Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Jack Charlton post Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    We're going to start a fire, right. I would love to get my hands on that song. Can't download or buy it anywhere. Any tips??
    It's been posted on here a few times. It's on youtube. Just use a program (audacity) to record it to mp3.

245 Posts
    I've uploaded the song here for those interested:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Z87PLVW7

"open invest" is a quality lyric

Bit harsh on Kelly - quality keeper, and that was the first international goal he'd conceded in something like his fifth game for us.
    Okay hippo might've been strong ...baby pig maybe? It's said Kelly was an excellent talker and very good at marshalling a back four but he never struck me as a remarkable stopper. Maybe he was very happy at Sheffield United or maybe he'd found his level. I suspect the latter based on the lack of any interest I can remember from premiership/equivalent clubs in a regular international keeper for a (then) top 20 FIFA ranked side.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

2,712 Posts
    Kelly made a crucial save at 0-0 at home to Estonia, 30 seconds before Kinsella put us ahead. A great stop in a 1-on-1 situation. It might have been "one of those nights" if he hadn't made it.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Kelly made a crucial save at 0-0 at home to Estonia, 30 seconds before Kinsella put us ahead. A great stop in a 1-on-1 situation. It might have been "one of those nights" if he hadn't made it.
    Acknowledged and respect due.

I'll stop putting the boot into him now -save for one of the few non-actionable tales of the Ireland squads stay in Limerick in 1995. Deciding to forego the activities pretty much the rest of the squad had signed up for on a particular evening, Packie Bonner and Alan Kelly went to a local pub for a genuinely quiet pint (I've heard a couple of pubs mentioned in connection with this story ...most frequently Matt The Threshers which is actually quite a distance out of Limerick, but also Finnegans on the Dublin road and also The Stables -U.L. student union bar).

Apparently an auld fellah who regularily frequented the establishment was told or noticed that Packie was in the bar and shuffled over to himself and AK to say hello and "shake the hand of the finest goalkeeper this country's ever had..." but not content that he'd heaped enough praise continued, "..and twice the player that gobsh1te they've in instead of you will ever be"
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    "open invest" is a quality lyric
    Opel Invest , no ?
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Acknowledged and respect due.

I'll stop putting the boot into him now -save for one of the few non-actionable tales of the Ireland squads stay in Limerick in 1995. Deciding to forego the activities pretty much the rest of the squad had signed up for on a particular evening, Packie Bonner and Alan Kelly went to a local pub for a genuinely quiet pint (I've heard a couple of pubs mentioned in connection with this story ...most frequently Matt The Threshers which is actually quite a distance out of Limerick, but also Finnegans on the Dublin road and also The Stables -U.L. student union bar).

Apparently an auld fellah who regularily frequented the establishment was told or noticed that Packie was in the bar and shuffled over to himself and AK to say hello and "shake the hand of the finest goalkeeper this country's ever had..." but not content that he'd heaped enough praise continued, "..and twice the player that gobsh1te they've in instead of you will ever be"
    I've heard tell of the Lock bar. Certainly the incident involving a local gentleman known to the gardai finding his girlfriend and a squad member occurred around the back of Dunnes of Sarsfield st.

There were of course more than one night involved.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    Opel Invest , no ?
    Yes, OPEL.

Yer man, Arnold O'Byrne, wasnt that him.

3,267 Posts
    Okay hippo might've been strong ...baby pig maybe? It's said Kelly was an excellent talker and very good at marshalling a back four but he never struck me as a remarkable stopper. Maybe he was very happy at Sheffield United or maybe he'd found his level. I suspect the latter based on the lack of any interest I can remember from premiership/equivalent clubs in a regular international keeper for a (then) top 20 FIFA ranked side.
    I remember (a) a couple of quite remarkable saves against Yugoslavia and (b) newspaper reports indicating interest from Barcelona.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    Opel Invest , no ?
    im wondering how i typed that

Alive and kicking and long may he continue. They played some of an interview done yesterday with him in Cork by RTE Radio 1 and he still doesn't suffer journalists well. Put one of them right back in their box on exactly who had raised the subject of Venables ("No -YOU mentioned Terry Venables -trying to put words in me mouth").

Went on to say he reckons Venables would be fine (described 64 year old Venables as "a good lad" ) but that he doesn't think the player stock is as good as it was when he was in charge.
    Went on to blame foreigners in the premiership for all that and Englands woes too...
    Jack would have a cheek talking about teams playing foreign players.

Quote Originally Posted by waide View Post
    [/B]Jack would have a cheek talking about teams playing foreign players.
    why? did he sign up a German keeper and a Norwegian full-back when he was at Wednesday or Boro? ...or am I mixing him up with someone else?

Wink

why? did he sign up a German keeper and a Norwegian full-back when he was at Wednesday or Boro? ...or am I mixing him up with someone else?
    I Don't know about German goalies and Norwegian full backs, buy he certainly had enough Englishmen playing for the republic.

114 Posts
    I Don't know about German goalies and Norwegian full backs, buy he certainly had enough Englishmen playing for the republic.
    assume you are another bitter NI fan?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    assume you are another bitter NI fan?
    Northern ireland fans don't have to be bitter these days. check the rankings.

Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    this has been used before by the fai to appoint managers.

"i cant think of anyone lets have a look at the auld song?"
    "mcCarthy is next in line"

"here john will we use the the old song again now that we've sacked kerr, i mean it got us mick and he did alright"
    "but stan is next on the song, he's laying cones at walsall and i've promised a world class management team"
    "use the song john"
    "hello can get the number for walsall football club? no not warsaw, walsall with an 'l'?"

Damn, that means Cascarino is going to be the next manager

1,915 Posts
    Northern ireland fans don't have to be bitter these days. check the rankings.
    I don't know how you survived the last 20 years then.
    Anyway, with all those shoulder chips to choose from, since when do you to have to have a reason to be bitter.
    The Ealing Green Syndrome strikes another ni fan.
    Willing to trawl for hours through threads on another Board to find some release for the wee mind complex.
    Nobody gives a fiddler's fárt. Most wish NI well or are neutral.
    We only have one eternal rival and an ever extending list of get evens.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I don't know how you survived the last 20 years then.
    Anyway, with all those shoulder chips to choose from, since when do you to have to have a reason to be bitter.
    The Ealing Green Syndrome strikes another ni fan.
    Willing to trawl for hours through threads on another Board to find some release for the wee mind complex.
    Nobody gives a fiddler's fárt. Most wish NI well or are neutral.
    We only have one eternal rival and an ever extending list of get evens.
    I'm certainl not bitter and have no reason to have a chip on my shoulder,but it seems to touch a few raw nerves when Jack and his global selection policy is mentioned even in jest.

3,267 Posts
    Nobody's bitter; nobody cares. Can we get back on topic?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast