Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Lawrenson's "we" again

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    I wouldn't get my knickers in a twist over it. He was just another English man overlooked by England, realised he had Irish blood in him and him being a fickle English footballer, jumped at the chance to improve his profile as an footballer and increase his bank balance. He is certainly not a proud Irishman.

Just another footballer out to pump up his bank balance. We've had them for years playing in green and only a few struck me as proud of their Irishness. Do it on the field and I'll not be bothered.
    Who did Terry Wogan play for.......?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    I wouldn't get my knickers in a twist over it. He was just another English man overlooked by England, realised he had Irish blood in him and him being a fickle English footballer, jumped at the chance to improve his profile as an footballer and increase his bank balance. He is certainly not a proud Irishman.

Just another footballer out to pump up his bank balance. We've had them for years playing in green and only a few struck me as proud of their Irishness. Do it on the field and I'll not be bothered.
    Did he or any of the other Wild Geese ever refuse to don a green jersey when asked unlike some of our native born players? No! I thank God for Lawro and his goal against Scotland, Ray Houghton, Aldo, etc etc. Without them we'd still be waiting to qualify for a tournament.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by London-Irish View Post
    Erm, no chip on my shoulder at all. Do you condone the fact that we are still called "Thick Paddys" and have to listen to very unfunny "Irish Jokes" at our expense on a daily basis?
    I lived in England for almost a decade and never encountered the "thick paddys" attitude you say still exisits.
    Maybe its just a London thing ?
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Did he or any of the other Wild Geese ever refuse to don a green jersey when asked unlike some of our native born players? No! I thank God for Lawro and his goal against Scotland, Ray Houghton, Aldo, etc etc. Without them we'd still be waiting to qualify for a tournament.
    Owls fan

Out with it you mean certain '' Cork born'' Irish internationals don't you?

794 Posts
    I might but without the Cork born players we wouldn't have qualified either for a tournament or two. Speaking of which, what's Dinny up to these days? Is he in football or what?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    I lived in England for almost a decade and never encountered the "thick paddys" attitude you say still exisits.
    Maybe its just a London thing ?
    I must hear it at least once a week.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I must hear it at least once a week.
    I'm genuinely astonished to hear that.
    Not once, in 8 1/2 years, did I get that.

......unless maybe you are actually thick

sorry man, couldn't help myself, only kidding of course
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    I'm genuinely astonished to hear that.
    Not once, in 8 1/2 years, did I get that.

......unless maybe you are actually thick

sorry man, couldn't help myself, only kidding of course
    maybe his name is paddy

As Shakermaker confirms, the 'Thick Paddy' comments and racist jokes about the Irish are rife in the UK. I am astonished that none of you lads realise this

214 Posts
    you cheeky feckers I don't think it's aimed directly at me!!!! Haha. You'll get the odd comment in an office at least once a week before they remember who is actually in the office with them. Apologetic afterwards of course but unfortunately it's seen as a 'joke' and no harm was intended etc etc. Now it's not everybody don't get me wrong - there are a lot of sound people in England but this attitude towards Irish people has not been eradicated. It has lessened because new immigrants coming into the UK are now the targets. Reminds me of the time I was on a transport modelling course up in Leeds a couple of years back - 3 day event so you had to stay over and what not. On the second night a few of us went out on the lash (good few from Ireland had flew over for it so we thought we'd have a few jars). This quiet guy from Luton who hadn't said a word for the past two days followed us and tagged along - as he started to try and drink at our pace he got more and more drunk which in turn meant he started to tell us about his love for the BNP and Adolf Hitler and for some reason he had his ruck sack with him and started showing us his Daily Mail cuttings about immigrant nightmare stories.........now it's an extreme case but he had the cheek to say to 3 of us that night "I used to hate you paddies but thinking about it your not so bad - at least your the same colour as me". He was anti black/asian/jew and the venom that was coming out of him was sickening. The rest of us were trying to reason with him and it got heated but this guy was a complete and utter racist. Some of the stuff he was spouting I wouldn't dare repeat here. Big on conspiracies as well from what I remember i.e. JFK was assassinated by jews. Crazy stuff. Anyway he never made it in on that final day for the course and a good job too. But it's good to know that a Luton resident doesn't mind us anymore - he just wants those insert <non white country> to f*** off out of ING GER LAND.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Lived in Landin for 8 years.

Didnt hear alot of it but when I did hear it I verbally attacked the culprit.

