Thread: Worst Jobs You Have Had

60 Posts

Worst Jobs You Have Had

Looking at the other work threads, I reckon that this might be far more entertaining. I start with some of my favourites...

Security for a shop on Dorset St. (the one the Monk's nephew used to knock off, and that the local heroin addicts used to buy papers and the likes from back in "Gangland Dublin" times)

Housekeeping porter for a dodgy City Centre hotel in Dublin (yes, that kind of dodgy City Centre hotel in Dublin)

Worked in an office (I hate office work)

Sh!t Shoveller (Yes, I shovelled sh!t on a farm every Saturday during the Winter months for a spell. Actually, it wasn't too bad apart from the smell and the back breaking work - I found you could get very zen about things and it helped me develop a positive view of life)
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Part time sales assistant in a store here in Longford. Absolute torture
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

picked mushrooms for 3 years. ****e work, back breaking and ****e money
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

The one I am in at the mo is the one I hate most.

That said working selling advertising for a radio station was horrible too.

Galway Races.

worked for lydon house catering at the galway races a few years ago,it was my first job.worked 60 hours in total that week for around 108pounds(back in those days).thats slave labour money that is and was well below minimum wage at the time and i dont know how they got away with paying a few hundred workers that little.i did complain but was told to shut it.i was cleaning up after the rich snobs in the tents.

I worked for an agricultural contractor during my summers, as well as emptying tanks full of cattle sh1t with a vacuum tanker, I sometimes had to empty peoples septic tanks with said vacuum tanker, beat that for a **** job.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

SuperValu when I was 15.
    I lasted a week in the butchers before being shifted onto the floor ("I'm not touching that thing, can I just go on the floor?). Walked away from the manager and the job after he questioned my mopping technique. Then committed my last violent(?) act by hitting an apple off his head with incredible accuracy.
    A story I like to tell.
    I worked in Dunnes for a few years afterwards doing the exact same tasks but minus the abuse and humiliation.
    It should be pointed out that the manager said something very abusive after I refused his mopping advice.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Very limited in any stories I can tell owing to a curious dearth of jobs. - probably as I did the same one eight years in a row, so obviously can't be bad. Out of fix or six odd-jobs then, the least attractive employment of my talents was assisting in the removal of cancerous sores off the sides of cows as my two weeks of vet work experience from school.

Gruesome.

Though the cups of tea in the farmers' houses were nice.

30 Posts
    Picked spuds and carrots for a summer, along with the usual
    summer work turning and stacking turf.

Had a job cleaning dead cockroaches out of warehouse for a
    day or two in Oz and also had a days work over there putting
    white labels over the "Made In Taiwan" stamp on boxes of cutlery!

Call centre ... I'll say no more ...

Forgot about my childhood jobs of picking stones out of fields and testing the electric fence for my uncle. Sadistic badboy!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    Let me see...
    Picking spuds from the age of about ten in the summers (my back is ruined)
    Planting cabbage and broccoli and the likes at weekends, usually bloody cold I seem to remember, think it might have been over Easter holidays for a few years in my early teens.
    Graduated to a spud harvester in the summers of my later teens (Dustiest work in the world I'd imagine).
    Worked weekends in a garage/shop for a few years around that time too (Just dull).
    First job in Dublin was Xtra-Vision where I got held up at gun point (exciting I suppose).
    worked in Dublin Port with Irish Ferries for over a year, grand when inside, but when it's -5 at 6 in the morning with hailstones and your checking tickets of truck drivers out in the yard it was hell on earth.
    All in all I'm now pretty happy to be a civil servant.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

current job in a call centre listening to stupid english c***s all day

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    Thats not very PC, now is it
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

worst one i had was in demolition, running up and down 6 flights of stairs carrying fire doors, and be shouted at for not being quick enough, the work wasnt the worst part it was the people, having a degree and working with builders doesn't go down too well....

That or musgraves in the freezer, my god those 12 hour shifts were boring, i used to count through every song on the radio to find out how long was left in the hour and how many hours left. I should have taken up smoking and i would have had a break every hour. Worst part was the night shift, being a student meant no one really knew ye either as ye had no induction or nothing just met the supervisor and that was it. Driving the little carrier things round was great craic and manouvering( sp? )it round corners and avoiding ppl was great craic.

Or possibly working in a niteclub the morning after clearing the bottles and cleaning up, we had to sort the recyleable bottles from the other bottles ( cos everyone just fecked them all in the same skips ), the amount of cuts i got working that, but after a while your hands hardened up. They didnt even provide gloves for us, and i still have about 4 scars from my time there. It was good craic though, going home locked at 1 in the afternoon, helping ourselves to a few drinks to make the time go quicker.

I also worked in bewleys ( did everything there, good aul craic though ), on the sites, credit card company , gateway, few different bars, clothes shop - done nearly every line at this stage, and none of them too bad bar the first two, just becuase of sheer boredom really.

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    Are you based in Delhi then?
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Worked in a call centre for over a year. Job itself was ****e enough but good craic on the team, we had to make our own fun.

I worked in a Call Centre as a debt collector, as a Duty Free girl handing out freebies at the London airports, and as a headhunter.

Other than that is was shop work, bar work and admin.
    Last edited by Babysis; 27/11/2007 at 2:01 PM.

230 Posts
    In hindsight, the repoman job. The best part of it was taking back high end cars from those who thought they were above everyone else. The worst part was being called a 'scumbag'. Long hours, dangerous parts of town, spending weeks tracking people down only to find the vehicle burnt to a crisp and not getting paid for the recovery.

Oh and being shot at a few times. Other than that, it was a pretty 'manly' job.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 27/11/2007 at 5:48 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

65 Posts
    I washed dishes in a cafe in Blackrock shoping centre about 12-14 years ago, the owner was a cnut, i left after one day....she did pay me though.
    Last edited by centre mid; 27/11/2007 at 3:04 PM. Reason: spacing
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ollie View Post
    picked mushrooms for 3 years. ****e work, back breaking and ****e money
    you got high though yeah?
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!