Page 44 of 49 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

hope we don't get caught in the cross-fire between rival Sofia fans!!

can't see us winning, would gladly take a drab nil-nil. an article in the indo this weekend had given saying that the bulgarian lads at city have been talking about the game for months. i'd say they're really eyeing this one as the way to get back into the group.

if we do win, 1euro a pint will make for great celebtrations.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    WTF, the DFA travel advisory status is "Normal Precauions", the same as England, US, etc. i.e. the lowest possible ranking.

Have you ever been abroad for a match lads ffs?!

99% of that notice applies to foreigners coming to Ireland!!
    I just thought the link might be useful to some. If you don't want to read it don't bother. To answer your question yes i have been travelling to away games for 20 years.
    Last edited by SuperDub; 01/06/2009 at 3:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by offaly16 View Post
    Not sure bout where he is from but you would recognise him from all of the away games as he is the only one in a blazer and tie in the middle of the Irish fans.
    Joe is alright, he was the main man orgainsing the singing section with us..he is an out an out dub. Jaysus didnt hear he got the champ lge final gig.
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

meath v dublin

on another note,,,,,,is any pub showing the Meath V Dublin Match in sofia
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by horney View Post
    lufthansa have a flight to bulgaria (sofia) any fans on it i wonder
    We'll be on the one from Dub at midday via Munchen. Probably hold off drinking till Munich though so that'll probably be around 3 or 4pm Irish time. Will see any fellow fans at the bar (or in the carpark with a few cans (time & weather permitting)).
    Last edited by Colie; 01/06/2009 at 6:40 PM.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    on another note,,,,,,is any pub showing the Meath V Dublin Match in sofia
    Way back in 93/94 JJ Murphy's used to have a dodgy sky box and would show all the matches on RTE. I'm not sure if they still have access but I think it would be your best bet.

I remember watching Celtic v Barcelona on TG4 sitting in the bar there. A crowd of English lads were very impressed that I was able to translate the "Bulgarian" commentary by Sean Ban Breathnach
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 01/06/2009 at 7:04 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Finishing work tomorrow, and getting the buzz you get when you are heading for a holiday with the lads. would love to meet up with you guys on Friday night ,Anyone got any ideas where they are going or is there a mobile link for us all. Seems a shame if we don`t .I have no problems giving my mobile if you pm me. Come on ..............lets be having you...to quote a famous phrase.Name that person.

75 Posts
    frlying to Gatwick wednesday night cant wait.If its half as good as Bari it will be some craic.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    We'll be on the one from Dub at midday via Munchen. Probably hold off drinking till Munich though so that'll probably be around 3 or 4pm Irish time. Will see any fellow fans at the bar (or in the carpark with a few cans (time & weather permitting)).
    What day are you flying to Sofia cos a crowd of us who live in Munich are on the morning Lufthansa flight on Friday (9.25am and arrive in Sofia at 12.15pm)?

Quote Originally Posted by captkeen View Post
    Finishing work tomorrow, and getting the buzz you get when you are heading for a holiday with the lads. would love to meet up with you guys on Friday night ,Anyone got any ideas where they are going or is there a mobile link for us all. Seems a shame if we don`t .I have no problems giving my mobile if you pm me. Come on ..............lets be having you...to quote a famous phrase.Name that person.
    The Delightful Delia

Quote Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
    hope we don't get caught in the cross-fire between rival Sofia fans!!

can't see us winning, would gladly take a drab nil-nil. an article in the indo this weekend had given saying that the bulgarian lads at city have been talking about the game for months. i'd say they're really eyeing this one as the way to get back into the group.

if we do win, 1euro a pint will make for great celebtrations.
    Jesus that would worry me ! I hope were going to be ok , id hate to get stuck in between both sets of bulgarian fans,

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    WTF, the DFA travel advisory status is "Normal Precauions", the same as England, US, etc. i.e. the lowest possible ranking.

Have you ever been abroad for a match lads ffs?!

99% of that notice applies to foreigners coming to Ireland!!
    Yes, but never where they have to segregate the opposition fans.

So has a meeting point on Saturday been decided on?

Quote Originally Posted by Paddser View Post
    So has a meeting point on Saturday been decided on?
    NDK Park at the top of Vitosha Boulevard at the end away from the city centre - about 15 minutes from Stadium
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    NDK Park at the top of Vitosha Boulevard at the end away from the city centre - about 15 minutes from Stadium
    Perfect, cheers Aido

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Great spot....plus Aido says he's buying all the beers!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eaststand85 View Post
    Yes, but never where they have to segregate the opposition fans.
    Yeah, be Careful out there, people.

Has this been posted here yet?:-

http://www.inyourpocket.com/data/download/sofia.pdf

A full guide to Sofia available to download. It's about 5Mb and very informative.

Quote Originally Posted by newrynyuk View Post
    Has this been posted here yet?:-

http://www.inyourpocket.com/data/download/sofia.pdf

A full guide to Sofia available to download. It's about 5Mb and very informative.
    That's great Newry, saves having to buy a guide book or print out Google maps etc. Thanks!

Use your sense of direction!

Is AidoM giving any massages SH?!

Page 44 of 49 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast