Thread: The Media

Lippi leaving Inter was the beginning of the end for Robbie at Inter and in Serie A. The new guy who replaced Lippi didn't rate him .

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    A bit like David Gray in that regard.
    Or Chris Rea, except he had Irish roots!

i know all about lippi leaving etc imjustsaying theres nothing to say irish players cant work under italian managers

247 Posts
    I remember there was an article last year, during which the Inter manager that sold Robbie was quoted as saying he regretted doing so.

Managers from all over the place are brought in to England.....bottom line if you're a good manager you're a good manager. If you need a translator so be it.

I remember Moratti himself saying one of his biggest mistakes was allowing Keane to leave Inter.
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    Robbie Keane worked under Lippi, how did that work?
    They communicated through the ancient art of "Karaoke"
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

Quote Originally Posted by Youwerethereray View Post
    They communicated through the ancient art of "Karaoke"

206 Posts
    Just reading the Sunday Times sports section there. I used to quite like Paul Rowan when he first appeared in the paper and he'd merely just have a profile/interview of an Irish player every week (usually someone on the fringes or not that well established which was useful/informative). Now I think he's an absolute gob****e whose entire modus operandi seems to be to try to cause trouble in the Irish camp, or give off the impression that failure/trouble is down the road.

I'm actually surprised he printed his "interview" with Roy Keane this week, as he concludes the interview with a quote from Roy basically telling him off for getting the interview under false pretenses (Roy thinks Rowan wants to talk about WC 2014, Rowan bombards him with questions about Saipan and a supposed apology to McCarthy 8 years ago). I'd be embarrassed as a journalist (and do readers actually still give a ****e??). Rowan then finishes the piece with something about Roy musing in his autobiography that his failure to go on a US tour in 1996 sowed the seeds for his showdown with McCarthy and speculated that now Roy is part of the Irish set-up and another US tour is imminent there could be trouble ahead.

Stupid stuff, imo.

Have the Sunday Times but haven't read the Sports section yet. He seriously interviewed Keane about Saipan? ****ing hell.

2,284 Posts
    The article is locked away behind a paywall on the Sunday Times' website, but here are some quotes courtesy of Balls.ie: http://balls.ie/football/roy-keane-j...n-niall-quinn/

Paul Rowan of the Sunday Times bravely went where other journalists fear to thread and raked up all that Saipan stuff with Roy Keane for yesterday’s paper. Keane insists that he did not apologise to Mick McCarthy for his own behaviour but rather for what went on in general.

I’ve apologised for loads of things. I apologised for a situation that happened but it doesn’t mean you apologise for your actions. You are sorry that something happens. I was sorry for what happened at the World Cup… I’ve no apologies for defending myself.

Keane is adamant Saipan would not have happened had he been a manager. He insists he would never question a ‘senior’ player in front of another group of players.

Not just the preparation, but criticising or questioning a senior player in front of a group of players. That would never happen.

Keane has often very publicly criticised other players on the field of play (most notably Phil Neville) and in his famous MUTV interview but he appears to be drawing a distinction between this and what McCarthy in the ill-fated team meeting.

In the interview, Keane also alluded to Cathal Dervan, the journalist who famously urged the Lansdowne Road crowd to boo Roy Keane during Ireland’s World Cup qualifier with Iceland in late 1996. Keane was booed throughout his Man of the Match performance during that dreary 0 – 0 draw with Iceland. Keane noted with bemusement and a little bit of annoyance that Dervan was later to act as Mick McCarthy’s ghostwriter for his World Cup diary in 2002.

I think two years previously a reporter, Cathal Dervan, told the fans to boo me against Iceland, and they booed me. A year or two later Mick wrote a book with Cathal. Small world isn’t it?

It’s like one of you lads before a World Cup saying everybody should boo Wayne Rooney. Boo him. And then a year or two later Roy Hodgson writes a book with somebody who said that about one of his players. Can I leave you on that one? Does that make sense to you?

The interview dragged on like we were stuck in a 2002 time-warp, he discussed his famous absence from Niall Quinn’s feel-good testimonial. He reasserted that he was injured for the game but did wonder how the hell Quinny got a testimonial match.

And why does Niall Quinn get a testimonial? How many years do you need to get a testimonial with your club? Ten. And how many years did Niall Quinn play for Sunderland?

Keane eventually demanded in a somewhat irritated tone that they conversation move on to the 2014 World Cup.

The victim complex is strong with this one. If Roy had any sense he wouldn't have been drawn into the conversation. It was a stupid article but if he wanted to stop it in his tracks he could have.

2,747 Posts
    Is Rowan ever happy or positive? It seems like he, and others, are only ever intent on stirring things and undermining the team and players.

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    The article is locked away behind a paywall on the Sunday Times' website, but here are some quotes courtesy of Balls.ie: http://balls.ie/football/roy-keane-j...n-niall-quinn/

If anyone has the full article , it would be much appreciated if ye cud post it?

cheers
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

206 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    If anyone has the full article , it would be much appreciated if ye cud post it?

cheers
    I think I've a scanner here so I'll try and do it.

Seeing as I brought it up.

206 Posts
    Keane1.jpgKeane2.jpg

Hope these work. It's a scanner on a home printer so I'd to do it in two parts.

206 Posts
    Feck it. Let me try again as attachments.

Or possibly quicker if anyone wants them for me to email them...

206 Posts
    Ugh, this is desperate. Technology has passed me by...
    Attached Images Attached Images

19. Thanks From:

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Cheers for that kind sir.....much appreciated

206 Posts