Thread: damn...

Unhappy damn...

It could have been there for the taking if we had more depth available and a bit of luck... but the better team on the day won.

Still - enjoyed the day out - could be the last big one for a while

Where to from here, I wonder?

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hyundaidriver View Post
    Where to from here, I wonder?
    Limerick, Monaghan, an open field down in Wexford.......
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

111 Posts
    That linesman wants shooting. Such a shame our season had to end like this. Well done to the singing section though, a great atmosphere. And to that little pr!ck who hurled plastic bottles on to the pitch from the singing section, shame on you.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

yeh an open field in wexford that has awind blowing across it that would make mick wallaces hair stand on end. the coldest ground in ireland
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

What a morning, what a day, what a night, just in and school in the morning. Well done to the lads and to Alan Matthews, spoke to him and he was more than grateful for all the support.....heres to gettin back up to where we belong!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

30 Posts
    Just caught the 2nd half of the game on telly, but why was Mooney taking corners
    near the end? I'd have thought he should have been in around the box trying to
    nick a goal?

Unlucky lads. Ye started better and probably shaded 1st half. Mostly Cork in the 2nd half though. Surprised at Cork though, they usually play it on the ground and pass it about, mostly hoofing it yesterday.

Highlight for me was getting to meet/shake hands and get pic taken with Ian Wexler's father, what a guy.

47 Posts
    Damn indeed. Dying of a headcold as well!

Fair play to the six sligo lads showing their support. Id say you will hang that picture in a proud place to admire Sligoman
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

111 Posts
    That was a rare bright spot of the day for me, the Wexler tribute. Fair play Sligo lads! saw a few of the UCD boys there too... good to see the usual people again. Randomly saw the highlights of the game on Sky Sports 1 this afternoon in a shop window over here! the atmosphere came across very well and credit to us and the cork lads too..
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

We were all over them first half in my opinion. But alas didnt take our chances and I said it at the time to one of the lads that we WILL lose once Baker went off. Shame because I thought it was there for us

732 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    That was a rare bright spot of the day for me, the Wexler tribute. Fair play Sligo lads! saw a few of the UCD boys there too... good to see the usual people again. Randomly saw the highlights of the game on Sky Sports 1 this afternoon in a shop window over here! the atmosphere came across very well and credit to us and the cork lads too..
    Schumi and I were there, but quickly decided that blagging our way into the roofed section was preferable to getting rained on.

Longford did well, but Cork were always going to score with a ball over the top or an angled pass - their forwards were too quick.

Kudos to Pat Sullivan, one of my favourite UCD judi/alumni, for giving me something to cheer about with those heavy tackles, even if they cost him in the end.

539 Posts
    Unlucky lads. Ye started better and probably shaded 1st half. Mostly Cork in the 2nd half though. Surprised at Cork though, they usually play it on the ground and pass it about, mostly hoofing it yesterday.

Highlight for me was getting to meet/shake hands and get pic taken with Ian Wexler's father, what a guy.
    was watchin the highlights earlier on.. it was funny when wexler came on and you hear all the chantin fo wexler but it didnt come from us!

seen ye lads at the start of the game marking yer tshirts!!!

pitty ye couldnt take one of those chances in the first 20 minutes or so, ye were well on top, but couldnt really get a foot-hold in the game after that, cork passed ye to death in the 2nd!
    i thought if longford used the left wing more often in the last 35 minutes they would have won 2 or 3 one. Wexler was immense when introduced, should have been starting, and made captain also.

539 Posts
    that flare was right behind me! talk about being scary! hopefully we will have more of that next year wheerever you may be!

72 Posts
    Nice article in the News Marty.

539 Posts
    cheers keen2win! my pleasure! majority written with a very sore head on mon mornin! also did an interview with niall halligan of the longford leader on section o (name got mentioned).

is he still around
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

539 Posts
    neill halligan was writing for the leitrim observer/post for the last few years. but he has moved back to longford and is a key factor in the leaders increased and welcomed coverage of us since him and denise o flaherty came on board!

111 Posts
    Here Marty could you keep us a copy of the News? Ah I remember the days I used to work there.... Special Correspondent if we were stuck for a filler article!