Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Hugely Over rated/Under rated Players

It won't be long before Fabregas has a dip in form and then people start saying he's overrated. Then you can say he's underrated. The same goes for Messi.

Some people are including players because they play for clubs not in the champions league ala Arteta, Cahill, Elano .They are all very much rated in my opinion. Personaly i think Shay Given is overrated in Ireland and underated in England. He has always been a colosuss for Ireland but i dont think he is as good for Newcastle. Aidan McGeady polarises opinion some people think he is pure horse ****e other people think he is the new Messi. Probably because he is so inconsistent.

Over rated:

Sergie Yuran and Vasili Kulkov

Under rated:

Harry Cripps, Barry Kitchener, Terry Hurlock

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Nemanja Vidic is the most under-rated central defender in the Premiership

Serbia-Montenegro ( with Vidic) best defence in the Qualifiers for WC 2006
    Serbia-Montenegro (without Vidic) worst defence in the Finals Tournament.( He was suspended for the first group game injured for the other two. Named in the squad never kicked a ball in anger at the World Cup)
    Man United ( with Vidic) League Champions 2006/07
    Man United ( without Vidic) lost to Bolton away last week.

Serbia ( with Vidic) Got within two games of qualifying for Euro 2008
    Serbia (without Vidic) gave away two soft goals only drew with Poland and were eliminated.

I think that proves the point. Sometimes you have to take the player out of the team to see just how sh1t they are without him.
    you can prove anything with facts

67 Posts
    Over rated: Rooney, Gerrard, Nakamura, Ronaldinho, McFadden

Under rated: Hleb, Scott Brown, Kilbane, Beuzelin, van Persie

Quote Originally Posted by OldKentRoad View Post
    Over rated:

Sergie Yuran and Vasili Kulkov

Under rated:

Harry Cripps, Barry Kitchener, Terry Hurlock
    Couldn't agree more. Terry Hurlock's a bandit! Who's Terry Hurlock?
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Over rated: Rooney, Gerrard, Nakamura, Ronaldinho, McFadden

Under rated: Hleb, Scott Brown, Kilbane, Beuzelin, van Persie
    I would have said mcfadden is under rated
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    Under-rated
    Pippo Inzaghi
    My main man does it again.

Best goalscorer in European Cup history.

Commiserations Der Bomber.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    he's the only player I forgot to include. Except I was going to have him as overrated. Fecking waster who has never come close to performing well in big games.
    If your view of big games just includes European football then you are probably right, however, if you accept that there are big games in South America then you are off the mark with Riquelme.

Check out his achievements for Boca Juniors

He just couldn't settle successfully in Europe, I don't think that he should judged as a lesser footballer because of that.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Quote Originally Posted by stojkovic View Post
    My main man does it again.

Best goalscorer in European Cup history.

Commiserations Der Bomber.
    I have to say that I used to detest Inzaghi when he played for Juve, I thought that he was living off of Zidane and Del Peiro's ability, however as I have gotten older I have come around to respecting Pippo. His only skill is in scoring goals but man he is pretty damn good at doing that.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Fair enough, I didn't see that thread. Clearly the people at FIFA are not as clued-in as the gurus on foot.ie.

Although I'm pretty sure people in Spain know who he is. Particularly those at the Barcelona academy!
    soz just meant football outside of England in general obviously he is an international
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Believe you'll find Rooney as my first name on the over-rated list back on page 2 lads. Seriously he's the new Michael Owen, a good player who will never be great, pumped up by the British media, and is currently on his way to becoming Sicknote The Third after Darren Anderton and Owen himself. Read a rumour that Barca asked United how much they wanted for him, I'd say £40million and run to the bank laughing when Barca hand it over on the basis of the Sun's Fantasy Football stats

I have to add Nakamura to the underrated list now considering how few people actually rate him. Genius. He's easily marked out of a game but the work he does off the ball, how rarely he gives the ball away and the one moment of magic he'll produce in a game mean he's always worth having on the pitch. He's probably like Seedorf in how people don't appreciate the basic things he does so well. It's harder to argue in his favour when he's injured after a run of poor form. Many people forget how good he is at his best.

Hibs4Ever - Beuzelin is rated highly. I love him as a player.

I think it's a real pity how few people appreciate Naka. You could be sure he'll always be the star man and most respected player at the club as long as he's there. Not necessarily the most respected by the fans though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ7Zm4ZVzQQ - If you have 9 minutes spare.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 04/12/2007 at 10:08 PM. Reason: add link

Underrated - Seedorf, Elano (although probably for not much longer), Dunne, Vidic, Pirlo, Iniesta, Finnan, Forlan, Van Persie, Nakamura, Drogba (nobody talks about him as one of the top strikers in the EPL, but he is), Benni McCarthy, Tom Huddlestone, Diego, David James, Luis Fabiano, Gabriel Agbonlahor, Kaka (because nobody can rate him highly enough; the best player in the world by light years)

Overrated - Vennegoor of Hesselink, Lampard, Wright-Phillips, Duff, Rooney, Adriano, Ibrahimovic, Ferdinand, Defoe, Daniel Alves

Kaka must be the fastest player in the world with the ball at his feet. Look how quickly he gets away from Messi:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL6g_BRM7wg

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Kaka must be the fastest player in the world with the ball at his feet. Look how quickly he gets away from Messi:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL6g_BRM7wg
    Only because Messi paused half way through tracking back (he thought a centre half was coming IMO)

Not saying he's slow...

Kaka came on as a sub in that game so had fresh legs...If wouldnt have been so easy otherwise.
    Still some speed tho.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Schlooooomp View Post
    I have to say that I used to detest Inzaghi when he played for Juve, I thought that he was living off of Zidane and Del Peiro's ability, however as I have gotten older I have come around to respecting Pippo. His only skill is in scoring goals but man he is pretty damn good at doing that.
    Think it was Ferguson who said "Inzaghi was born offside".

Cruijff's quote was better "Watch him, Inzaghi, he can't actually play football, he's just always in the right place at the right time".

Shunsuke Nakamura is waaaay over-rated.
    Yer hame team is yer ain team!

Quote Originally Posted by scottish_bohs View Post
    Shunsuke Nakamura is waaaay over-rated.
    Again, 100% of non-Celtic fans in the SPL think he's rubbish too. Who do you support? There's plenty of Celtic fans that don't rate him highly too. Naka was easily motm at least once against every SPL team last season bar Rangers (although he was class in the first 45 minutes of the game in which Ugo Ehiogu scored). His performance against Benfica was bloody class. He dominated the game against Copenhagen. He played really well at Old Trafford. He was rested in Copenhagen but came off the bench for the last half hour and dominated the game, as he usually does when he comes off the bench.

Because of the type of player he is he can be the most influential player on the pitch without being involved in a goal. He tends to be involved in 70-80% of the Celtic goals anyway. 11 goals and 22 direct assists last season. He absolutely ran away with the player of the year award on a Celtic forum which is measured by the top 3 players in each match. As I said, every SPL player has been on the same pitch as him when he has dominated the game and they'll have appreciated that.

Spend a match watching Naka and hopefully you'll appreciate him. I can't help watching Naka more than any player on the pitch. Unlike the neutrals I don't have to watch 22 players, I just watch the Celtic 11 so that makes it easier. It's actually interesting because there are plenty of games where Naka is clearly the best player on the pitch (eg. last season Hearts away, Motherwell away) and he's getting poor ratings in the media.

I'm disappointed that he's injured atm but he should have a good 6 or 7 years left in him.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 05/12/2007 at 10:33 AM.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast