Page 6 of 28 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Georgia Away - 6th September 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Moscow Mule View Post
    If only I could get more holiday. Mr and Mrs Mule will have been married for 25 years this year and have some other trips already bagged, so difficult to make the Monty game. We will just have to make the most of the Georgia game.

Is Paul going?
    As long as he remembers his passport. Just did a quick change of flights and going via Talinn now and not flying back via London. Roll on September or August first and the Norway friendly
    In Trap we trust

On that note I have flights from Riga to Stansted and Stansted to Zadar if anybody is interested in them and we can just change the names on the flights. Long shot I know but if anybody is interested just pm me.
    In Trap we trust

Four of us taking the "Saint Tom pilgrimage" route

Dublin - Prague - Tbilisi ex Dublin Thursday 4th Sept 11.00 arrive Tbilisi 03.05 Friday 5th (7 hour lay over in Prague but better have plenty of time - later flight (16.45) ex Dublin leaves it tight)

Tbilisi- Prague ex Tbilisi Sunday 7th Sept 04.05 arrive Prague 05.55.

Booked as a return via e-bookers with Czech Air worked out @ €421.70 - €300 cheaper than 2 seperate legs.

Prague - Belgrade - Podgorica (JAT Airways) ex Prague Sunday 7th Sept 10.40 arrive Podgorica 18.50 (5.40 layover in Belgrade). Cost €202 (and rising fast)

Dubrovnik - Dublin Friday 12th Sept depart 12.40 arriving Dublin 15.05. Cost €245.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

The bouncer in my local is from Tbilisi. Huge c*nt, lovely fella. He says that the best and cheapest way to Tbilisi is indeed via Riga. When I asked him about Tbilisi to Podgorica, he said forget about it.

Wasnt impressed when I asked had he got any sisters at home.

Travelling with AidoM, Bear Eleven & another on this Double Header

Quote Originally Posted by The Banner Man View Post
    Travelling with AidoM, Bear Eleven & another on this Double Header
    I booked it all on the plastic only hope these pay up their share
    AidoM

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    I booked it all on the plastic only hope these pay up their share
    you are a very brave man.

Been down that route and never again. About 8 of us travel roughly together but it's difficult to get agreement.

3 of us booked to Tbilisi and back then out to Dubrovnik and 1 booked back to Prague from Tbilisi and then home from Dubrovnik - more still deciding.

I've learned the hard way re checking prices, making phone calls, price has gone up, making phone calls etc etc.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    you are a very brave man.

Been down that route and never again. About 8 of us travel roughly together but it's difficult to get agreement.

3 of us booked to Tbilisi and back then out to Dubrovnik and 1 booked back to Prague from Tbilisi and then home from Dubrovnik - more still deciding.

I've learned the hard way re checking prices, making phone calls, price has gone up, making phone calls etc etc.
    I was only slagging them gs. In fairness we met and agreed the route and the approximate costs (which went up a bit ) but they had no problem with the route or the additional cost. There's a lodgement to my account today from one of them and I know the rest will follow ............. exits with beads
    AidoM

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    I was only slagging them gs. In fairness we met and agreed the route and the approximate costs (which went up a bit ) but they had no problem with the route or the additional cost. There's a lodgement to my account today from one of them and I know the rest will follow ............. exits with beads
    What meeting, what route , what costs.
    Do i know you.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bear Eleven View Post
    What meeting, what route , what costs.
    Do i know you.
    Are you not barred from Georgia?
    Going to start looking at plans this week ourselves

Holy ridiculous trip Batman

Bloody hell! Already buzzin for these. Caaaaaaaadiff seems like only yesterday. I'm looking for drinking buddies on all these journeys as the cronies have ditched me, so anyone else on this route let me know. Most difficult trip to date.

€888 for this lot. Haven’t even booked the hotels yet.

Flight Number: BT662
    Date: Thursday, September 04, 2008
    To: RIX - Riga
    Departs: 1:25 PM
    Arrives: 6:20 PM

Flight Number: BT722
    To: TBS - Novo Alexeyevka, Tbilisi
    Departs: 10:40 PM
    Arrives: 3:10 AM Friday
    ----------------------------------

Flight No.: BT723
    Date: Mo 08/09/08
    Departure: 03:45 Tbilisi
    Arrival: 06:20 Riga

Flight No.: BT431
    Departure: 07:25 Riga
    Arrival: 08:25 Vienna

Flight No.: OS773
    Departure: 13:30 Vienna
    Arrival: 14:40 Belgrade

Flight No.: JU664
    Date: 8 Sep 08
    Departure: 17:50 Belgrade , Serbia
    Arrival: 18:50 Podgorica , Montenegro
    -----------------------------------

