of jerseys? My pub team needs new shirts, home and away and I'd like us to wear the Ireland shirts. Any idea on price even?

There’s a new range of Ireland FAI official jerseys available in well-known city centre souvenir chain. Only home at the moment. Cheaper than the replicas.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    There’s a new range of Ireland FAI official jerseys available in well-known city centre souvenir chain. Only home at the moment. Cheaper than the replicas.
    Do you mean home jerseys without the Eircom logo on it? And what souvenir chain is it, for the benefit of those living outside Ireland?

Carroll's. Its Fai Ireland jersey made by umbro, without their logo or a sponsors logo & its a way of having a cheaper jersey for sale that is different to what the sports shops carry. Not on their website yet, theres a full range of stock including hats scarfs etc.

Thanks Ringo.

i seen the green one without eircom but with no name on the back in lifestyle galway

are ya sure fox

200 Posts
    Lads a family member is over in Dublin this weekend, anyone know of a shop in the city center where they could pick up an umbro unsponsored shirt ? Or failing that even a grey sponsored shirt ?

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Lads a family member is over in Dublin this weekend, anyone know of a shop in the city center where they could pick up an umbro unsponsored shirt ? Or failing that even a grey sponsored shirt ?
    The sponsored ones are available in Elverys just over O'Connell Bridge,
    Lifestyle in St Stephens Green SC and also Pat Cheneys Soccer Shop
    on George St (I think...can never remember the names of streets there)

Lifestyle might have the grey unsponsored too. Although any Lifestyle I've
    been in only seem to have 10. Keane!

lifestyle in dundrum also..they have duff 11 and keane 10

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    they have duff 11 and keane 10
    Jaysus, even the FAI financial dept. still think it's 2001.... If they really were in tune with their market, you'd think Hunt & Doyle would feature somewhere...or am I missing something?
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

yeah tell me about it...they should have finnan, dunne, Hunt(12), Doyle, ....id deffo buy a hunt one!