Thread: Text messaging service

3,488 Posts

Text messaging service

Schumi, give us a shout what that text service is like. According to Maccer, the club gets .5p per text per subscriber out of it, but he's looking on it as free advertising. Maccer's sending the reports to the crowd doing it himself, and he says it'll be only a few updates a week, so you won't be bankrupted! Don't have a mobile meself, so can't check it out!

For anyone interested (apologies if this constitutes plugging...), to subscribe, you can text "UCD" to 53131 for news of goals (eventually!), scores, events, news, league results and tables, etc.

First a fanzine, then a programme, now a text messaging news service! Feels more and more like a real club!

I'll give it a crack if I ever get credit.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

3,488 Posts
    Used it at the League Cup game (well, Schumi used it...) - got goal updates and scorers within two or three minutes as well as half-times and full-times. Only slight problem was that at 30p a message, it ended up costing E1.50 for the night (technially, that wasn't a problem for me...)! Although that pales into comparison with the E12 Rovers were charging in for an adult ticket!!!

Actually I got last night's results on this text message yoke last night. I didn't realise it did that as well.

@ndy
    feic yis...that wuda been great for me hollydays

sre u sayin that it costs 30 cents every time they send me a message out and they send em to you without askin? If so...how do i unsubscribe?

If you text the thing everytime u want results thats grand....what do i do....text ucd to that number again?

I'm using it for tonight's game. YESSSSSSSS!!!!!!!! Just got a report saying that McNally has scored!

3,488 Posts
    Just beat me to it!

Not because I have a mobile mind, before anyone's wondering - just saw it on the Aertel.

Drogheda and Longford losing as well. Derry at home to come next week.

I won't jinx things by wondering about the next few games...

By the way, I'm going away for a week at 7:00 next morning, which is why I'm not down in Waterford like I should be...
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 04/07/2003 at 8:19 PM.

I'm probably only gonna use it for tonight only. 30c isn't exactly cheap, like.

It'll be handy for away games that I can't get to though.

3,488 Posts
    Still 1-0 - 8 minutes to go according to livescore.net

The tension.......