Well done Harps! Hard luck Waterford, looking forward to playing you next season.
We played some good football tonight, but in fairness, Waterford were poor.
Gethins destroyed their defence, Sheilds and McGowan controlled midfield and the game could easily have been 5/6 nil. Gethins hit the post from a tight angle but, had he squared the ball to Mickey Funston it would have been a tap in to an open net. Parky put the ball over the bar from a yard away, much easier to score. Linesman gave 2 brutal offsides against Gethins and McGowan where both were through with one on ones with the keeper. Overall happy though, Higsy will have the lads focused for Fridays game and I'm sure we will be going into that game with the mentality that the game is still 0-0.
We only have a cut off the refs when they deserve it. Like pulling back play to give us a free kick on the edge of the box when Davy Mul had just to slot it into one of the corners at 1-0 down.
We'll hold judgement on two, em, slightly borderline offside calls given against Harps.
As regards predictions on the sending off, the smart money is on a lynching if Flynn ever shows his face in the RSC again.![]()
more bass
Heard Cronins resignation wasn't accepted by Waterford. That he has to take charge Friday. Must really want to take over at Shels!
Its stupid what he did its basically saying Waterford are out of it and havn't a chance of staying up. Mind Games? I personally believe that if Waterford score first in the RSC then its game on.
Last edited by rambler14; 21/11/2007 at 8:35 AM.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
Well done Harps.
The Parkhouse strike has sealed it for ye and the consistent run of goals from Gethins and Parkhouse in addition to your 25th "league" win of the season, means ye've more than earned your promotion.
Congratulations and well done.
The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.
No more than our last on-field promotion, ye're last elevation was an unmitigated disaster (I think even Harps die hards will agree) so the challenge will be to compete and I'd say ye're up for it.
Less Whining
Less Moaning
What are YOU doing to make it better?
*Dons Tin Hat*The balance of power in the North West is surely shifting now with Jim Roddy leaving Derry and Harps on a roll.
You have a very good manager, and I'm sure you are full of hope for next season but remember that, as always, you live in our shadow and we generally prove this at least once a season.
What price were Harps for the win?
Who Cares?!
6/5 with Boyles earlier in the week, there was a bit of a gamble on them and they went off at 10/11.
I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"
Failed a bit of a dope test yourself there IMO....
What I meant was that Jim Roddy was acknowledged as a benchmark of stability by all of Derry's opponents. When stability goes, you're inviting instability, no? Or is that a a drug induced form of logic?
In Waterford for our game on November 2nd, the word was the Jim Roddy & John Roberston were gone. One has since been confirmed.
Harps, unless they are total fools, will build on their admirable success this season and present more than a credible threat to DCFC who will be in "re-building" mode.
Maybe Derry will get Paul Jewell or Martin Jol in and a Chariman on a par with Roddy, but that is my Ladybird explanation for you Steve on why I see a possible shift in the balance of power up your way.
Less Whining
Less Moaning
What are YOU doing to make it better?
Firstly - when people leave you're not inviting anything. I guess it's true that the first thing drugs do is reduce one's ability to articulate....
Secondly - what's this "benchmark of stability" bullsh!t !?!? Opposition fans can't help leave the Brandywell saying, "That Paddy McCourt has a nice touch, but yer man Roddy - he's a real benchmark of stability....". Especially the UCD fans - they're mad for praising him.
Roddy isn't even our Chairman for feck sake. Board members come and go, he's still involved with 'Brandywell Properties' and the new stadium. These things happen. Jim Roddy is not the lynchpin holding Derry City together.
So the word on the mean streets of Waterford was only 50% right. Whoppee-do. Robertson was not gone of Nov 2nd.
I'm not sure where Harps will get the money to build on their admirable success ? We've had manys a false dawn in Ballybofey before, yet their record agaionst Derry City is probably the worst for any main derby opponents in senior football in Western Europe. Time will tell, but I for one will be sleeping soundly for the next 4 months...
As I stated above, Roddy isn't our Chairman....
Ladybird indeed - is that the name of the 'E' you've just popped.....?![]()
I refuse to get invovled in Harps/Derry banter until at least two months before our next meeting.![]()
just listening to wlr fm. waterford are being hammered 6-2 on aggregate. cronin will surely walk out now... harps good travellin support not a good crowd of 1150.