Page 12 of 49 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    One of my mates even got hold of the public address and made a speech slagging us all off. The icing was a fight breaking out between two Irish lads from luton as we're landing. The cabin crew couldn't have given a greater f*ck.
    sssshhhhh - keep that to yourself Lopez. Gspain doesnt think Irish fans get up to such malarky. If he did, he'd equate it to a hooligan problem that we have.

I remember flying with Balkan Air to Riga back in '94 and the plane had an escape rope on it - lord knows what you were supposed to do with it at 30,000ft??
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

reder
    As a postscript I've googled Balkan Airlines and it seems that they are now Bulgarian airlines. Good luck!
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    sssshhhhh - keep that to yourself Lopez. Gspain doesnt think Irish fans get up to such malarky. If he did, he'd equate it to a hooligan problem that we have.

I remember flying with Balkan Air to Riga back in '94 and the plane had an escape rope on it - lord knows what you were supposed to do with it at 30,000ft??
    Well its all booked now. Id fly in anything myself but the lad I travel with has only recently gotten to grips with flying. Better hope he doesnt read this. We are on the 1030 flight on the Friday from Gatwick so here''s hoping he falls asleep once he gets on the plane. Otherwise, early morning alcoholic persuasion will need to be employed.

57 Posts

I recall somebody else denying that Tweedledum FC had a hooligan problem. There are plenty of examples on google that you do.

and no not everybody on every away trip have been angels. However we do not have a hooligan problem and we don't want one.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I recall somebody else denying that Tweedledum FC had a hooligan problem. There are plenty of examples on google that you do.

and no not everybody on every away trip have been angels. However we do not have a hooligan problem and we don't want one.
    Not interested in kicking off a debate about Luton Town's hooligan problem (either the one in Luton or the one in Glasgow), but I wouldn't consider two, otherwise good mates, having a roll around the aisle on a plane as hooliganism. The point was that Balkan Airlines were a joke of an airline where a row was allowed to escalate into this. Imagine Air Texas flying into Dallas Fort Worth with that carry on? Thirty years and a free pot of vaseline for yo'll!
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Well its all booked now. Id fly in anything myself but the lad I travel with has only recently gotten to grips with flying. Better hope he doesnt read this. We are on the 1030 flight on the Friday from Gatwick so here''s hoping he falls asleep once he gets on the plane. Otherwise, early morning alcoholic persuasion will need to be employed.
    A good comparison could be made with Tarom, the Romanian national airline. When I flew with them in 1997 (I've never flew with them previously), they had Boeings and I couldn't fault the service. Airlines flying to Britain operate under as strict regulations as you can get, which is why some airlines, or some of their planes at least have been barred (eg. Pakistan airlines). Still, I find a small ammount of alcohol does make flying an altogether better experience.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

57 Posts
    Was still in college in April 87 and couldn't afford away trips then (as opposed to the ones in a tent in the years when I first started working). Anyway one of the college socialists who believed Bulgaria et al to be a workers paradise at the time decided to cheer for Bulgaria. It was funny at first but got tiresome. He had no interest in football and was actually taking the **** but his cheering and well done comrades when Bulgaria went 1 up didn't go down well and at half time he decided to leave. On his way out of the Students Union area he met a crowd coming out of a lecture. "How is the match going?" "Great we are 1 up was his reply". They were livid. nothing worse than thinking you are 1 up then discovering you are 1 down. He probably works for Aertel now.

He had to keep his head low in UCC for a few days after that one or we would have had a hooligan problem.

Was still in college in April 87 and couldn't afford away trips then (as opposed to the ones in a tent in the years when I first started working). Anyway one of the college socialists who believed Bulgaria et al to be a workers paradise at the time decided to cheer for Bulgaria. It was funny at first but got tiresome. He had no interest in football and was actually taking the **** but his cheering and well done comrades when Bulgaria went 1 up didn't go down well and at half time he decided to leave. On his way out of the Students Union area he met a crowd coming out of a lecture. "How is the match going?" "Great we are 1 up was his reply". They were livid. nothing worse than thinking you are 1 up then discovering you are 1 down. He probably works for Aertel now.

