Page 23 of 49 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    Also would like to thank the Bulgarian FA for not trying to rip us off (unlike the Cypriots of years gone by).
    As in 2005 and 2006. also Wales 2007 - £35 for us in the corner - £15 for the Welsh on the halfway line.

There are rules about this but some countries just ignore them and appear to get away with it.

Quote Originally Posted by JT,New'09 View Post
    Is there some kind of Initiation needed to be accepted as a so called "Porper Fan" ? Or if you cannot make every single away game does that mean your less of an Irish football fan or even 1/4 or 1/2 a fan ! ?
    well said, when was the last time any irish away support got bad press? Surely the more support the better, are some people saying that the 40k+ supporting ireland in the giants stadium were partly blow ins? and shouldn't of went because they probably hadn't been to many away games before that. Lets face it, pre 88 and 90 we struggled to fill dallymount most times, would ye prefer we went back to that? Just look at 'The Van' for a realistic example of your good time irish fans, and I say fair play, they were happy days, i'd love to see 40k in sofia just like in paris, and what an atmosphere that was, and that also involved a lot of non regular irish game attendees popping over the water for a bit of a break, and the craic, as well as the self anointed die hard followers on here privileged/lucky enough to be able attend most games.

Come on the boys...

Quote Originally Posted by Polster View Post
    well said, when was the last time any irish away support got bad press? Surely the more support the better, are some people saying that the 40k+ supporting ireland in the giants stadium were partly blow ins? and shouldn't of went because they probably hadn't been to many away games before that. Lets face it, pre 88 and 90 we struggled to fill dallymount most times, would ye prefer we went back to that? Just look at 'The Van' for a realistic example of your good time irish fans, and I say fair play, they were happy days, i'd love to see 40k in sofia just like in paris, and what an atmosphere that was, and that also involved a lot of non regular irish game attendees popping over the water for a bit of a break, and the craic, as well as the self anointed die hard followers on here privileged/lucky enough to be able attend most games.

Come on the boys...
    I think the point was directed at those 'fans' who attended aways games in recent years who didnt particularily give a monkeys about the football/team/result but were just there on a **** up with the lads. The number of games attended had nothing to do with it.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    I think the point was directed at those 'fans' who attended aways games in recent years who didnt particularily give a monkeys about the football/team/result but were just there on a **** up with the lads. The number of games attended had nothing to do with it.
    and who were beginning to cause hassle for the locals like in paris '04

I got that, still don't see the harm in having good numbers of support away from home if it will at least add to the atmosphere, which will help the team, irrespective of whether they particularly are overly concerned by the outcome. And I think the whole idea of this might be overplayed anyway, why would many people who don't care about football at all follow ireland to obscure parts of the world, when they could easily get a cheap package deal somewhere else? Surely they just wouldn't bother with the football trip?

I think some fans like to place themselves on a pedestal as far as supporting the country goes. Fair play to the supporters that do make huge efforts, but lets not begrudge any Irish person (unless they cause trouble) from following and cheering on the team.

I got that, still don't see the harm in having good numbers of support away from home if it will at least add to the atmosphere, which will help the team, irrespective of whether they particularly are overly concerned by the outcome. And I think the whole idea of this might be overplayed anyway, why would many people who don't care about football at all follow ireland to obscure parts of the world, when they could easily get a cheap package deal somewhere else? Surely they just wouldn't bother with the football trip?

I think some fans like to place themselves on a pedestal as far as supporting the country goes. Fair play to the supporters that do make huge efforts, but lets not begrudge any Irish person (unless they cause trouble) from following and cheering on the team.
    Numbers dont make an atsmosphere otherwise Croke Park would be like a fortress With the advent of cheap flights the world particulary Europe isnt that big anymore and travelling has never been easier/cheaper. The problem is currently minor but tends to be more prevelent at the handy glamourous fixtures, Amsterdam/Paris/stuggart/even Mainz had the village idiot running onto the pitch. Good reputations are easliy lost

Nice Reply !! Bottem line is were all going for the same reason to support the team with the hope to win , and add points to the board to qualify for the World Cup.
    Im going for the reason stated above .......oh and for a break from this country and the depression of this bluddy recession, its a trip to look 4ward too , for the atmosphere , the build up , the match , and the crack , the weather, the beer and good clean fun .........

I think Lopez was not having a go at anybody who is even on this site because if you are on this site you are obviously showin an interest in football. There was a small element that was in Paris and Stuttgart that are not really there for the football and would not be shy about throwing a few digs etc. I think that is what lopez and Newryrep were alluding to.

Everybody has to start somewhere so its not an elitist thing at all.
    In Trap we trust

Numbers dont make an atsmosphere otherwise Croke Park would be like a fortress With the advent of cheap flights the world particulary Europe isnt that big anymore and travelling has never been easier/cheaper. The problem is currently minor but tends to be more prevelent at the handy glamourous fixtures, Amsterdam/Paris/stuggart/even Mainz had the village idiot running onto the pitch. Good reputations are easliy lost
    Come on, Amsterdam, Paris and Stuggart, I would say right up there with the greatest Irish atmospheres for an away game or any game. The Croke Park thing is a seperate issue, and I fully expect the atmosphere to be restored when we get back to paddy cullens chicken goujons and pints.

I'd love to see 10k+ in sofia if we could of, because you can be guaranteed it would add hugely to the atmosphere and help the boys.

Come on, Amsterdam, Paris and Stuggart, I would say right up there with the greatest Irish atmospheres for an away game or any game. The Croke Park thing is a seperate issue, and I fully expect the atmosphere to be restored when we get back to paddy cullens chicken goujons and pints.

I'd love to see 10k+ in sofia if we could of, because you can be guaranteed it would add hugely to the atmosphere and help the boys.
    How many would you reckon from experience should make Sofia ??

Lads if you want to know what the lads are alluding to. Look at Fraziers on a Sunday afternoon after an Old Firm game. Thats not an anti Celtic comment its an anti scumbag comment as there are loads of genuine Celtic fans before anyone jumps down my neck. Howerver there was an element on some trips that put it this way you would not want your daughter or sister to go go anywhere near.
    In Trap we trust

Does anyone know if you have to order the Bulgarian currency from the bank or would they have it on the day??

Would our ATM cards work in Sofia?

Quote Originally Posted by JT,New'09 View Post
    How many would you reckon from experience should make Sofia ??
    3-4k hopefully

Anyone want to adopt a yank for this qualifier. Don't know any other supporters here with enough money to travel...
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Does anyone know if you have to order the Bulgarian currency from the bank or would they have it on the day??

I'm 99% sure our cards will work there, but best check with your bank. Also may be actually safer to have a few bulgarian notes on you, in case people watch the atm's or you need money in an emergency

ATMs ok for getting out money, you will get better rate over there than in the banks here but not much good if like myself your landing around midnight.
    What ever yez do dont change money at Sofia airport as its the worst exchange possible

or you need money in an emergency
    u wouldnt be suggesting ladies of the night would you?

Just checked with some of the banks and they do not carry the Bulgarian Lev as a matter of course, you will need to ask your bank to order it and it may take about a week or ten days to get it in. The banks will charge comission.

I have been in touch with First Rate, who have the foreign exchange in the departures area of Dublin airport and they carry it. The rate they give is 1.83 lev = €1. The rate is fairly constant. They charge commission @ 2.25% up to a maximum of €12.70 (which is converting €600). If you keep your receipt they will change back notes on the return without charging commission.

I gave them the heads up that there would be a lot of fans heading through the airport in the days leading up to the match and that they should order a good bit in to have available.

I know there are banks in Sofia and that they will change it but I think that they may rip us off maybe not quite as bad as foreign exchange places or hotels. If you use your ATM card in Sofia you will be charged for using it to get a non euro currency as well as the comission for converting it.

I just think that it might be better to get it here before we go.
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by The Scientist View Post
    u wouldnt be suggesting ladies of the night would you?
    God no, I'm sure they have swiping facilities anyway

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    Just checked with some of the banks and they do not carry the Bulgarian Lev as a matter of course, you will need to ask your bank to order it and it may take about a week or ten days to get it in. The banks will charge comission.

I have been in touch with First Rate, who have the foreign exchange in the departures area of Dublin airport and they carry it. The rate they give is 1.83 lev = €1. The rate is fairly constant. They charge commission @ 2.25% up to a maximum of €12.70 (which is converting €600). If you keep your receipt they will change back notes on the return without charging commission.

I gave them the heads up that there would be a lot of fans heading through the airport in the days leading up to the match and that they should order a good bit in to have available.

I know there are banks in Sofia and that they will change it but I think that they may rip us off maybe not quite as bad as foreign exchange places or hotels. If you use your ATM card in Sofia you will be charged for using it to get a non euro currency as well as the comission for converting it.

I just think that it might be better to get it here before we go.

Most taxi drivers are more than happy to take Euro if you have it. The ATMs will work fine for cash withdrawals but I can't remember if there is an ATM at the airport.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Page 23 of 49 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast