Thread: Showgrounds vandalised at weekend

Showgrounds vandalised at weekend

Anyone hear anything about this? I heard some damage was done to the offices and new stand
    "Overwhelmed"

Offices in the Showgrounds have been badly damaged

Just after hearing the office 's in the Showgrounds have been badly damaged by little gurriers overnight. Anyone up there this morning?
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

I've changed the title to stop you getting an infraction

thugs. hope its not too bad. must go up for a look

terrible news. are people so bored they need to go and do that. not first time it's happened either. but you wouldnt thing it would be reoccuring. disgraceful behaviour !!!!!!
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

could someone actually tell us what happened?

/ pics?

go on down to the showgies now brewer and take a few.

heard they wrecked the offices, computers all over the place etc, tried to get into the press box aswell, probably broke a few seats in the stand too

Heard about computers getting fecked over...

Just pointless destruction...

It's a disgrace but Showgies should be more secure. I've often passed by and see bottom gate left open at night. I know it'd be practically impossible to be able to stop people getting in[hop the wall and that] but theirs no need to be inviting these idiots into the ground by not securing the place and leaving gate open. Time for security cameras I think.

The new front office windows are all bust plus its visible from walking by the Showgrounds that some of the seats in the centre of the stand have been damaged. In the Weekender total that two computers were stolen and the total estimated worth damage came to 8000 euro. Beer cans littered everywhere so they were obviously there awhile.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    the total estimated worth damage came to 8000 euro
    ffs thats the last thing we need!

im sure its all insured

showgrounds vandalised

this is terrible news. the club is financially very tight as it is but for this to happen it must really depress all that are actively involved with sligo rovers. hopefully insurace will cover the costs but this takes tme and right noe the club are a further 8k in the red as im sure repairs will have to be completed a.s.a.p. now i would like to make an impassioned plea to any body out ther who may here something. obviously when the autographed jersey and computers were taken they will surface at some stage and someone will hear something especially about the jersey. these things can never be kept hidden.i feel it is our duty as genuine supporters to keep our ears to the ground and try and find out who the culprits are. something will be let slip in some pub or low life conversation. what i think we should do is set up a post here and if there is any info available let the club and gardai know. these b....... must be caught. with all that has happened over the weekend and the bad publicity about the betting over the bray game the club is at a very low ebb. but it is from such situations that we must help the club at all costs. just to clear the so called betting scam implication this was also a false accusation toward the club and i feel whoever instigated that story to the press and media should be uncloaked as they have done sligo rovers no favours whatsover. however our priorityb is to try and flush out some info regarding the vandalism. i would like peoples opinion on this. sholud we open apost on it?

NO.1 I'm sure Foot.ie would be subject to libel if we named names of people suspected.

No.2 I don't know anyone involved, and if i did, i would not dream of posting it on a public forum. that's just completely foolish.

just go direct to the guards and the club if anyone hears anything, dont dream of mentioning it on here

never mind the guards what would they do? these are obviously young fella's someone knows them and we all know what has to be done with them. even if its insured that will push the premium sky high because it shows how insecure the place is. hope the culprits arent on this with their new computers though

This story is on the front page of today's Sligo Post under the heading of 'Scum!'

correct heading.

wonder was marty and a few longford lads down sligoman? after what happened with us and the waterford game?

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    correct heading.

wonder was marty and a few longford lads down sligoman? after what happened with us and the waterford game?
    no balloons found just yet Feo!