He had to keep his head low in UCC for a few days after that one or we would have had a hooligan problem.
    The w*nker had obviously never been at any length in these countries let alone had the misfortune to live there. The Soviet Union to me was the first shock of how a Socialist Utopia was complete b*ll*cks. I wore shorts to the game in Bulgaria (I'd worn them in the previous few games, including Glasgow, as they seemed lucky). Walking in, I got a shock on my legs. A policeman was laughing with his mate as he'd zapped me with a electric truncheon (bit like a cattle prod). A minute later another one zapped me.

Another thing I remember was all this illegal changing of money. Best people were waiters in the hotel, as they were regulars and totally trustworthy. One bloke was wondering around the hotel looking to change but we steered clear. I saw him one night being spoken to by the police. He went off with them. Next night he looked like chi-chi the panda, poor bloke. I wasn't going to go to this match, but I think 22 years is long enough for an improvement.

BTW, your man is probably running Aertel and is a complete **** of a boss to work with.

229 Posts

One mans hooliganism problem is another mans alcohol fuelled idiocy.

Trashing a hotel room (your example from Seville), Grounded Flight from Vigo (an alcohol fuelled fight amongst fans - sounds very similar to Lopez' story apart from the grounding!).

Of course its unacceptable - ned'ish behaviour that we could all do without -but hooliganism - No, not in my book anyway.

I simply equate hooliganism to organised gangs of lads going on the rampage, looking for trouble and not caring what gets in their way. You obviously include isolated incidents of public disorder/damage within your definition.

Not sure who Tweedledum FC are meant to be, however, if Im right in assuming you mean Celtic, does this not simply further my point that you have an axe to grind with Celtic and our supporters?

I wont reply to any further posts as I guess we have dragged this on now and over a couple of threads. Cheers, Jnr
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

3,491 Posts
    I guess we have dragged this on now and over a couple of threads.
    Indeed. Can we get back on topic from now?

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    I flew Balkan Airlines to Plovdiv in 1993, we sat beside the exit door, which rattled the whole journey, heavy frost appeared all around the inside of the exit door and we were frozen the whole journey. We were taking it in turns to sit beside the "loose" door
    Funny to hear they are now Bulgaria Air, jaysus

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    I flew Balkan Airlines to Plovdiv in 1993, we sat beside the exit door, which rattled the whole journey, heavy frost appeared all around the inside of the exit door and we were frozen the whole journey. We were taking it in turns to sit beside the "loose" door
    You know, the longer we go on the more glad I'm flying with Easyjet.

You must have been just out of nappys then, 15 yrs ago?
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

You know, the longer we go on the more glad I'm flying with Easyjet.
    That's true. Easyjet are good, at least they still provide a sick bag, don't think ryanair do that anymore

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    You must have been just out of nappys then, 15 yrs ago?
    Just about, was on a school trip

That's true. Easyjet are good, at least they still provide a sick bag, don't think ryanair do that anymore

Just about, was on a school trip
    Yeah.....as a teacher!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Sure Green Trible left nappys when she was 25
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Sure Green Trible left nappys when she was 25
    Oh Dear......and you two almost engaged...."there may be trouble ahead....."

Shocking, are yous 2 tramps going to be in kate's around 430pm on wed?

Sorry to disappoint you,.........YES!!

p.s. I am not a tramp, I'm a gentleman.......can't vouchfor "KneeMcD"

yeah I will be there from about 4 onwards. Wont be able to get on my bended knee this time though GT.
    In Trap we trust

just bent over your knee Neil
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Ars to Air Bulgaria

Air Bulgaria cancelled the Manc-Sofia flights the saps. Stranded & down the cost of my Dublin-Manc flights. Ars. Why do these trips always end up costing about €800 more than they should?
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Page 12 of 49 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast