If Houllier gets the Korean job what will that say about Delaney and his selection committee. Jewell chooses Derby ahead of us and Houllier decides to go to the other side of the globe.
Ya it will p!ss me off big time if Houllier goes for it as he is my favourite option at the minute.
Imagine we have gotten to the stage where a French man would rather escape to Korea rather than take us on.
San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.
Looks like Mick's heading to Korea
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ls/7128801.stm
Suggesting Houllier would be available for the Ireland job.
Mick rules himself out for the Korea job (and presumably the Ireland job) and confirms he's staying with Wolves: http://www.wolves.premiumtv.co.uk/pa...184022,00.html
Says he's staying at Wolves now.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...ls/7128801.stm
what absolute nonsense. we drew with the african champions cameroon, drew with the eventual finalists germany (and were the only team to score against them until the final), beat saudi arabia 3 nil and were by far the better team against spain who were second favs at the time to win the wc. spineless against spain me ar**. i was actually at that game and the effort our lads put in to win it was huge. the expectations some people have on here is complete dreamland! maybe paul hyland was correct after all![]()
Neither of the S. Koreans' two "confirmed candidates" wants the job. I wonder what they think over on www.foot.ko?
Delaney asked six current Irish players he met in Cardiff would they be OK with McCArthy returning as manager. Not long after that meeting Mick came out and stated that while he was manager the FAI never interfered in his managing of the team. He is getting some stick from sections of the crowd at Wolves even though he has them in a play-off place. He would jump at the chance to return to manage us. He has gotten us to a WC finals. And has proven in the past and present that he can motivate his players. He should be miles ahead of Venables, Brady and Souness (Giles' picks!) in the race for the job.
Jaysus Noely you're never off these boards.
We need a clean break from any Saipan related appointments.
Mick Mac was tainted by it as a result of being part of it.
Kerr was tainted by it in his determination to bring RK back into the fold, upsetting some and losing part of the dressing room as a result.
Staunton was tainted by it as a result of being involved on the playing side. I believe it was one of the reasons he was invited to be manager, showing he had 'moral courage' or some such crap.
No more managers who were a part of that WC campaign (as either a player or manager) until that generation has passed through.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
Much as I was on MM's side in the whole Saipan debacle I have to agree. Even the divisions within the fanbase to this day over it are a pain in the hole. Wound up having a heated discussion with a bloody cabbie last saturday about it, it needs to be buried and a fresh appointment with no baggage is the only way to do that.
Last edited by Drumcondra 69er; 07/12/2007 at 8:41 AM. Reason: Crap typing!
We desperately need to move in. It's been five and a half years now lads. Good luck to Mick at Wolves and good luck to Roy at Sunderland.
Good luck to Ireland's new manager, whoever he is.
I see Mick McCarthy has been cut to 5-2 with Ladbrokes and 7-1 with Paddy Power. Also, there has been a move for him on the exchanges. Daniel McDonnell's piece in the Indo today suggests that he is hot on the heels of Houllier for the job. If the Magic Sign go 5-2 they miust know something!
Hold 'em is to stud what chess is to checkers." Johnny Moss.