Was called a Paddy by an Indian workmate so I said "Fcuk off Paki". He never said it again.

I was actually very friendly with the fella and he actually apologised. I pointed out that we too were a minority and HE was being racist.

I got jumped with a mate of mine on the train to reading when I was 17 by what I reckon were two BNP boys. I only got a knock, but my mate, wearing a Celtic jersey, got a right hiding. That's the only bigotry I've ever encountered over there though

Regarding Mark Lawrenson, it's only a word, and only he knows the emotional content of it. Who cares? I call Dublin, Ireland, and York "home" depending on the circumstances. There are not enough hours in the day to worry about the nuances of every single syllable one utters!
    I'm presuming the term "thick Paddy" is based on an assumption of a lack of intelligence. I have never encountered it, or come close to anything even remotely related to people talking down to me, and there is absolutely no mistaking where I come from. I find it amazing that some folk are still hung up on this.
    What Irishperson is going to develop a negative self-image based upon the rants of a BNP member???
    Last edited by Eoingull; 30/11/2007 at 12:36 AM.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I got jumped with a mate of mine on the train to reading when I was 17 by what I reckon were two BNP boys. I only got a knock, but my mate, wearing a Celtic jersey, got a right hiding. That's the only bigotry I've ever encountered over there though
    If you'd be wearing your Sheffield Wednesday jersey, they'd probably have made you a cup of tea out of sympathy

now it's an extreme case but he had the cheek to say to 3 of us that night "I used to hate you paddies but thinking about it your not so bad - at least your the same colour as me".
    haha, reminds me of a mate who was a season ticket holder at spurs, along with another english fella and and Irish lad from Donegal. Anyhow they got to know the guy beside them who was also a season ticket holder, who was big into the same sh1te as above. Was really anti-irish and always shouting crap at players and abuse at certain players etc. Anyhow a couple of years ago, he turned round and said nearly the exact same thing to the Irish guy. they have turned their attentions to bleks and pakistanis etc.....

Was called a Paddy by an Indian workmate so I said "Fcuk off Paki". He never said it again.
    Ah but sure that cant happen like, jews, bleks, asians etc, they cant be racists, they are in the minority like

That gets me almost as much as the other end of the stick.....

Reminds me of when i was in chicago a couple of months ago, we randomly ended up getting this same taxi driver on a couple of different nights, in areas about 6 or 7 miles from eachother. Anyhow he was a blek from tanzania and he went on a tirade of how "i fcuken hate n*****s", i didnt know whether to laugh or argue, but because he was saying it he thought it wasn't racist he then nearly ran over a blek fella and goes "that guy needs to get a lightbulb on his head"
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 30/11/2007 at 9:24 AM.

I am glad that other Irish guys based in the Uk have been able to back up my views on anti-Irish racism.

spent roughly 2 years in Luton, 3 years in London, 3 years in Manchester and 2 years in Liverpool --89-99 encountered very little anti irish sentiment and the very odd occasion when it did arrise usually ended with 'i will get out of your country when you get out of mine'

The generation before certainly had it worse, i found the North definetly more friendlier than the South but on the whole i found the English very tolerable - more tolerable than the Irish are now. Londoners are ignorent to everybody including other Londoners

In construction (where i worked) there were several Irish managers/enginners as we were certainly better qualified than the previous generation

RTE documentry on a few years ago about the elderly Irish usually labourers now living in english cities with damn all to their name due to various circumstances eg alcohol, divorce, fell on hard times -they sent a fortune back home in their day, Irish governement does send over some money but the figure mentioned was pretty poor given the supposed prosperity of the country now

Did you hear Lawro accusing Marcel Desailly of saying 'we' on Football Focus this morning.

They all read Foot.ie I tell ya.

My cousin used to study at Cambridge. He once met one of those BNP/National Front types and , this guy was giving out about all the bloody foreigners coming to England and taking the jobs etc usual guff.
    My cousin's reply was priceless.'' I agree ! I think the Saxons should naff off back to Germany where they came from !"

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    My cousin used to study at Cambridge. He once met one of those BNP/National Front types and , this guy was giving out about all the bloody foreigners coming to England and taking the jobs etc usual guff.
    My cousin's reply was priceless.'' I agree ! I think the Saxons should naff off back to Germany where they came from !"
    Like the Brits claim that they have never been conquered.

Apart from the Celts, Romans, Saxons, Vikings and Normans of course.

Not forgetting that their Royal family are Greco-German.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123