Thread: Freedom of Speech revoked by Gardai in Cardiff

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    No basis at all.

However, unless I have missed something over the last 2 days, I would have thought this story would have been exactly the type of thing the red tops would have majored on, as would Tony Donoghue of RTE.

If it did happen, it deserves full exposure as it would involved not just the FAI and the Gardai but also the FAW and/or the Millenium Stadium authorities and South Wales Police.
    I fully agree

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    No basis at all.

However, unless I have missed something over the last 2 days, I would have thought this story would have been exactly the type of thing the red tops would have majored on, as would Tony Donoghue of RTE.

If it did happen, it deserves full exposure as it would involved not just the FAI and the Gardai but also the FAW and/or the Millenium Stadium authorities and South Wales Police.
    Whatever about the police questioning (which can be very easily blown out of proportion), similar banners were removed from Croke Park and San Marino this campaign without barely a mention in the papers, so that part I have no problems believing. It's quite possible the person reacted a bit too aggressively to get his banner back.

Its one thing stewards removing banners but Gardai are another matter, exactly what law is being broken by displaying a banner?

3,489 Posts
    As I noted, it's possible yer man reacted over aggressively to the removal of the banner. Which could include refusing to leave the ground.

But surely thats a matter for the SW police and stewards? I guess we wont know either way as its hard to be sure exactly what happened

I know the person it happened to.
    He is reluctant to bring it much further for fear of reprecussions for future tickets etc.

There was no fuss at all when he was told to remove the banner, just that he had to collect it after the game.

A journo rang him yesterday but the story did not appear in the papers, he doesn't know why.
    Journo obvioulsy had to get comments from the FAI and the cops. Maybe it will run on another day

Whatever about the police questioning (which can be very easily blown out of proportion), similar banners were removed from Croke Park and San Marino this campaign without barely a mention in the papers, so that part I have no problems believing. It's quite possible the person reacted a bit too aggressively to get his banner back.
    I seem to remember there being a big 'Delaney Out' banner in San Marino that was on display for all the game, no one tried to remove it. The only banner anyone tried to remove in San Marino was the Chelsea Irish tricolour which some of our own fans tried to remove.

I also seem to remember there being a big half page spread about the Delaney Out banner in the Star the following day.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

3,489 Posts
    You remember wrong. It was removed by security (granted, they were far more lax and threw it back), and was only on display for a short while in the ground.

I think that one half page in one paper is about the only publicity any of the banners has gotten.

Are we living in an FAI run Police State?

my name was in the papers a few years ago over a protest and i was never taken off the block booking list although im sure it was more due to the fai not reading the papers than their good will...

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Are we living in an FAI run Police State?
    Jaysus, could you imagine?

Croker would be a howl : "None of your cheering and clapping there lads. Bit of quiet for the two sets of teams there doing their jobs", we'd all have to wear yello hi-viz as colours, and The only criteria to be minister for Finance would be to have previously been the tea boy in The National Irish Bank in Stillorgan...
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

What a disgracefull thread this. The guardians of our country deserve respect. I'm not standing by and letting Ireland's finest being slagged off. Get real you bunch of low lifes (I notice a number of 'stoodents' amongst ye). Watch this clip from Youtube to understand the high levels of professionalism amongst the Irish police.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=z8wHsoGeu...elated&search=
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    Jaysus, could you imagine?

Croker would be a howl : "None of your cheering and clapping there lads. Bit of quiet for the two sets of teams there doing their jobs", we'd all have to wear yello hi-viz as colours, and The only criteria to be minister for Finance would be to have previously been the tea boy in The National Irish Bank in Stillorgan...
    Beverly Flynn has recently rejoined FF and she used to work that self same organisation......

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    cant see the link so not sure if your quote is supposed to be sarcastic! but if its not, wot the hell are you on about, your auld fella is hardly a cop is he...

the beauty of freedom of speech is one can express and form whatever opinions they like. Whats wrong with students? You seem to have an inferiority complex towards them, like you are threathened by the educated, or maybe like you were denied the same opportunities as them...get over it!
    You shouldn't really comment on it without seeing the link...

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    cant see the link so not sure if your quote is supposed to be sarcastic! but if its not, wot the hell are you on about, your auld fella is hardly a cop is he...

the beauty of freedom of speech is one can express and form whatever opinions they like. Whats wrong with students? You seem to have an inferiority complex towards them, like you are threathened by the educated, or maybe like you were denied the same opportunities as them...get over it!

You need to see the link to see if I'm being sarcastic or not. Type in 'best gardai templemore' in Youtube and you should get it. Not offended in the least by your outburst and you'll see what I'm getting at.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

its blocked out at work....sorry, seen it before...funny....apologies lopez!!!!!!!!!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post

You need to see the link to see if I'm being sarcastic or not. Type in 'best gardai templemore' in Youtube and you should get it. Not offended in the least by your outburst and you'll see what I'm getting at.
    LOL

2,796 Posts
    RTE & The Indo are too preoccupied plugging Venables.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post

Amigo that video is offensive, it shows the horse in a very bad light consorting with idiots.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    RTE & The Indo are too preoccupied plugging Venables.
    The journalist from the Indo and a fella from RTE that we drank with in Wales certainly seemed sure it was Venables.