Page 2 of 47 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Terry Venables

1,928 Posts
    RTE news at 1, one of the headlines,
    "Will England's difficulties become Ireland's opportunity"?

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Giles has championed Venables as a good manager for years. Remember reading many articles he wrote in the Express about Venables. Are some on here suggesting that T.O'Reilly is pushing Johnny to pick Venables? Come on FFS. Anyway I don't believe Venables will get the green light from Delaney or the FAI (have that on good authorithy).
    maybe i am alone but some of what giles says is nonsense. i am sure i wouldnt qualify for the FAIs management consultancy panel but even i know that venebles would be a complete and absolute disaster for us

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    RTE news at 1, one of the headlines,
    "Will England's difficulties become Ireland's opportunity"?
    Somebody hack in to RTE and change it. Whoever edits their football contribution is an idiot. England first, Ireland second is their apparent motto.

I would feel betrayed if Venables is given the job. He stands for everything I hate in the game and for him to be in charge of the team I love would drive me to despair.

Neil McD & co have done a good job on me - Hodgson by a country mile over Venables.

Quote Originally Posted by Theskinloyal View Post
    Sacked along with McClaren...really hope he doesn't get the Ireland job. He's a free agent, I'd say that'll tempt the FAI
    Tel the saviour of Irish football? He's yesterdays man - and that's being kind.

I'd have major reservations in appointing someone who was even remotely linked with that England set up.

When he was England Manager in the 90's, I always thought he concerned himself far too much with "Christmas Tree" formations etc etc.

Our lot need a simple and established approach as previous attempts at alternative formations have been a disaster.

He'd be great at the Karaoke though.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

130 Posts
    Correct e mail address for hyland is phyland@independent.ie.

Other journalists seem to have the same address template, a few hundred anti Venables e mails would be a start!

2,796 Posts
    Hmmm.

Hyland's mailbox is full and the same format doesn't work for Fanning.

What's Sadlier's e-mail? He uses a hotmail account.

dionfanning@gmail.com

You'd usually get a reply from him too.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Hmmm.

Hyland's mailbox is full and the same format doesn't work for Fanning.

What's Sadlier's e-mail? He uses a hotmail account.
    Start mailing the GAA heads and ask them to pass a message on to Hyland! That'll really **** them off anyway!

froche@independendent.ie is one isn't he!

Think Newstalk aren't too happy with Venables being linked, few mails to Off the Ball might get a mention...

2,796 Posts
    Let's see.

Stuttgart if I could persuade you that Venables is the man for the job I would have some talent !!!!

But like you I dont want him to get the job.
    In Trap we trust

lads can we create a list of all the emails at the start of the thread or something or as a sticky on each page of this thread so that anyone who looks can email and advise against this?

BTW, i really didnt want to enter this thread or reply incase "the peoples" are watching and see the amount of views/replies and think its an indicator of how much people rate hIM!!!!! But they dont know how foot.ie goes completely off topic - not so much in this case!

We need Venables like we need a hole in the head! The guy is an over-rated out dated bling plated tool! As a Leeds fan I have no time for him and as manager of Ireland! Doesn't bear thinking about. Even a shower of useless tossers like the FAI couldn't, wouldn't be stoopid enough to appoint a '****'e'ney dell-boy spiv' like Venables. Would they?

The FAI surely have to realise that they simply CANNOT get the wrong man for the job this time otherwise they'd be in a very dangerous position if the next campaign goes badly. If they try to find out the fan's opinions on whether Venables should get the job (not sure how they would go about doing this) then they'd realise that there would be outrage if he was appointed.

If however they choose someone who is perceived to be the right guy and it goes badly then they won't nearly be as culpable. Besides, if they're not good enough for England, why would they be good enough for us? Hopefully this thought dawns on the FAI and some of the people advocating appointing him.
    Last edited by jmurphyc; 22/11/2007 at 2:26 PM. Reason: wrong word

284 Posts
    Whilst I have been a bit of a fan of El Tel since his time at Spurs, he is such a complex and contradictory character that I really can't make up my mind whether he would make a good ROI manager or not - I suspect he might, but then again....?

One thing I would point out, however, is that for all his other faults, which have caused him to fall out with loads of people, I don't recall any of his former players - even the ones he dropped or transferred etc - ever questioning his abilities as a coach and tactician.

In fact, to a man they praise him for this, which (imo) is quite remarkable, especially since he has coached players at just about every level, in more than one country.

as a coach though EG......

Btw hard luck, even though it didnt come down to yesterdays game in the end!

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Whilst I have been a bit of a fan of El Tel since his time at Spurs, he is such a complex and contradictory character that I really can't make up my mind whether he would make a good ROI manager or not - I suspect he might, but then again....?

One thing I would point out, however, is that for all his other faults, which have caused him to fall out with loads of people, I don't recall any of his former players - even the ones he dropped or transferred etc - ever questioning his abilities as a coach and tactician.

In fact, to a man they praise him for this, which (imo) is quite remarkable, especially since he has coached players at just about every level, in more than one country.
    You can include Dunne, Harte and Hunt in that list who have gone public in their admiration of Venables as a coach. The "majority" wanted Kerr as manager. Including the scenes of hooping and hollering from journos when Kerr was appointed.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 22/11/2007 at 2:24 PM.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    lads can we create a list of all the emails at the start of the thread or something or as a sticky on each page of this thread so that anyone who looks can email and advise against this?

BTW, i really didnt want to enter this thread or reply incase "the peoples" are watching and see the amount of views/replies and think its an indicator of how much people rate hIM!!!!! But they dont know how foot.ie goes completely off topic - not so much in this case!
    Have added Fanning's e mail and the Find Another Idiot contact e mail to my original post, need to get the thread starter or admin to add them to the original post or as a sticky.

I agree with jmurphyc, public opinion should be made known in this case and I don't know any fans who think Hell Tell would be a decent appointment.

EG, would you take him if Worthington leaves? The man is a spoofer, look at his record, his reputation is built by the media. 8 wins out of what 25 at Boro with a team that had cost millions upon millions and that was considered a roaring success. Madness. Footballers aren't the brightest or the most honest either, how often to they ever badmouth a manager after he's sacked? They just trot out the same platitudes time after time. Players may have enjoyed playing under Venables but fook all of them actually won anything.

For a change we have a decent list of managers that most of us would be quite happy to get ie Jewell, Houllier, Jol and Hodgson. Why in gods name this hasbeens name is coming up I dont know. Hardly anyone in Ireland would want him because we know all about him. The thing is I know he would be exactly the kind of guy Delaney would love. he would be a complete yes man and he looks every bit as smarmy as Delaney. We have a chance to get this appointment right for a change but by appointing this muppet the FAI will just show themselves to be the ridiculous organization we all think they are. NOBODY WANTS VENABLES, its as simple as that. Personally i will burn every irish shirt and completly give up on the Ireland team if he is hired. I am incredibly proud to be Irish and have followed the team through thick and thin but there is only so much a person can take. Hiring venables would be the straw that breaks this camels back

i was saying this last night when the majority of everyonoe here were cheering croatia.
    we're ****ed now
    el tel and robbie keane at the karaoke

also his teams ship goals, all he cares about are offensive tactics.

and he he belongs to the 'good old little ireland arent they doing well' school. he'll view this job as a jolly

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Btw hard luck, even though it didnt come down to yesterdays game in the end!
    Cheers. In truth, even had Latvia somehow pulled off an unlikely win, we were never in with a shout against a Spanish team which, in its last 82 qualifying matches (WC and Euros, home and away), has lost just 5 times! (Or 4 in 81, if you exclude NI's previous game against them)

But despite being totally outplayed for the entire match and failing to create a decent goalscoring chance ourselves, I'm still very encouraged that what is still a young NI team was experienced and resolute enough not to crumble and let in a bagful, as would have happened in the past.

In fact, other than three well-worked chances close in (all missed), the Spaniards were mostly reduced to shooting from outside the box, none of which troubled Taylor, until a cruel deflection led to the only goal.

Page 2 of 47 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast