Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Don Givens "fell out with" XI

161 Posts

Don Givens "fell out with" XI

Connolly, Ireland, McCann, Garvan and a few others. Must be close to a starting eleven at this stage!

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Connolly, Ireland, McCann, Garvan and a few others. Must be close to a starting eleven at this stage!
    McCann got the hump because he wasn't in the starting 11.

How many times has he turned up for green shirt over the past six years when selected in the squads?
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

What happened St Ledger or did he fall out with himself?

Connolly captains the side as he fell out at senior level.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    How many times has he turned up for green shirt over the past six years when selected in the squads?
    And the answer is?

It always struck me as odd that he rarely played at any underage level, but I assumed he wasn't in the squads either.

Anthony Stokes of course is another.

Stokes failed to turn up, in time for the bus, for a Sunderland away match. Therefore he has a track record. With respect it cannot always be the manager's fault in these situations. Givens is supposed to be a disciplinarian. Most people under 25 don't know the meaning of the word! Givens and his Under 21 management team got a better performance out of the seniors at the Wales game, than Steve Staunton and his team were able to manage in the previous four performances. However some age old problems remained. Inability to retain a lead, inability to concentrate for 90 minutes and inability to judge where to pull kick and hack your opponent. Paul do it on half way lad ok?
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 21/11/2007 at 8:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Givens said it as it is with S.Ireland. if he picks up the phone and says he's available then he is back in.

S.Ireland is fine and dandy to play for Man City but has decided, for whatever reason, that he won't play for his country. he can p1ss off and grow up as far as i am concerned!!

S.Ireland has made his bed and all Givens has said is he can sleep in it untill he decides he wants to come back. Definately not Givens fault. As for McCann he sounds like a t0sser who doesn't want to play for his country so we are better off without people like this imo.

The sooner that these so-called pro's realise what an honour it is to play for their country the better. management cannot keep pandering to them. a line has to be drawn in the sand.

2,796 Posts
    I don't think it was Given that Garvan fell out with either in fairness to him.

Anyway, despite the U21s' atrocious competitive record I can't really complain with Givens' public utterings about the attitudes of our players and the likes of Carr retiring.

how/why did he fall out with connolly???

all i can think of was when he wasn't selected for the original squad for the greece friendly, when called up after withdrawals connolly replied that not alone should he not be 4th choice he should be first choice irish striker!!!!! then he refused to travel!!!

stokes never turned up for the team going away to a match and there was no contact made with Givens. he rang the player who was back in dublin at his family home. fair enough RK has said subsequently that it was his/sunderlands fault. Givens accepted that and he was straight back in.

givens managment record with ireland is terrible, but i personally think he has been right more than wrong in these so-called 'fall-outs'. as was said above these 'pro's' feel they can do what they want when they want. they need to have discipline, not morons fawning over them and accepting non-commitment and no-shows as par for the course!!

Some players are prima donnas. Others have highly inflated opinions of themselves and their abilities, which despite numerous proofs put before them, that they do not match up, they remain unconvinced. I wish at times I was that self-delusional . I could have ruled the world

50 Posts
    Keith Foy, theres another.

Can’t remember the details but again straight to the press with that one as Givens always does.
    Not saying Foy was ever a saint but you keep problems like that behind closed doors.

With his symbolic results record and inability to properly discipline players all I can say is

Don Givens, OUT OUT OUT!

Quote Originally Posted by pateen View Post
    With his symbolic results record and inability to properly discipline players
    i think the whole point of this thread is that he is not afraid to displine players.

agree on the results though totally SYMBOLIC

60 Posts
    Richie Foran, hardly surprisingly fell out with Givens. Broke a curfew or something.

The problem I have with Givens, other than his results, is the fact all these incidents seem to make their way into the papers. This may not be his fault, but it does seem to me that he runs to the press after each incident.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Sometimes public embarrassment is the only way to put manners on these young pups. Besides there are so many leaks at every level of society in Ireland, Don is the one putting the story out, rather than having to indulge in damage control exercises later on when a story with a different slant is leaked to the media.

Look at what happened when the seniors tried to spin a line to protect Stephen Ireland when he lied repeatedly about his circumstances. If he had come clean initially they could have put up an agreed line. At the end of the day Ireland's antics made Staunton , Delaney and the FAI PR department look like fools. Which to be fair on that occasion wasn't totally their fault, FOR ONCE. And a highly paid professional player cost the FAI 70,000 which was the cost of hiring the plane to get him home for his granny's non-existant funerals. Stephen Ireland should repay the FAI in full before he ever dons a green shirt again.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 21/11/2007 at 9:21 AM.

Have never been the greatest fan of Givens' management but in fairness to him he seems like a straight up kinda guy with no apparant agenda other than managing his country.
    Sounds like there was a hint of the prima-donna's about McCann which, if true, is utterly ridiculous...just because he plays first-team football for the mighty Burnley doesn't mean he has the divine right to start for his country even though some of us (including me ) think that he should...

McCann deserves a kick in the arse for his behaviour and maybe letting the media know about it is the way to do it...Fair play to ya Don!

Givens for Ireland!!!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Can't be just coincidence that so many player's have a problem with Givens. Must be something about his management style. I have major problems with his attitude to the progression of home based players, but ultimately, there's no reason to bring in untangibles - his record speaks for itself...

do ye think keane set the ball rolling, all these lads looking up to him when growing up and then they take the same attitude. I'd put Stuts house ( its worth a lot more than mine and thats how confidend I am ) on it to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    do ye think keane set the ball rolling, all these lads looking up to him when growing up and then they take the same attitude.
    Well he has been doing the sulky boy act the last few years, not liking Kerr because he made them work too hard, not liking the fans because they wanted them to win etc - bound to filter through the underage teams when they see a senior player get away with it.

Whatever the situation about Givens it is pretty clear that some of our bright young things do not feel it is a major honour to represent your country and I hate it.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Well he has been doing the sulky boy act the last few years, not liking Kerr because he made them work too hard, not liking the fans because they wanted them to win etc - bound to filter through the underage teams when they see a senior player get away with it.
    Methinks paul_oshea may have been referring to a different Keane!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast