Thread: Fair Play

715 Posts

Fair Play

But many that are first shall be last; and the last first.

Premier Division Fair Play table 2007:

1. Drogheda United - 1035 (€4500)
    2. Derry City, St Patrick’s Ath - 1034 (€1000 each)
    4. Longford Town - 1032
    5. Cork City - 1022
    6. Galway United - 998
    7. Shamrock Rovers - 995
    8. Bohemians - 989
    9. Bray Wanderers - 973
    10. Waterford United - 948
    11. Sligo Rovers - 941
    12. UCD - 898

Who won the Hardcore title again? McFaul or Crowley?

We were dead last in Fair play table? That just puts a tin hat on a disastrous season. We used to own that trophy !

3,215 Posts
    The Fair Play only really matters if we win. Other than that, it's a silly tournament which really shouldn't get you into Europe.

That said, last is a bit of a surprise. Only two reds all year - Crowley and Mahon - although the 17,000,000,000 yellows for McFaul (Hardcore Champion) wouldn't have helped. We were fined less than any other club.

Can't help but wonder if successfully appealing our various FAI fines did us a bit of harm here!

The Fair Play only really matters if we win. Other than that, it's a silly tournament which really shouldn't get you into Europe.
    That's true of all competitions tbh.

3,215 Posts
    More so the Fair Play though. It's not really a competition - just a table which gets announced at the end of the year and everyone goes "Oh", and forgets about it again. Unless they won. Which we didn't. What were we talknig about again?

Not really a turnament is it?

Glad we won a grand out of it. You can be guarenteed tht Cobh are over the moon with the extra €4,500. Can't see the harm in at least trying to encourage fair play

Well we were bottom of the fines levied table so you gain on the roundabouts and you lose on the swings.

3,215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Not really a turnament is it?

Glad we won a grand out of it. You can be guarenteed tht Cobh are over the moon with the extra €4,500. Can't see the harm in at least trying to encourage fair play
    Bear in mind we've won it the last three years, so I think I know the money's appreciated!

I was using dismissive sarcasm. For a similar emotion, discuss your feelings on the FAI Cup...

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Disappointing that we have fallen so much as it is an indicator of suspensions, which means losing players at vital times. The money had been handy the last few years too, as was the faint hope of getting into Europe. The most surprising thing, however, is how far we have fallen- the biggest gap between teams directly behind one another is 11-12 (nevermind 1-12).

It's not just about red and yellow cards, it includes some very funny things like the sportingness of supporters' chants.

Oh dear lads rap on the knuckles time for the non-sporting chanting