Thread: Galway United - unprofessional or just immature?

3,489 Posts

Galway United - unprofessional or just immature?

Seeing as youz came up because of your supposed superior professionalism and no other reason, I must say I was very surprised at the antics of the club last night. Granted, you seem to have learned from previous errors and worked out how an officials list works, but then came -

> Your club mascot joining in our half time warm up. WTF was that about?! Granted, it's not as important as the pre-match warm up, but general cop on tells you that club mascots should be nowhere near either of the teams at half time. (Should add that it's a sign of the lax attitude which has dogged our team the past seven weeks that our players didn't tell him where to go)
    > The PA calling out the Rovers-Waterford half time wrong. An honest mistake possibly (although there was never a hint of a goal in that first half, so I don't know where it came from; the cynic in me notes that it may be more than just pure coincidence that the only half time I've heard called out wrong all season is one which would have put us into the play-offs - a bit of psychological warfare perhaps?), but given its relevance to our season, a hugely unprofessional one and one which could well have affected our outlook on the second half.
    > The Galway players holding onto the ball when we won free kicks and throws throughout the second half. Never have I seen a team time wasting while winning a (for them) dead game.

I'm sure this post will be met with blind loyalty for the infallibility of one's own team, but if Galway are the model of how a professional club should work, it doesn't say much for the rest of the league...

75 Posts
    Seeing as youz came up because of your supposed superior professionalism and no other reason, I must say I was very surprised at the antics of the club last night. Granted, you seem to have learned from previous errors and worked out how an officials list works, but then came -

> Your club mascot joining in our half time warm up. WTF was that about?! Granted, it's not as important as the pre-match warm up, but general cop on tells you that club mascots should be nowhere near either of the teams at half time. (Should add that it's a sign of the lax attitude which has dogged our team the past seven weeks that our players didn't tell him where to go)
    > The PA calling out the Rovers-Waterford half time wrong. An honest mistake possibly (although there was never a hint of a goal in that first half, so I don't know where it came from; the cynic in me notes that it may be more than just pure coincidence that the only half time I've heard called out wrong all season is one which would have put us into the play-offs - a bit of psychological warfare perhaps?), but given its relevance to our season, a hugely unprofessional one and one which could well have affected our outlook on the second half.
    > The Galway players holding onto the ball when we won free kicks and throws throughout the second half. Never have I seen a team time wasting while winning a (for them) dead game.

I'm sure this post will be met with blind loyalty for the infallibility of one's own team, but if Galway are the model of how a professional club should work, it doesn't say much for the rest of the league...

WTF so its our Mascots fault you lost id hate to see the tantrum if Waterford actually won (the mistake with the ht score was done to xls score website that gave waterford a one nil lead but withdrew it straight after).

UCD had 2 supporters at their most important game of the season just about sums up UCD.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

The obsession continues.

Get a life Stu.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    UCD had 2 supporters at their most important game of the season just about sums up UCD.
    Hardly their most important game of the season, they had cup semis to be dealing with ...according to some UCD fans they were safe weeks ago....
    Last edited by KoemansCC; 10/11/2007 at 4:24 PM.

3,489 Posts
    I'm sure this post will be met with blind loyalty for the infallibility of one's own team
    Figured as much...

Nothing to do with why we lost (never said otherwise); just, as the title says, very unprofessional from Galway.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 10/11/2007 at 4:31 PM.

75 Posts
    Get a life Stu you are a very sad person
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

3,489 Posts
    Now, on any other forum, that'd be trolling...

Seriously, debate the points if you want.

I recall a few seasons back we played U.C.D. in Terryland and in the second half almost every time United were in an attacking position a U.C.D. player would go down, United would put the ball out to allow treatment and wow! A miraculous recovery! Also, last night when Lester was injured our keeper cleared and from the resulting throw U.C.D. went on the attack. Is that professionalism?

37 Posts
    ... but if Galway are the model of how a professional club should work, it doesn't say much for the rest of the league...
    Who says that Galway United is the role model of how a professional club should work? Thanks for associating us with such a notion anyway.

Maybe we should take a few pages out of the UCD book on how to run a club?

PS Do ye have a mascot?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

in fairness, the UCD fans always have something to complain about, lads ye lost, ye're still safe, it dosn't matter

i agree with the time wasting its been employed in the last 5 games at least - but as latcheko said - bad form not giving the ball back after lester was down...
    more water!

Figured as much...

Nothing to do with why we lost (never said otherwise); just, as the title says, very unprofessional from Galway.
    Would you care if you won? Seems like sour grapes.

1) If the players weren't upset then it didn't matter
    2) Looks like an honest mistake.
    3) Standard football practice.

55 Posts

what a sad bunch

blame the mascot, the fai, whatever. For anyone looking at what makes the league better you could do a lot worse than visit Terryland, Courteous stewards at the turnstiles, great crowd, decent half time entertainment, a good game, clean facilities and the best cpo in the country. Utd have quadrupled its crowd this season despite the rough football they must be doing something right

Now, on any other forum, that'd be trolling...

Seriously, debate the points if you want.
    There are no points. The mascot and an incorrect score? ffs, be glad your joke of a club has one more season in this division before you're sent back where you belong.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    There are no points. The mascot and an incorrect score? ffs, be glad your joke of a club has one more season in this division before you're sent back where you belong.
    I don't think UCD can be sent to the Leinster Senior League.

Then again, we were sent to the Premier without kicking a ball
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Nothing to discuss P Stu. A wrong scoreline can happen quite easily. Our mascots frequently kick around with the subs at half time. These kids are the future support of our club and their day out is one they'll never forget. As regards holding on to the ball, I'm nearly glad to see us do it as we were the victims of such tactics particularly against Dublin clubs over the years. Go ring Joe Duffy if you want to Pi** ad moan.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

3,489 Posts
    A reasonable answer! Fair dues.

I don't know where you jump from the mascot kicking about with our subs to the kids being the way for the future though?

Also never seen a team have to have the ball wrestled from them every time they concede a free even with half an hour to go in a meaningless game. If you're winning and need to win and there's ten minutes to go, then no problems obviously. Just seemed puerile in the circumstances.

1 Drogheda United 33 19 11 3 48 / 24 68
    2 St Patrick's Athletic 33 18 7 8 54 / 29 61
    3 Bohemians 33 16 10 7 35 / 17 58
    4 Cork City 33 15 10 8 44 / 32 55
    5 Shamrock Rovers 33 14 9 10 36 / 26 51
    6 Sligo Rovers 33 12 5 16 34 / 45 41
    7 Derry City 33 8 13 12 29 / 30 37
    8 Galway United 33 7 14 12 28 / 35 35
    9 Bray Wanderers 33 8 10 15 30 / 48 34
    10 UCD 33 7 10 16 31 / 44 31
    11 Waterford United 33 7 9 17 23 / 47 30
    12 Longford Town* 33 9 8 16 33 / 48 29

*six points deducted

Stu is also questioning our official attendance in the EL Section.
    A UCD fan harping on about big crowds......the irony is incredible.
    As expected Jebus has hopped in....fans of small Clubs forming a united front.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

A reasonable answer! Fair dues.

I don't know where you jump from the mascot kicking about with our subs to the kids being the way for the future though?
    What I mean there is that the kids should be looked after as they are going to be the lifeblood of the club in the future so its good to give them a good day out including kicking ball with the subs. I can see how a UCD wouldn't understand this given their support base/profile.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

3,489 Posts
    Glad to see it's made your season finishing ahead of us. Not really the biggest of ambitions, but whatever makes you happy!