Flight No.: JU663
    Date: 12 Sep 08
    Departure: 09:10 Podgorica , Montenegro
    Arrival: 10:10 Belgrade , Serbia

Flight No.: JU210
    Departure: 11:00 Belgrade , Serbia
    Arrival: 13:00 London Heathrow

Flight No: EI 167
    Departure 15:50 London Heathrow
    Arrival: 17:05 Dublin

Madness. Craic.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

you should have just taken the train between belgrade and podgorica. probably much cheaper.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Just been reading throught the Georgia match thread on the tartan army message board. The Scots cant praise Tibilisi high enough. Well worth a read.

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?s...ilter=all&st=0
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post

So, What I am reckoning, for the adventurous type, is buying a van in Tiblisi, setting off the morning after, and going hell for leather on the quieter Turkish roads, driving for about 18 hours a day, for the following three days, not including time spent at border control, going Turkey, Bulgaria, Serbia, Montenegro (Uncertain of the current situation in Kosovo, and the speed you could manage the back roads through Kosovo at). The fourth day should be about 8 hours travel, and you should arrive in Podgorica for 16h. If the van doesn't die, you don't get stopped by cops wanting a bribe, remember to bring enough food, don't encounter a major "cattle on the road" incident, don't annoy any North Eastern Turkish Kurds, you should make the game with time for a pint. As long as it isn't a three o'clock kick off.

I'm up for it - anyone else?

By the way, I should mention that I don't drive...
    Would you be still on for this? I certainly would be and I think I could maybe rope the bro around despite already booking flights.Both fully licensed drivers so you could put the feet up

I'm flying to Istanbul and doing bus or train-bus to Georgia for the craic, it turns out I wont be working at this time so days off are not a problem, havent it all worked out yet but I'll leave a couple of days early and it should be a day and a half travel.It would be nice to do car thing cos I'm not sure if the land route will get me to Montenegro in time.
    <insert witty remark>

200 Posts
    Lads anyone else heading Tblisi -> Batumi -> Yerevan -> Baku, am doing a trip from the Black Sea to the Caspian, should be a good laugh!

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    Bloody hell! Already buzzin for these. Caaaaaaaadiff seems like only yesterday. I'm looking for drinking buddies on all these journeys as the cronies have ditched me, so anyone else on this route let me know. Most difficult trip to date.

€888 for this lot. Haven’t even booked the hotels yet.

Flight Number: BT662
    To: RIX - Riga
    Departs: 1:25 PM
    Arrives: 6:20 PM

Flight Number: BT722
    To: TBS - Novo Alexeyevka, Tbilisi
    Departs: 10:40 PM
    Arrives: 3:10 AM Friday
    ----------------------------------

Flight No.: BT723
    Departure: 03:45 Tbilisi
    Arrival: 06:20 Riga

Flight No.: BT431
    Departure: 07:25 Riga
    Arrival: 08:25 Vienna

Flight No.: OS773
    Departure: 13:30 Vienna
    Arrival: 14:40 Belgrade

Flight No.: JU664
    Date: 8 Sep 08
    Departure: 17:50 Belgrade , Serbia
    Arrival: 18:50 Podgorica , Montenegro
    -----------------------------------

Flight No.: JU663
    Departure: 09:10 Podgorica , Montenegro
    Arrival: 10:10 Belgrade , Serbia

Flight No.: JU210
    Departure: 11:00 Belgrade , Serbia
    Arrival: 13:00 London Heathrow

Flight No: EI 167
    Departure 15:50 London Heathrow
    Arrival: 17:05 Dublin

Madness. Craic.
    Sweet Jesus, i make that 9 flights? Fair play to ya! I really dont like flying and have managed to book a route to the two games (from London) which will use just the 5 flights and as little time in the air as possible. Has anyone got a more direct route than that?

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    I really dont like flying and have managed to book a route to the two games (from London) which will use just the 5 flights and as little time in the air as possible. Has anyone got a more direct route than that?
    Some of them are trying to organise buying a car in Georgia & driving to Podgorica. It's the Dennis Bergcamp route.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Good job we weren't scheduled to play in January http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?world=0241
    ....might have needed TWO pairs of socks!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

At least there is a bit of sun there on Tuesday
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    Some of them are trying to organise buying a car in Georgia & driving to Podgorica. It's the Dennis Bergcamp route.
    yeah if you dont mind driving 2000 miles...cost you more in petrol hotels and your general mental health..pay the extra few pound for the flights lads..loosin the purse strings..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Page 6 of 28 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast