Page 15 of 47 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Italy Away - 1st April 2009

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I think somewhere between 8,000 and 20,000. Italy is a far bigger game than the Czech match. I don't think there were 8,000 in Prague either as many went home from Bratislava.

A lot will depend on how the tickets are sold. The French sold them over the internet to the Irish and the locals don't normally buy until just before the game. Easily available tickets and a saturday night in Paris contributed to the huge crowd there. We probably had 40,000 fans there.

The venue will also make a difference. If it's Rome (which is one of the world's great cities) then that will attract more fans. If it is someplace like Genoa without direct flights from Ireland then it was be a lot lower.

The credit crunch has to have an effect too. Many just won't be able to afford to travel.
    Sadly you're right there gary.....I think after Christmas many a cupboard will be bare!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

except for those pesky public servants who have loadza money!!!!
    In Trap we trust

One of four!!!

Rome Milan Genoa or Florence.At last a statement from the Italian federation,In todays Irish Times . Reading between the lines, capacity, expected Irish support, I feel San Siro is now the favourite

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    Rome Milan Genoa or Florence.At last a statement from the Italian federation,In todays Irish Times . Reading between the lines, capacity, expected Irish support, I feel San Siro is now the favourite
    I don't think they'll take our travelling support into consideration that much. Milan or Rome would be best though as we'd get more tickets.

Article here

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...828911852.html

Rome might not stage Ireland qualifier

ROME IS no longer favourite to stage the Republic of Ireland's World Cup qualifier against Italy on April 1st. Although no decision has been made, media speculation yesterday suggests the Olympic Stadium in Rome may not be the venue. writes Paddy Agnew

Two months ago, Rome had looked like the number one choice for the Irish game. But yesterday the Gazzetta dello Sport suggested that, following a visit to Rome by Uefa president Michel Platini, the Italian capital will no longer be the venue.

Platini attended the recent AS Roma v Chelsea Champions League game to check out the stadium with a view to the 2009 Champions League final which is due to be staged there in May.

Although he gave the Olimpico a resounding vote of confidence as the venue for the Champions League final, Platini, according to Gazzetta dello Sport, was concerned about the possibility of "incidents" during the Ireland game little more than one month before the final.

Contacted by The Irish Times yesterday, a spokesman for the Italian Football Federation, Antonello Valentini, denied the Platini-Champions League speculation: "No decision about the Italy v Ireland game has yet been taken. The venue will be decided probably late next month, not before.

"At the moment, there are four candidates - Florence, Genoa, Milan and Rome - and they all still stand. Platini and the Champions League final have nothing to do with the Ireland game."

Under Fifa regulations, national associations are required to name the venue for a World Cup qualifier 90 days before the game. In real terms, the federation has until the end of December to decide on the Ireland game. Even if World Cup qualifiers and Champions League games are different considerations, one suspects that the Olympic Stadium was probably not much helped by Uefa's decision, announced yesterday, to open a case against AS Roma over "the setting off of fireworks and obstruction by spectators of the exits in one section" during the Chelsea game. The case is due to be heard by Uefa's control and disciplinary body on December 11th.

Earlier this month, Eugenio Giani, the sports officer for Florence Town Council, told reporters he was hopeful the Ireland game would be played at the Franchi Stadium. Giani said that, after speaking to both the federation president, Giancarlo Abete, and to Italy coach Marcello Lippi, there was "a concrete possibility" the game would be played in Florence.

Traditionally, the Italian team do not have a national stadium where they play all internationals, but rather go out "on tour". Where there is a guaranteed strong away following, as seems sure in the case of Ireland, the federation opts for one of the bigger stadiums. In that context, the Olympic Stadium's capacity is around 80,000, while the "Franchi" in Florence holds 47,000, the "Ferraris" in Genoa 37,000 and the "Meazza" at San Siro, Milan, 80,000.

Given it is estimated that up to 15,000 Irish fans may travel for next April's qualifier, the Italian federation will choose one of the biggest stadiums available. For example, the recently-built Olympic Stadium in Turin has already been ruled out because it holds only 25,000.

Until a decision on a venue has been made, the federation cannot confirm how many tickets will be available to Irish fans. Valentini, however, does not predict problems on that front, saying that the Italian federation will do all they can to meet the FAI's ticket requirements.

Aer Lingus Dublin to Milan Linate mon am flight return from Milan Malpensa thurs evening great value €110 inc taxes. Watch the prices rocket if Milan or Genoa gets the match!
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

I still have a funny feeling it will be Rome!!!

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SUB of the day View Post
    Trapattoni is a Milan native, and counts AC Milan as his first managerial appointment. Could happen, but I'd imagine he'd get a far harsher welcome in Rome.

82 Posts
    Based on recent experiences in Italy I don't think tickets will be easy to obtain unless got from the FAI.

The Italians have toughened up ground entrance rules a lot in the last couple of years and I would expect anyone trying to get into the Italian end without an Italian ID to be denied entry. No chance of a France-like taking over of the ground.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Based on recent experiences in Italy I don't think tickets will be easy to obtain unless got from the FAI.

The Italians have toughened up ground entrance rules a lot in the last couple of years and I would expect anyone trying to get into the Italian end without an Italian ID to be denied entry. No chance of a France-like taking over of the ground.
    AFAIK they haven't been as strict with the national team games. They don't have the same hooligan problems either

I'm told you can just show your passport to buy Serie A tickets. Is this no longer the case?

This is still the case generally, but 'high risk' games can have restrictions put on them.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son View Post
    This is still the case generally, but 'high risk' games can have restrictions put on them.
    Yeah, they can demand proof of address etc.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

130 Posts
    AFAIK they haven't been as strict with the national team games. They don't have the same hooligan problems either

I was at an inter game a year ago and the only way to buy tickets was through a bank. Bit bizarre going into a bank to buy tickets. Had to bring my passport and our names were printed on the tickets. Werent asked for id going into the ground though. So buying tickets on internet from an Italian ticketmaster may not happen.

Tickets were great value though €27 and the stadium was rocking.

200 Posts
    There is a rumour going around Radio Italia (italian radio station, like TalkSport) that it will be played in Napoli (n.b. I wouldn't trust what Radio Italia say very much, their sources are usually along the lines of "my mate overheard a conversation on a train").

3,491 Posts
    Napoli's supposed to be a bit of a dump, isn't it?

57 Posts

Went to some games there during the 1990 WC. It was dirty and dangerous then. Haven't been back. Very passionate football fans though.

544 Posts
    isnt it quite literally a dump at the moment due to a long running binman dispute?

a bit out of date but i think its still an issue...
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/7418558.stm
    Last edited by jbyrne; 02/12/2008 at 1:45 PM.

Thinking of booking Milan now, still a bit nervous it will be in Rome though. Anybody know how much the trian from Milan to Rome is? I cant seem to find online

Cheers lads

Quote Originally Posted by Naitch View Post
    Thinking of booking Milan now, still a bit nervous it will be in Rome though. Anybody know how much the trian from Milan to Rome is? I cant seem to find online

Cheers lads
    there's about 30 or 40 booked into Milan Linate on the mon morning, if its not milan we will probably hire a bus to whereever, should be cheap enough.

Grand stuff will book away now! What day are you guys returning home from Milan?

Quote Originally Posted by Naitch View Post
    Grand stuff will book away now! What day are you guys returning home from Milan?

Out to Milan Linate Mon Am

Return from milan Malpensa Thurs pm

Both with aerlingus was about €120 all in

Page 15 of 47 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast