Page 47 of 49 FirstFirst ... 374546474849 LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

Only a few hours to go..... back to Gatwick for 2nd time in a week, few beers, a yotel.....and then 630am flight to Sofia .....bring it on...
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Have my alarm set for 4:45am

Cant bleeding wait

Hope you all have a great journey and arrive safley.See you on Friday night in macs.

i had my alarm set to, in the end i didnt need it, was out playing a game Gaelic yesterday stiff as fcuk and couldn't sleep at all last night. going to be asleep by about 7 this evening!!!wrecked tired

anybody know where abouts the arm-wrestling championships are going on? would be funny if you could enter on the day.............

Quote Originally Posted by Naitch View Post
    Anyone know if this "Fan-Zone" is confirmed?
    What would be at it?
    Got the following e-mail yesterday;

As you know Ireland come to Sofia to play Bulgaria this Saturday, 6
    June, in an important World Cup qualifying match. We're expecting
    around 2,500 fans to travel here for the game, so it will be a busy weekend. I wanted to let you know of two things that you might be interested in if you're in Sofia this weekend: 1. A fanzone area will be set up on Saturday from 12 noon in the park with the Russian monument beside the Vasil Levski National Stadium in the city centre. The idea is to have somewhere big enough for the Irish fans to congregate before the match and then be escorted safely into the ground. Beer, soft drinks and food will be available all day and everyone is welcome.
    2. The Embassy and Tullamore Dew are organising a mini-tournament on Saturday morning in Borissov Gradina sports complex, just behind the Vasil Levski National Stadium. There will be an Ireland team, a Bulgaria team, an Irish journalists team and a Bulgarian journalists team playing each other for the Tullamore Dew Cup. Some famous faces from Bulgaria will probably be making an appearance and it is sure to be a good way of getting Irish and Bulgarians together for some fun before the serious sport gets underway later in the day. Everyone is welcome to come along and cheer on their team - it kicks off at 9.45am.

Just love the idea of a fan zone , six more hours of work then I am out of here and heading to the airport ....................

5 more hours left in work then off to catch the Ryanair to Luton, and Wizzair to Sofia! Cant wait. One of the lads is in the airport suppin on pints as we speak.

89 Posts
    Heading off tonight, can not wait. Love the fanzone idea. Don't think i'll be up at 9.45am for the kickabout though

89 Posts
    Sofia report

Weather great, not too many on the ground so far but there were plenty on the BA flight this morning.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

reder
    Car fueled up and ready to go. Flying out to London tomorrow at 6.30am and then onwards to Sofia. Cant wait.

Well I am back , some trip I would say that everyone will agree on .
    Bars that ran out of Beer , and change .
    Police closing down bars and so on , you have to laugh .

There was even hookers that picked up an extra bit of change from lads!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    ... Bars that ran out of Beer , and change . ...
    Bugger, I forgot to go back and pay the barman

I could not make this trip due to Rovers playing in Europe in a few weeks time, was it a good trip lads? What was the craic like?

Police have improved since I was there in 1987. This time I didn't get electrocuted by these cattle prod type truncheons they had back then.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Fantastic trip, i think everyone will agree.

The fanzone was brilliant craic, the only thing i would complain about was the length of time it took to get a drink there.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr. Joe View Post
    Fantastic trip, i think everyone will agree.

The fanzone was brilliant craic, the only thing i would complain about was the length of time it took to get a drink there.
    Was told there was no alcohol in there. I didn't go in then.

Great trip.

Yes it was indeed another great trip. A few downpours on Friday night, but otherwise the weather was blazing hot the whole time. Bars didn't jack up their prices by too much (if at all).

Locals were a wary bunch, but once you broke the ice and said hello they opened up. The girls were gorgeous and dressed for the heat, but mostly on the arms of a stubbled macho boyfriend.

It ws a tense game. Bulgaria dominated in the second half, but I thought MeGeady was gonna win it for us at the death. Still, happy enough with the point.

Most surreal moment was during half time when, for no apparent reason, they played Africa by Toto over the tannoy. A group of Irish fans down at the front got up to dance and sing along! They wouldn't have been born when it was a hit 26 years ago.

Only disappointment was the lack of match programmes. Though apparently some were being passed around one of the Irish bars?

Page 47 of 49 FirstFirst ... 374546474849 LastLast