Thread: Gamble blasts City bosses

Gamble blasts City bosses

From todays examiner..........

the players are worried about their futures......not the kind of thing you want to hear from a key player with the cup final on sunday.

the last line says it all really

================================================== ========
    Gamble blasts City bosses

By Liam Mackey
    CORK CITY midfielder Joe Gamble has blasted club bosses over the delay in sorting out player contracts, claiming the Leesiders “are known for these fiascos”.

In an outspoken interview ahead of Sunday’s FAI Ford Cup final against Longford, Gamble said the contracts hold-out was “beyond a joke”.

Since his comments, Cork have sorted the futures of four of the 11 players out of contract, but Gamble says that it’s hardly ideal preparation for the biggest game of the season.

“Most of the lads are sick of it. Players should get respect, just like managers. You can’t tell a fellow at the end of the season that you don’t want him. Then what is he going to do? He has got to find a new contract.

“It’s about respect. You tell a player if you don’t want him and that’s it. I know you have to deal with budgets, but that’s why people are in clubs as accountants and business people. Let them deal with that sort of stuff and you tell them who you want or who you don’t want.”

Gamble believes the contract situation is symptomatic of wider problems at the club.

“In general, this club is known for these fiascos. Until people actually really get a foothold and get things sorted and run the club properly, it’s always going to be like that here. I don’t know what any other club in Ireland would do, but definitely here we make life hard for ourselves.

I should be talking about a cup final and not contracts.”

Gamble issueing a come and get me plea? Will he try for a second time to geta career going outside of Cork?

144 Posts
    This is razor issueing a do your talking on the pitch plea to all CCFC players though Joey normally does but likes a moan too.

Is it that players are not agreeing to what they've been offered because of the new incentivised contract?
    or that they are not being offered anything at all?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

AFAIK Joe's contract isn't up at the end of this season so don't know why he's making such a big deal about it. Players contracts run until 31/12 so hardly outragouos behaviour by the club to not have things finalised a month before the contracts run out. (Actually now the contracts are sorted)

All this would have come across a lot better in next weeks paper if Joe had a Cup winners medal in his back pocket. He could moan all he wants then.
    Doesn't augur well for his attitude for Sunday.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

All the core players have contracts running to next season at least.

It is really only the squad players who have been left hanging. A few others needed to prove themselves & would have not got contracts 6 months ago. If every players is resigned there won;t be much room to bring in new players.

Is it true Gamble has sold his shop in Cork?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I think closed is more accurate but don't read anything into that.

I reckon we'll be seeing gamble moving on - its not the first time he's been looking for a move - i remember a year or 2 ago he was looking at houses in grange rath in drogheda when he was strongly linked with bohs at the time!

Would ye say pats would make a bid dodge? A central midfielder would probably be at the bottom of our priorities at the moment tbh!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Exaggerated

I think Gamble is just letting off some steam, he won;t leave before contract is up so will see where we at in 6 months time.

The only 1st team squad players not resigned yet are O'Callaghan (not wanted by fans) O'Flynn (injury prone) Killian Lordan, McNulty, McSweeney (he was only signed on 6 month contract to prove himself), Woods & O'Brien (strong chance could retire)

The only players starting on Sunday not signed contracts yet are O'Flynn, Lordan/O'Brien

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I think closed is more accurate but don't read anything into that.
    I'll read what I ant into it...

and Gamble is 100% gone. FACT.

etc etc

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It was only half Joeys shop, closed when the owner of the other half absconded to the Pale.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com