240 87.91%
Page 39 of 47 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast

Thread: Terry Venables

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    If TV gets the job, id put money on him quiting within a month of the 2nd Italian qualifier, with a nice multi million pay off off our euros.
    If he quits, he gets nothing. He'll only get a pay off if the FAI sack him before his contract ends.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    I tought the exact same think when Jack got the job, and was disgusted with his first game v Wales at the RDS, the rest's history, (never stopped supporting the team) however i'm not expecting history to repeat itself.

If TV gets the job, id put money on him quiting within a month of the 2nd Italian qualifier, with a nice multi million pay off off our euros.
    Were you sitting beside me at that match I remember a bit of a grumpy git giving out about Charlton after only one game. Its onl now that I am older why somebody woudl be so bitter from the start of a managers reign.

Although if Venables does get it I will try to look at the good side of it.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    If he quits, he gets nothing. He'll only get a pay off if the FAI sack him before his contract ends.
    Word is he demands a contract that see's him paid off whether he walks away or is sacked.

In other words he picks up the full contract value regardless
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Word is he demands a contract that see's him paid off whether he walks away or is sacked.

If he gets his contract and becomes manager who else was in running for the job (Brady, Hoddle?) or was Venables as seems now in a competition of one?

Quote Originally Posted by hamburg paul View Post
    You dont seriously think that either of these would leave their respective teams to join a shambles like ours ?Personally if that piano player and jellied eel eating C..t gets the job i am going to find it hard to go to a game again ,for the love of jasus please do not appoint Venables.
    Leo Beenhaker is getting 250,000 euros year to manage Poland and according to Januarys World Soccer magazine Croatia are paying Slavin Bilic 47,000 pounds a year. Rumour has it we could be paying a manager up to a million euros a year. Surely it would not take much persuading to get guys like this to manage us.

If the FAI give him that sort of contract that should be shot. I cannot believe that even the FAI woudl give him a contract that allows him to walk away and get the full payment of the contract.
    In Trap we trust

Great, so the person who 9 of 10 supporters if the poll is anything to go by dont want anywhere near the job is now dictating the terms.

The FAI should grow some balls and tell him to go **** himself.

I am now inclined to wait till after the Euro's and see who fancies a challenge/E1 million for 5-6 games a year.

A ouja board and Brian Clough anyone ?

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    If the FAI give him that sort of contract that should be shot. I cannot believe that even the FAI woudl give him a contract that allows him to walk away and get the full payment of the contract.
    In theory he could up sticks after the Brazil game and be in charge of Bulgaria by the time we play them with a cool 2 mil in his back pocket.

Quote Originally Posted by viagogo View Post
    Rumour has it we could be paying a manager up to a million euros a year.
    It's not rumour any more. Delaney confirmed in an interview on RTE that they're willing to pay the new manager a 7 figure sum. So it's at least a million. They'd probably go up to about a million and a half.

1,928 Posts
    Sounds like a Wind Up, again.
    I know its Venables but at least keep the rumours somewhere around believable.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Were you sitting beside me at that match I remember a bit of a grumpy git giving out about Charlton after only one game. Its onl now that I am older why somebody woudl be so bitter from the start of a managers reign.

Although if Venables does get it I will try to look at the good side of it.

not guilty, i was on the lansdowne terrace, right behind the goal about half way up on my usual spot, only graduated to the stands when the block booking came in

20 Posts
    Soccer Writers Awards, eh? Sounds to me like maybe some people had a bit too much of the complimentary wine - I mean isn't it a somewhat odd environment for this "news" to break? At least that's what I'm telling myself.

214 Posts
    I cannot say I'm surprised. Disappointed if true, I think our 3 amigos lacked imagination and just went through the usual 'has been' list and crossed them out one by one until El Tel was last man standing.

If he is offered a contract then nothing over a 2 and a half years.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Sounds like a Wind Up, again.
    I know its Venables but at least keep the rumours somewhere around believable.
    with tvs track record regarding business anything is believable, he'll probably want to be paid a bonus on top of his contract if he is sacked remember this is EL TEL we are talking about

1,928 Posts
    I dont see it cut and dried yet.
    I hope the selection panel have a plan B.
    Rednapp a sure thing at 1/10 to take the Newcastle job didn´t agree terms.
    We need straws.

214 Posts
    I dont see it cut and dried yet.
    I hope the selection panel have a plan B.
    Rednapp a sure thing at 1/10 to take the Newcastle job didn´t agree terms.
    We need straws.
    or a hitman! Only joking - in case the police are reading!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

geysir, usually soccerc has sources before he posts anything and generally they are true. IF that is the case then he shouldbe told go and sh1te. taking the Irish for eejits, unfortunately those in charge are....

If venables is getting it, then what money have they wasted in the "process" when everyones original prediction was that venables would get it, what was the point of the "process" other than to waste money. I am so frustrated. handing out 440 euro for my tickets for 2 games every few months is seriouslly begining to **** me off when I think of who gets the money. its seriouslly frustrating and upsetting. For a start venables is past it and no where near worth 1 million euro, but go on take us Irish for a ride once more.

1,928 Posts
    Who can forget the memorable Hacketts story

RTE radio 1 sport this afternoon had announced that they were going to have a chat with 2 who were at the soccer awards. O´Donaghoe and some scribe about the FAI panel recommendation leak.
    I have to go out can anybody listen out for it, has to happen before the close of the sporting day on RTE radio.

161 Posts

RTE radio 1 sport this afternoon had announced that they were going to have a chat with 2 who were at the soccer awards. O´Donaghoe and some scribe about the FAI panel recommendation leak.
    I have to go out can anybody listen out for it, has to happen before the close of the sporting day on RTE radio.
    The Journo was Paul Lennon from the Irish Mirror. He said that Venables was interviewed just before Christmas and interviewed very well. Knew all the details of the Irish players and mentioned some players he intended to "recruit". One or two more candidates (I got the impression usual suspects)are still to be interviewed next week and then that is it. According to Lennon The likelyhood is that Venables is will be appointed at the FAI meeting of Jan 22.
    O'Donaghue went off on a tangent about Houllier saying what a good candidate he would be. Both O'D and Lennon agreed that the FAI are still interested in Houllier but he has shown no interest in going through the interview process to date and is instead seeking to get back into the Premiership. Lennon finished by saying there is still the possibility of a candidate coming out of nowhere but he must be willing to go through the interview process. Nobody is going to be offered the job without being interviewed by the 3 lads. My own take on this is Venables has the job unless the likes of O'Leary or Daglish are willing to go through the 3-man process and even then Venables is probably still favourite.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 12/01/2008 at 6:30 PM.

I suggest you go back and read it again!

Where do you think I got the story?

I too was at the awards along with my six guests and strangely, everyone was being told different versions of dfferent rumours so at the end of the night you could have written a new fai rytale.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Page 39 of 47 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast