Page 23 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1321222324 LastLast

Thread: Montenegro Away - 10th September 2008

I see that most of you are back from Montenegro.Please,write how it was and what do you think about my country after you visited it.
    Also,I will ask off topic question:Why Irish and British dont like basketball,handball,volleyball and other sports that are popular in europe and world wide?I was allways curious about that.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Montenegrin View Post
    I see that most of you are back from Montenegro.Please,write how it was and what do you think about my country after you visited it.
    Also,I will ask off topic question:Why Irish and British dont like basketball,handball,volleyball and other sports that are popular in europe and world wide?I was allways curious about that.
    I had a great time anyway. The people were really friendly. Everything was really cheap even if prices rose dramatically on Wednesday.

The coastline is really beautiful. Podgorica was surprisingly nice (I had expected worse). Great atmosphere on the Tuesday night. I did spend Tuesday afternoon in Niksic watching the U21 game. Lets just say that Moate is now the 2nd most boring ugly place on planet earth.

Yeah I enjoyed it. Saw Podgorica, Budva and Kotor and the countryside and the crazy drivers. Some of the roads are pretty mad and hair raising.

Lovely people, stayed in the Kangaroo hotel in Budva for some of it and very friendly.
    Great weather and great food and people
    In Trap we trust

82 Posts
    I thought the scenery was spectacular along the coast and the people were very friendly (including the police who helped me find a parking space and suggested I leave the Croatian hire car plates in the boot ). Also agree that Podgorica wasn't as grim as I had expected. There were some lovely cafes and bars.

I would though ask you to change the road sign from the coast that directs you over the mountain pass rather than the Sozina tunnel from Petrovac to Podgorica. My blood pressure is only starting to return to normal, beautiful views from the top, but scary as feck! Took the tunnel on the way back needless to say.

Would really like to go back and see Sveti Stefan. Looked unreal from the road.

Lovely place, most people very friendly, only a**holes we met were bouncers in club / bar opp stadium. Cops were very friendly particularly the 2 we ended up drinking with till 7am on the tues night weds morning, then they drove home ****ed

Would quite happily go back for a weekend or to budva for a holiday.

Thanks for your hospitality.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

was quiet impressed with the female population ....dont tink they thought the same of us sweaty, pasty white irish lads though!!

Got to say, unfortunatly I didn't have the greatest expiriance. Stayed in pod for the trip. First night there, around nine i got a smack (for once, not deserved!) and had my flag stolen. Our bags didn't arrive untill 2 days into the trip and our hotel wasn't in the greatest area. That aside, it had its good moments. Big thanks sent out to AidoM and Beareleven for putting up with me and company for basically the whole trip!! Glad most people had a good time.

Ps Thanks to Sligo Hornet for actually taking me
    Last edited by humpmeister7; 14/09/2008 at 9:11 PM.
    A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it's written on.

awaythelads

Photos from Montenegro

I thought it was one of the best away trips that I've been on, up there with Japan/Korea and Portugal. This was mainly due to the local people who put up with me, after several too many €1 beers. I think there may have been some tequila involved. The local girls were stunning. All of them.

Some photos from my travels: www.awaythelads.com/montenegro

I will be revamping awaythelads.com when I get a chance.

Quote Originally Posted by humpmeister7 View Post
    Got to say, unfortunatly I didn't have the greatest expiriance. Stayed in pod for the trip. First night there, around nine i got a smack (for once, not deserved!) and had my flag stolen. Our bags didn't arrive untill 2 days into the trip and our hotel wasn't in the greatest area. That aside, it had its good moments. Big thanks sent out to AidoM and Beareleven for putting up with me and company for basically the whole trip!! Glad most people had a good time.

Ps Thanks to Sligo Hornet for actually taking me
    Invoice to follow!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

I had a lovely time there in Montenegro. Not surprisingly the highlight was how nice the people were to us. And the ridiculously hot girls! From the moment we boarded the Montenegran Airlines flight with the preposterously beautiful cabin crew to flying out again two days later, it was a seemingly endless parade of long-legged, olive-skinned, clear blue-eyed, bewitching-smiled lovelies.

The other big plus for us was of course the cheap beer. It was no more than €1.50 and as low as €0.80. I'm not a big drinker compared to the other denizens of this forum but even I was seriously langered. It's a bad sign when you're on your third beer before noon...

Not that we just drank. I for one went and took in a bit of culture, though the locals seemed somewhat unprepared. I went to the Gallery & Museum of Podgorica and I was the only visitor there. So much so that the curator fella, once he collected my entance money, had to come with me to turn on the lights to the place!

All in all, we had a great time. You can be sure that if Ireland are ever drawn against Crna Gora again, we will be coming to Podgorica in even greater numbers.

By the way Montenegrin, were you at the match? If so, what was that Montenegrin song that was played over and over again on the PA before the game and at half-time?

I am glad that most off you had good time in Montenegro.I am happy that you were treated well.People in Montenegro generaly like Irish people,I dont why really but ok.
    Newrynyuk,I was not able to go to Podgorica due to some family problems,but I managed to watch the game on TV.Was that maybe this song:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5z3RmgJhpwg
    Last edited by Montenegrin; 15/09/2008 at 10:57 AM.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    I thought it was possibly the greatest trip for me so far. The only problem we encountered was the evil Olympia bus company in Budva who showed up with 2 buses to take 80 fans to podgorica with a sing-song but the tramps denied that they knew we were football fans (liars) and after phoning the cops (cops said it was fine) the manager of the bus company said he would only take us if we paid more than double the original price. So we told them to forget about it, to hell with their bribe, and everyone took taxis or buses (sorry again) we are having to refund everyone now. Bad form as this would have been great craic a la san marino.
    Their loss in the end. Typical business trying to rip people off. Apart from that, the cop was lovely if a little sleazy
    Big thanks to the Blue Star Hotel (Milan etc) who were so helpful to us, speaking to the bus company and the police and the Hotel Kerber (Maria etc) who were also amazing.
    The Montenegrin people were great, maybe shocked to see us all there. Do think the atmosphere was much better on match say than the monday night. The cops were cool, posing for photos no prob.
    Would defo go back and i hope we draw them again. Yes, the Montenegrin women are beautiful but the men are fairly easy on the eye too! Budva was a class spot, needed that sea breeze, met some great ireland fans on this trip, seemed to be a great crowd. had some great laughs. Fair play to the germans in mainz too, that was great craic.
    Hvala lepo!
    We'll be back!
    Cao!
    Last edited by Green Tribe; 15/09/2008 at 11:12 AM.

214 Posts
    any of you lads manage to pull any of these beauties?
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=gu6g0ibo1eM Some craic, 40 cent cans, unreal women and fantastic weather - what a combination!!

taxis were some craic too!! they seem to tink its alright to pass out on blind bends ...an the guy on the way back to budva had no issues with takin a couple swigs out of our bottle of vodka ...
    although heard guys gettin a taxi back next day were lucky to still be alive after crashing.

3,491 Posts
    Whatever about the Brits, we just think they're silly sports and can't understand why the rest of you play them.

We play hurling, Gaelic football, football and rugby in Ireland, and horse racing is very big too (although you can't play it really...). That's plenty enough to keep us going, and of those, only football is played in Montenegro (or across Europe really). So it's three sports in, three sports out. Handball in Ireland is so small that it isn't even called handball (it's Olympic handball, cos we have our own game called handball and we only ever notice the other game during the olympics) and the international squad contains a TV presenter. The Irish basketball team seems to be mainly Americans with Irish grannies (bit harsh, but you get the idea) and volleyball is played mainly in college by people who want to be different.

Quote Originally Posted by galah View Post
    taxis were some craic too!! they seem to tink its alright to pass out on blind bends ...an the guy on the way back to budva had no issues with takin a couple swigs out of our bottle of vodka ...
    although heard guys gettin a taxi back next day were lucky to still be alive after crashing.

It is big problem in Montenegro.It must be gens or something like that since everybody drives fast.Even if we drive carefull it is still like mad driving comparing to you.There is many acidents and many people are killed in them.Something must be done to stop this.Although,I can not judge anyone since I drive fast too.

214 Posts
    Montenegrin will you be coming over to Dublin for the return leg next year?
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    our taxi driver took us to the airport instead of the train station, near crashed a few times on the way too
    we liked the taxi man from budva to podgorica, we gave him our cd and he played it full blast the whole way, arrived in the square republik with give it a lash jack blasting out the windows

82 Posts
    One random fact I took away is that the Top 5 Montenegran water polo teams have a E1m+ annual budget and are fully pro

How you get so many horses into the water at one time I'll never know.......

Page 23 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1321222324 LastLast