Page 48 of 49 FirstFirst ... 3846474849 LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

yer man in the 1st video,"12 pints"

fantastic time there. Have to say very nice city and the locals seemed frriendly enough, usual craic from taxi men but apart from that it was alright.

I went to the best nightclub ever on saturday, stayed in there on me own, just watching everyone dancing on the tables and bar tops. Unreal. The price of JD got dearer everytime i had one. Eventully 6.30 came and i started getting sleepy i noticed the bouncer coming over towards me saying come on, i just started laughing and i said, ya you are right, i do need to go home. Great banter. Thursday night was the same, some bouncer made a beeline towards me and said you have to leave, hadnt a clue what i did but there ye go.

Quote Originally Posted by newrynyuk View Post
    Yes it was indeed another great trip. A few downpours on Friday night, but otherwise the weather was blazing hot the whole time. Bars didn't jack up their prices by too much (if at all).

Locals were a wary bunch, but once you broke the ice and said hello they opened up. The girls were gorgeous and dressed for the heat, but mostly on the arms of a stubbled macho boyfriend.

It ws a tense game. Bulgaria dominated in the second half, but I thought MeGeady was gonna win it for us at the death. Still, happy enough with the point.

Most surreal moment was during half time when, for no apparent reason, they played Africa by Toto over the tannoy. A group of Irish fans down at the front got up to dance and sing along! They wouldn't have been born when it was a hit 26 years ago.

Only disappointment was the lack of match programmes. Though apparently some were being passed around one of the Irish bars?

That was us that got up and dancing, the fella turned to me and said is that really africa by toto im hearing, ****ing urselves, was one of many highlights of the trp.

Fantastic trip.We had a great time .The holiday Inn was super and the result was what i think most of us expected. Have to agree about the locals not being able to keep up with our beer intake.Fanszone was good craic as well ,love the way they turned the lights off as we left the stadium. Our flight to Zurich was delayed last night and we missed our connection to london,and had to stay at the Zurich Hilton courtsey of Swiss Air . Hope they haven`t checked the mini bar yet.

Great trip and great result

JJ murphys was a disgrace. We went in on Friday night and we left after 1 gargle!!! The staff were *****s.

Hotel Downtown was a nice hotel in a great location. We ended up spending most of the time with a few characters, mad things

The Fanzone was a great spot aswel, except for the drink.

another great trip overall.

agree that JJ Murphy's was a disgrace. charging Irish prices and one barman was a ******. great craic there Friday night all the same.

the craic never really got goin in Flannagan's match day i didn't think but once we got to the stadium the atmosphere was deadly.
    "A farting horse will never tire and a farting man's the man to hire!"

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    That was us that got up and dancing, the fella turned to me and said is that really africa by toto im hearing, ****ing urselves, was one of many highlights of the trp.
    That was you? Respect!

Africa could easily become a chant if we make it to the finals. I can easily imagine everyone singing "Duh-duh, duh-duh, duh-duh, duh-DUUUHHHHHHHH!" in Cyprus come September.

Another great trip. Hit some retro club on Saturday. They only played music from 1992 & before! Gas. Thought the stadium buzz was better than in Bari coz we were all together & I think we worked bloody great. Fair play all; went at the singing non stop. Crokers is such a let down after the trips!!
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

we didnt though, we sang for the first half hour and before the game, and that was it, once they scored ppl stopped singing. Thought it could have been a lot better.

I must say - where we were, everyone seemed to be singing throughout - i suppose it depends where you are as if it's only a couple of hundred around you it probably sounds like everyone ....
    Great trip apart from the Radisson fc uking up our rooms so that all the journo's could stay there.
    I don't think my voice will be right for a week !!!!

What? We sang for the whole thing, not a second off. Down the back lads, it's always going off down there!
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Good trip all in all. I had great fun with so many of the usual suspects thurs-Sun morning. No voice left and Im wrecked, but its all worth it. A huge thank you also to all of the people who made a point of speaking to me about the article in YBIG. It really did mean alot so thank you. Great craic at the fanfest and the singing in the ground was good I thought.

Quote Originally Posted by Chippy View Post
    Great trip apart from the Radisson fc uking up our rooms so that all the journo's could stay there.
    I don't think my voice will be right for a week !!!!
    Yep same as us as we got bumped also for the one night . I must say thanks to the Bohs lad who gave us a lift to the Raddison as he was mailed about been bumped and they picked him up at the airport and gave him a free night at the Kaplinski hotel . When we got to the Raddison they said we had to pay for the the night in another hotel which was the same as above , hearing that Mrs Claret said , you gave yer man the a free night we want the same so in the end we only paid for one night hey sometimes things just work out for you .

Your one miserable ****er o'shea

Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    Your one miserable ****er o'shea
    I am a depressed optimist! Spending 3 days with the polster, what would ye expect!! Andrews was crap!

Had the best weekend of my life . im hooked !! even if my insides are still shaking and i cannot sleep from the shakes

Quote Originally Posted by JT,New'09 View Post
    Had the best weekend of my life . im hooked !! even if my insides are still shaking and i cannot sleep from the shakes
    Should have stuck to the beer JT......anything from McDonalds is muck!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Should have stuck to the beer JT......anything from McDonalds is muck!
    Has anyone booked Cyprus Trip. Im looking to book the Thursday 3rd of Sept to Sunday 6th. Were would everyone be staying ?? ayna napa??? If anyone has any flight details that would suit can you forward them on please??

Cheers to JT for organizing the taxi from/to the Airport in Sofia!! Great trip. did you see some of your gang in the youtube clips I posted?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddser View Post
    Cheers to JT for organizing the taxi from/to the Airport in Sofia!! Great trip. did you see some of your gang in the youtube clips I posted?
    No didnt even see the clips you put up , what are they ??
    Best weekend ever

JT, yer a great Irish dancer btw. I was going to get up and join you, but i didnt want to outdo you after your display

Page 48 of 49 FirstFirst ... 3846474849 LastLast