Page 10 of 19 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Mick McCarthy

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    I think he'll get the job. I can't see him leaving Wolves though.

Houllier is in with a shout for the England job, so he'll just sit tight. He might even end up as our manager!
    I'd eat my 2 hats if Houllier was England manager. He has a poor reputation in England, they'd go for Allardyce before him.

161 Posts
    If Houllier gets the Korean job what will that say about Delaney and his selection committee. Jewell chooses Derby ahead of us and Houllier decides to go to the other side of the globe.

Ya it will p!ss me off big time if Houllier goes for it as he is my favourite option at the minute.

Imagine we have gotten to the stage where a French man would rather escape to Korea rather than take us on.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

72 Posts
    Looks like Mick's heading to Korea

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/7128801.stm

2,796 Posts
    Suggesting Houllier would be available for the Ireland job.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Imagine we have gotten to the stage where a French man would rather escape to Korea rather than take us on.
    It's like 1798 all over again.

3,500 Posts
    Mick rules himself out for the Korea job (and presumably the Ireland job) and confirms he's staying with Wolves: http://www.wolves.premiumtv.co.uk/pa...184022,00.html

130 Posts

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Thants absolute rubbish, the only team we beat was Saudi Arabia...We were spineless against spain, didnt have the balls to take them..We drew against a poor German side...There is no reason we couldnt have got to the final IF WE HAD WON THE GROUP..Paraguay - Usa - South Korea- Brazil
    what absolute nonsense. we drew with the african champions cameroon, drew with the eventual finalists germany (and were the only team to score against them until the final), beat saudi arabia 3 nil and were by far the better team against spain who were second favs at the time to win the wc. spineless against spain me ar**. i was actually at that game and the effort our lads put in to win it was huge. the expectations some people have on here is complete dreamland! maybe paul hyland was correct after all

2,796 Posts
    Neither of the S. Koreans' two "confirmed candidates" wants the job. I wonder what they think over on www.foot.ko?

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Ya it will p!ss me off big time if Houllier goes for it as he is my favourite option at the minute.

Well maybe we haven't gone that far, this time!
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Neither of the S. Koreans' two "confirmed candidates" wants the job. I wonder what they think over on www.foot.ko?
    I'd say they're dissapointed that they wont get to see Park Ji-Breen and Kil-Ban Gook in action now.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

161 Posts
    Delaney asked six current Irish players he met in Cardiff would they be OK with McCArthy returning as manager. Not long after that meeting Mick came out and stated that while he was manager the FAI never interfered in his managing of the team. He is getting some stick from sections of the crowd at Wolves even though he has them in a play-off place. He would jump at the chance to return to manage us. He has gotten us to a WC finals. And has proven in the past and present that he can motivate his players. He should be miles ahead of Venables, Brady and Souness (Giles' picks!) in the race for the job.

634 Posts
    Jaysus Noely you're never off these boards.
    We need a clean break from any Saipan related appointments.
    Mick Mac was tainted by it as a result of being part of it.
    Kerr was tainted by it in his determination to bring RK back into the fold, upsetting some and losing part of the dressing room as a result.
    Staunton was tainted by it as a result of being involved on the playing side. I believe it was one of the reasons he was invited to be manager, showing he had 'moral courage' or some such crap.

No more managers who were a part of that WC campaign (as either a player or manager) until that generation has passed through.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Kerr was tainted by it in his determination to bring RK back into the fold, upsetting some and losing part of the dressing room as a result.
    Staunton was tainted by it as a result of being involved on the playing side. I believe it was one of the reasons he was invited to be manager, showing he had 'moral courage' or some such crap.

No more managers who were a part of that WC campaign (as either a player or manager) until that generation has passed through.
    I'm panicking seeing some of the names being mentioned Kingdom hence rose-tinted MM specs. I want Copell or Hodgson but I have that horrible feeling of us getting another manager who will end our campaign 2 to 3 games into qualifying. Hope I'm proved wrong.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I'm panicking seeing some of the names being mentioned Kingdom hence rose-tinted MM specs. I want Copell or Hodgson but I have that horrible feeling of us getting another manager who will end our campaign 2 to 3 games into qualifying. Hope I'm proved wrong.
    I know what yer saying man! I am not convinced of the calibre of the selection panel. I mean what exactly of a positive note has Don Givens done with the Gasun's?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

3,500 Posts
    from football365:
    Mick McCarthy is set to be rewarded with a bumper pay rise at Wolves after snubbing both the South Korea and Republic of Ireland manager's jobs

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post

Much as I was on MM's side in the whole Saipan debacle I have to agree. Even the divisions within the fanbase to this day over it are a pain in the hole. Wound up having a heated discussion with a bloody cabbie last saturday about it, it needs to be buried and a fresh appointment with no baggage is the only way to do that.
    Last edited by Drumcondra 69er; 07/12/2007 at 8:41 AM. Reason: Crap typing!

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    We desperately need to move in. It's been five and a half years now lads. Good luck to Mick at Wolves and good luck to Roy at Sunderland.

Good luck to Ireland's new manager, whoever he is.

Return of the Mac?

I see Mick McCarthy has been cut to 5-2 with Ladbrokes and 7-1 with Paddy Power. Also, there has been a move for him on the exchanges. Daniel McDonnell's piece in the Indo today suggests that he is hot on the heels of Houllier for the job. If the Magic Sign go 5-2 they miust know something!
    Hold 'em is to stud what chess is to checkers." Johnny Moss.

Page 10 of 19 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast