Page 14 of 28 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

Thread: Georgia Away - 6th September 2008

biscuit i would take it that you read it as for two people, when they actually mean
    "prices based on two people sharing" , which actually means to get the price above you need two people sharing....thats bloody expensive 3600 - 5260 for 2 people thats very expensive

ohh! ya your prob rght lads, 1800 a piece seems more realistic. Steep though. Had a look at some of the Itineraries on previous posts. What should we expect to pay, if we book it all separate as others have. Not the cheapest price, but whats the average cost to most of ye,per person. cheers

Quote Originally Posted by biscuit View Post
    ohh! ya your prob rght lads, 1800 a piece seems more realistic. Steep though. Had a look at some of the Itineraries on previous posts. What should we expect to pay, if we book it all separate as others have. Not the cheapest price, but whats the average cost to most of ye,per person. cheers
    About E480 for flights Dub -Tbs-Dub Wed - Mon
    4 nights E60 per night E240

Not much change out of E750 booked as soon as fixtures came out. not going to Montenegro as couldnt work out a relatively cheap/hassle free route.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    About E480 for flights Dub -Tbs-Dub Wed - Mon
    4 nights E60 per night E240

Not much change out of E750 booked as soon as fixtures came out. not going to Montenegro as couldnt work out a relatively cheap/hassle free route.
    Is that per person, out of interest?

I've gone for the following with Turkish Airlines

Dublin to Istanbul

Istanbul to Tbilisi on Thursday 4th (Dep 13:10 Arr 16:25)

Tbilisi to Istanbul to Sarajevo Sunday 7th ( Dep 0420 Arr Ist 0550 Dep Ist 1710 Arr Sarajevo 18:00)

I'll probably bus down to Dubrovnik and on to Podgorica for game.

Flight home from Dubrovnik to Dublin with Aer Lingus on Sunday 13th (Dep 1240 Arr 1505)

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Is that per person, out of interest?
    Stiofain

For 2 people it was 673LVL which equates to E960 approx E480pp booked 15-01-08

However Air Baltic are a point to point carrier so in theory if you didnt book the return leg you could go a different route. Point to point carriers are normally half price one way but the scheduled carriers anytime I checked their one way prices were prohibitive.

Same with hotel approx E120 per room per night

Thanks Newryrep, i was just curious as to how much people paid the day the fixtures came out.

Lets get the show on the road.

I've my flights booked, taking the scenic route though. Fri 5th Sept depart Dublin 05.55, arrive Riga 10.55. Depart Riga 22.40 arrive Tbilisi 03.10 Sat morning. Mon 8th, Depart Tbilisi 03.45 arrive riga 06.20, Depart Riga 12.25 arrive Minich 13.40. Depart Munich 15.50 arrive Cologne 17.00, depart Cologne 18.15 arrive Belgrade 20.15. Anyone out there with the same flights, probably not I say. Also does anyone know about the train timetables in Serbia and Montenegro, I need to get a train or bus from Belgrade to Podgorica.

Flying out 4 sept dub-prg-tibilisi with czech airlines, return 7sept same route..flights and 2 nights hotel €450

Has anyone else noticed that whichever airline we are travelling on, and from numerous different destinations, they all arrive at 3.00 am Saturday morning?

Are the Georgians trying to sneak us in unnoticed or have they laid on a fantastic "Surprise Welcome Party"?
    Last edited by Sligo Hornet; 19/06/2008 at 7:44 AM.
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Has anyone else noticed that whichever airline we are travelling on, and from numerous different destinations, they all arrive at 3.00 am Saturday morning?

Are the Georgians trying to sneak us in unnoticed or have they laid a fantastic "Surprise Welcome Party"?

Looks like the the airport only opens from 3am to 5am its the same leaving no matter what route you seem to be departing about 4am

As long as theres taxis and pubs working / open when we land we'll survive
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Looks like the the airport only opens from 3am to 5am its the same leaving no matter what route you seem to be departing about 4am

As long as theres taxis and pubs working / open when we land we'll survive
    Well, when we were there in 2003, the bars seem to stay open all night and street vendors still out selling snacks and chocolate at 5am. So I think we'll be alright there, Greenforever.

The awkward arrival/departure times is due to Georgia's time zone and location, it's practically in Asia, really.

Are the Georgians trying to sneak us in unnoticed or have they laid on a fantastic "Surprise Welcome Party"?

well lets hope ye dont end up like this:

http://www.georgiadefenders.com/assault.kidnapping.htm

Summary
    We advise you to exercise a high degree of caution in Georgia because of the serious risk of crime against foreigners, including kidnapping.
    We strongly advise you not to travel to the regions of South Ossetia, Abkhazia and the Pankisi Gorge north of Akhmeta because of the threat of terrorist and criminal activity related to local separatist movements.

Quote Originally Posted by galah View Post
    Did you book the Tbilisi Batumi ticket Beavis ..and if so what website?
    Hope that Istanbul train isnt booked by time get there cos isnt much margin for error on this trip!
    No, I would be very surprised if you could book it over the internet. Georgia doesn't really do internet bookings, they're more into the free-for-all method of doing things.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    No, I would be very surprised if you could book it over the internet. Georgia doesn't really do internet bookings, they're more into the free-for-all method of doing things.
    Ain't that the truth. Unless you're looking to stay at the Sheraton or Marriott, good luck on finding a hotel room on the net. There are a few, but most of the others require you to email then and enquire about availability. And most of them don't bother to reply.

On the plus side, I vaguely recall beer in Tbilisi costing only 50p a bottle the last time. Oh, and 12.5% proof too!

Quote Originally Posted by newrynyuk View Post
    Ain't that the truth. Unless you're looking to stay at the Sheraton or Marriott, good luck on finding a hotel room on the net. There are a few, but most of the others require you to email then and enquire about availability. And most of them don't bother to reply.

On the plus side, I vaguely recall beer in Tbilisi costing only 50p a bottle the last time. Oh, and 12.5% proof too!
    I got the Sympatia on www.selectgeorgia.com no problem.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Found the hotels did not reply either to e-mails, also ended up booking through selectgeorgia.com.. booked hotel VIP thinking it was the hotel victoria VIP where a good few Irish are staying.. its very plain looking to say the least, will hardly see it much anyhow

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    I got the Sympatia on www.selectgeorgia.com no problem.
    I thought you ALWAYS got the Sympathy vote Aido?
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

I thought you ALWAYS got the Sympathy vote Aido?
    Don't you need that supporting Ireland and meeting your gang, Hornet
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Roll on September

My plane doesn't land in Tbilisi until 03.10 Saturday morning. Is there anyone else on the same flight. Whats the story with accommodation. Will I have to pay for the Friday night if I want to check in at that hour in the morning or will I have to wait until say 10.00 before I get the chance. Don't want to be called a cheap c**t but don't see the point paying for a nights accommodation if I won't be using it. Also I haven't booked accommodation yet. Where are the Irish fans staying in Tbilisi and Podgorica.

Page 14 of 28 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast