Terry Wogan is a knight. IIRC, he's lived in England since he was 15. How dare he claim allegiance to a county he's spent 40-odd years living in?
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
Most Irish people who have lived in the Uk a lot longer - plus their children who would never dream of claiming allegiance to the UK.
Different strokes for different folks , who really cares anyway.
Post-colonial hangover/chip on shoulder.
If an English or French person living in Ireland for years who had adopted the country as their own, said 'we' when talking about Ireland, then you's wouldn't blink an eyelid. Let alone one who's been working in that country's media for decades.
Storm in a tea (english breakfast of course) cup. Although have lived in London for 20 years doubt I would ever say "we" but if they do while commentating for the British media so be it.
Erm, no chip on my shoulder at all. Do you condone the fact that we are still called "Thick Paddys" and have to listen to very unfunny "Irish Jokes" at our expense on a daily basis?
Extratime.ie
Steve, I think you just like to talk like this for a bit of craic.
Terry Wogan is proud of his woots.
Lawrenson is just a dope.
LI, frank and a few others wouldn't have encountered the same thing that you have encountered or met the people who have been here and still speak with a blacksod accent after 65 years in "init bruv, nooorrrfff Londaaaan". I dont really understand it, nothing to do with chip on shoulder stuff, I actually think its quite funny, always, to me like the need to fit in, one of them, sheep mentality to be honest. Weak characters.![]()
Lads, it doesnt matter a wholly if he was on French TV or St Kitts TV, ye still dont say WE if you dont consider yerself that nationality. Some people are awful weak minded.
However, he ovbiously considers himself English and so be it. When did he play for Ireland, I dont remember a player by that name...
Thought hansen was funny last night, when lineker tried to include him in the" ye jumped up and down when bent had that shot"
DaveyCakes, the Irish Post has a decent sized readership weekly in the UK.
I actually have a lot of family in London, Acton in particular, and while the parents, now in their 70's would still consider themselves Irish despite having lived there since the early 60's, their children and grandchildren consider themselves English. I have no problem with that at all.
Extratime.ie
I wouldn't get my knickers in a twist over it. He was just another English man overlooked by England, realised he had Irish blood in him and him being a fickle English footballer, jumped at the chance to improve his profile as an footballer and increase his bank balance. He is certainly not a proud Irishman.
Just another footballer out to pump up his bank balance. We've had them for years playing in green and only a few struck me as proud of their Irishness. Do it on the field and I'll not be bothered.
Last edited by Torn-Ado; 22/11/2007 at 3:37 PM. Reason: not finished
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
He was on the Last Word yesterday evening talking as an Irishman. Mind you, both he and Cas were signing El Tel's praises![]()
Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.
Terry Wogan was once on '' Blankety Blank'' when someone on the panel told a daft Irish joke and followed it up by saying'' Irish jokes are so stupid''. Terry's retort'' We have to keep them simple so the English can understand them!''![]()