Page 21 of 47 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: Italy Away - 1st April 2009

89 Posts
    Aye,

I asked the Scottish lads on the Tartan Army message board and a number of them had stayed in the Boston, said it was grand.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Looked at the Mercure but decided on the Boston - as its right in the centre

We are probably booking into this Hotel......only 3 star Newry....not up to "our usual standard"......but it does have a Bar!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    We are probably booking into this Hotel......only 3 star Newry....not up to "our usual standard"......but it does have a Bar!
    Good stuff, will look forward to having a cold one with you all, they better be well stocked , we should be there about 21.00 on the Tues (flight arrives at 20.30) after a 7 hour stopover.

As Maribor says as I wouldnt hang around too long before you book a room, there isnt a great selection of hotels in Bari particularily town/city centre.

Good stuff, will look forward to having a cold one with you all, they better be well stocked , we should be there about 21.00 on the Tues (flight arrives at 20.30) after a 7 hour stopover.

As Maribor says as I wouldnt hang around too long before you book a room, there isnt a great selection of hotels in Bari particularily town/city centre.
    Went ahead and booked the Boston Hotel (5 of us) but can cancel without penalty, should the worst happen....I'll book the flights ONLY when venue CONFIRMED!

89 Posts
    Lads,

See below for the advice from the Scotch lad. They also have a contact for hiring buses etc if anyone is thinking of hiring ones from Rome etc. She is Irish but has lived in Italy for years.

"Hi there - thought my review of the Hotel Boston might be of use to you?

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserR...ri_Puglia.html

Honestly, the location was spot on, just far enough away from the square (where I'm sure you'll spend all your time and money at!) but close enough to walk - max 10 minutes, if that.

As someone mentioned, we had the "inconvenience" of a booze ban on match day but that lasted all of about 30 minutes I think - we went and sat over at the old harbour and were sinking bottles of Peroni for €1 or a box of 24 for €20, not bad and no queueing either! The square on match day was heaving and not a square inch to be had and we were there early shocked.gif

Got to remember, the game going ahead at that time was seriously in doubt, as the month before, a policemen was killed at a southern Italian derby match. Quite funny, as we got there on the Monday afternoon and by that night, the Bari Ultras were out and about - after less than 10 minutes, they knew they we're asking the wrong support about fighting......ended up getting pished with us, then the same the Tuesday night, with a wee sing song in the square - do a youtube search, there's probably just as many from the Italian's, as there are from us and the amount of families out to come and get their picture taken with you, you'll enjoy it lol.gif

Anyway, even if there's a remote chance of you guys playing there, I'd book now (I used Venere.com and reserved on my CC, paid on departure), as there ain't many rooms in Bari itself.

Hope you enjoy the travels and get the result you want but you'll have a lot to live up to, as we spent the equivalent of typical 3 months turnover for the whole area (not just the bars), in just over 48 hours beer2.gif

Oh and if for whatever reason you don't get a ticket from your own FA, we bought ours from this site (the offical Italian ticket agency)

www.oneticket.it
    (or it's something very similar if I'm wrong - just don't buy Curve Nord Upper - that's the Ultras and they are pretty territorial about that!) Actually, we got in the Scotland end with Italian tickets, so much for strict security, eh!"
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Been There - have your room booked in Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci. Twin room for Mon Tues Weds.

Will ring you over the next few days, you can pay upon departure. Room held with my credit card.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Surprise to who??

They put the Scots in Bari, so it was always a possibility.

Decent stadium afaik, athletic track, good location weatherwise, so not bad. Poor though for the travel agents and press corps, who banked on Milan/Rome, and hiked their prices as a result. €800 - WTF????
    You should be surprised as anyone considering you said this on page 4 of this thread

"It will have to be one of the big stadiums, of which there are only 3 with sufficient capacity, Milan, Rome, or Naples. They'll easily get 80,000 at any one of those. It is a key game in the group."

Cheers for the heads up MP

176 Posts
    It should be borne in mind that said quote, was 10 months ago on Page 2, in very different expectations at the time.

415 Posts
    http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3914
    Finally something on the FAI site although it is pretty much what was said on RTE a couple of days ago

156 Posts
    lads, anyone got a website where we could get more or less face value tickets?!

where are most people flying to?I flew to Naples from London with Easyjet a few years ago so if there is a train there that might be an option!!

In Trap we trust

Lads anyone getting from Rome to Bari can fly with Easyjet for €60 return, flying out on Wednesday and back on Thursday.

We are flying from Rome to Bari on the tuesday and back to rome on thursday with easyjet about €70 return.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It should be borne in mind that said quote, was 10 months ago on Page 2, in very different expectations at the time.
    You obviously hate being proved wrong on this forum as much as you do on the utlras forum.

Went ahead and booked the Boston Hotel (5 of us) but can cancel without penalty, should the worst happen....I'll book the flights ONLY when venue CONFIRMED!
    Cant see it changing to be honest so went on ahead and booked the return as i need to be back on Thur. Might be able to use 1st and last flight if not Bari

Flights E170 each, hotel E140 each

I see on YBIG you got stung on Hotel , any joy ?

Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci hotel is now full, according to tartan army boards loads of them ended up sleeping on floors, very few hotel rooms in Bari, I'd strongly recommend booking hotels asap.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Cant see it changing to be honest so went on ahead and booked the return as i need to be back on Thur. Might be able to use 1st and last flight if not Bari

Flights E170 each, hotel E140 each

I see on YBIG you got stung on Hotel , any joy ?
    Not really "stung" (good pun Newry)......turns out that I have booked a "Family Room" that sleeps 5,) as there were no more Triple rooms....if I went for 2 rooms it works out the same.
    Last edited by Sligo Hornet; 02/01/2009 at 3:09 PM.

Not really "stung" (good pun Newry)......turns out that I have booked a "Family Room" that sleeps 5, as there were no more Triple rooms....if I went for 2 rooms it works out the same.
    Glad to hear

The Scots had a pretty good time if reports are anything to go by we just need to make sure we out drink and out sing them (3 points wouldnt be too bad either surely we are due a massive result but would settle for 1)

I am booked Dublin Bologna and Bologna to Bari, One night in Bologna and 2 nights in Bari. Booked into the Victor Hotel too. Bring it on.
    In Trap we trust

I just got stung by the mercure. I received a confirmation email the other day but today i got an email telling me the hotel is full and due to a computer failure i got a confirmation when i should have not

Page 21 of 47 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast