Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Playoff game live

Well done Harps! Hard luck Waterford, looking forward to playing you next season.

Don't forget Hedderman, a walking disaster on that pitch tonight. Harps ran rings around him.
    dont even remind me of robbie hedderLESS, thank god he's leaving at the end of the season!!
    fair play harps tho, took their chances!
    I知 not pedantic...I知 merely overly concerned with minute details.

238 Posts
    We played some good football tonight, but in fairness, Waterford were poor.
    Gethins destroyed their defence, Sheilds and McGowan controlled midfield and the game could easily have been 5/6 nil. Gethins hit the post from a tight angle but, had he squared the ball to Mickey Funston it would have been a tap in to an open net. Parky put the ball over the bar from a yard away, much easier to score. Linesman gave 2 brutal offsides against Gethins and McGowan where both were through with one on ones with the keeper. Overall happy though, Higsy will have the lads focused for Fridays game and I'm sure we will be going into that game with the mentality that the game is still 0-0.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    We played some good football tonight, but in fairness, Waterford were poor.
    Gethins destroyed their defence, Sheilds and McGowan controlled midfield and the game could easily have been 5/6 nil. Gethins hit the post from a tight angle but, had he squared the ball to Mickey Funston it would have been a tap in to an open net. Parky put the ball over the bar from a yard away, much easier to score. Linesman gave 2 brutal offsides against Gethins and McGowan where both were through with one on ones with the keeper. Overall happy though, Higsy will have the lads focused for Fridays game and I'm sure we will be going into that game with the mentality that the game is still 0-0.
    thats probly how our squad will be thinking too............

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by R駟teoir View Post
    Waterford player sent for a headbutt

I predict some Waterford fans on here will blame the referee for sending the player off - as seems to be the fashion
    We only have a cut off the refs when they deserve it. Like pulling back play to give us a free kick on the edge of the box when Davy Mul had just to slot it into one of the corners at 1-0 down.
    We'll hold judgement on two, em, slightly borderline offside calls given against Harps.
    As regards predictions on the sending off, the smart money is on a lynching if Flynn ever shows his face in the RSC again.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    off to Fallujah, erm Limerick next March
    If that's your bag daddio!

Heard Cronins resignation wasn't accepted by Waterford. That he has to take charge Friday. Must really want to take over at Shels!
    Its stupid what he did its basically saying Waterford are out of it and havn't a chance of staying up. Mind Games? I personally believe that if Waterford score first in the RSC then its game on.
    Last edited by rambler14; 21/11/2007 at 8:35 AM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Well done Harps.

The Parkhouse strike has sealed it for ye and the consistent run of goals from Gethins and Parkhouse in addition to your 25th "league" win of the season, means ye've more than earned your promotion.

Congratulations and well done.

The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.

No more than our last on-field promotion, ye're last elevation was an unmitigated disaster (I think even Harps die hards will agree) so the challenge will be to compete and I'd say ye're up for it.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

1,550 Posts
    The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.
    *Dons Tin Hat*

82 Posts
    You have a very good manager, and I'm sure you are full of hope for next season but remember that, as always, you live in our shadow and we generally prove this at least once a season.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    You have a very good manager, and I'm sure you are full of hope for next season but remember that, as always, you live in our shadow and we generally prove this at least once a season.
    Once out of 4 next season? ..................Yeah sure, i'll live with that

What price were Harps for the win?
    Who Cares?!

115 Posts
    6/5 with Boyles earlier in the week, there was a bit of a gamble on them and they went off at 10/11.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    atm, cronin is still in charge, very unprofessional on the radio tho, stupid idea to talk to him directly after the match.
    Err - that's what always happens after a match that's covered live. The media always speak to the Managers........

The only person who can be blamed for what was said is Cronin.

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Stay off the drugs son.......

I didn't realise that Jim Roddy played such an important part in our first eleven...

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Stay off the drugs son.......

I didn't realise that Jim Roddy played such an important part in our first eleven...
    Failed a bit of a dope test yourself there IMO....

What I meant was that Jim Roddy was acknowledged as a benchmark of stability by all of Derry's opponents. When stability goes, you're inviting instability, no? Or is that a a drug induced form of logic?

In Waterford for our game on November 2nd, the word was the Jim Roddy & John Roberston were gone. One has since been confirmed.

Harps, unless they are total fools, will build on their admirable success this season and present more than a credible threat to DCFC who will be in "re-building" mode.

Maybe Derry will get Paul Jewell or Martin Jol in and a Chariman on a par with Roddy, but that is my Ladybird explanation for you Steve on why I see a possible shift in the balance of power up your way.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Failed a bit of a dope test yourself there IMO....

What I meant was that Jim Roddy was acknowledged as a benchmark of stability by all of Derry's opponents. When stability goes, you're inviting instability, no? Or is that a a drug induced form of logic?
    Firstly - when people leave you're not inviting anything. I guess it's true that the first thing drugs do is reduce one's ability to articulate....

Secondly - what's this "benchmark of stability" bullsh!t !?!? Opposition fans can't help leave the Brandywell saying, "That Paddy McCourt has a nice touch, but yer man Roddy - he's a real benchmark of stability...." . Especially the UCD fans - they're mad for praising him.

Roddy isn't even our Chairman for feck sake. Board members come and go, he's still involved with 'Brandywell Properties' and the new stadium. These things happen. Jim Roddy is not the lynchpin holding Derry City together.

In Waterford for our game on November 2nd, the word was the Jim Roddy & John Roberston were gone. One has since been confirmed.
    So the word on the mean streets of Waterford was only 50% right. Whoppee-do. Robertson was not gone of Nov 2nd.

Harps, unless they are total fools, will build on their admirable success this season and present more than a credible threat to DCFC who will be in "re-building" mode.
    I'm not sure where Harps will get the money to build on their admirable success ? We've had manys a false dawn in Ballybofey before, yet their record agaionst Derry City is probably the worst for any main derby opponents in senior football in Western Europe. Time will tell, but I for one will be sleeping soundly for the next 4 months...

Maybe Derry will get Paul Jewell or Martin Jol in and a Chariman on a par with Roddy, but that is my Ladybird explanation for you Steve on why I see a possible shift in the balance of power up your way.
    As I stated above, Roddy isn't our Chairman....

Ladybird indeed - is that the name of the 'E' you've just popped.....?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Err - that's what always happens after a match that's covered live. The media always speak to the Managers........

The only person who can be blamed for what was said is Cronin.
    at least he tells it like it is now,he used to try hide a bad performance, now he tells it straight. i for one,hope he's in charge next yr, somethin tells me he wont be!!

I refuse to get invovled in Harps/Derry banter until at least two months before our next meeting.

just listening to wlr fm. waterford are being hammered 6-2 on aggregate. cronin will surely walk out now... harps good travellin support not a good crowd of 1150.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast