Thread: Scum win in Poland!

3,488 Posts

Scum win in Poland!

2-1. Livescore.com don't carry scorers, but they had it at 0-0 after 80 minutes. A long way from 7-0 in just seven years! (although, before it gets pointed out, that match was 1-0 after an hour before Alan Byrne was sent off...)

That's a brilliant result - hopefully we can carry it on in to the UEFA Cup and European Cup!

Well done to all the Judases out there as well! - Judas Ryan, Judas O'Keeffe, Judas Colwell, Judas Palmer, Judas Keddy and Judas Fitzpatrick.

3,488 Posts
    Stephen Grant and Tony Grant scored.

Thumbs up Fair play

Hopefully they'll go through till the late stages of the cup.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

3,488 Posts
    Nowacki for Odra 1-0 after 74 minutes.
    Stephen Grant 1-1 after 77 minutes
    Tony Grant 1-2 after 82 minutes.

Impressive the way they managed to keep going right until the end - too often we've had teams do well but then get tired late on. Happened with Pat's last year as well - very encouraging.

Only two away wins to-day in the InterToto - other was Gloria Bistrita beating Bangor City of Wales.

If Rovers win, they play Sigma Olomouc, who would have played UCD if we'd beaten Velbazhd Kyustendil. Kyustendil won 2-0 at home, but lost 8-0 away.

bucko said in the star that it was sloven liberec in the next round should they get through

great result, well done the hoops!!!!

good point about the ability to keep going to the end, is this a sign that summer soccer is paying off already, fitness usually told against LOI clubs.

3,488 Posts
    Originally posted by el insider
    bucko said in the star that it was sloven liberec in the next round should they get through
    Doh...could be right...

According to The Times to-day, the Polish crowd only played three first-teamers.

Also, beer is 70p a litre!

Am i the only person who is unhappy that those shower won. I hate seeing Rovers do anything. Horrible scum.

I wouldnt mind, but that win doesnt help our euro co-efficient, so whats the point in being ahppy for them.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Originally posted by GWA
    Am i the only person who is unhappy that those shower won. I hate seeing Rovers do anything. Horrible scum.

I wouldnt mind, but that win doesnt help our euro co-efficient, so whats the point in being ahppy for them.

I must admit I was quietly hoping the Scum would lose aswell. The fact that it doesnt help our co-efficent means that there is no reason why we should want them to do well.

It's funny to see all the Rovers fans getting upset on JW's MB because ourselves and the Bohs fans weren't supporting them. Apparently it makes us barstoolers!
    Champions!

While that game won't help our coefficient in a few more rounds it will and it'll also help Ireland's reputation in Europe.

How are we supposed to win over the English supporters when our teams can't even get out of the first round of the Inter-Toto Cup?
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

Have to say that I always support our eL clubs in Europe, regardless of who they are ( even UCD ! ).

I actually backed rovers to win 2-1 ( got odds of 25-1, nice )

I even thought of backing Tony Grant to score the winner but sadly didn't !

Originally posted by Colm
    It's funny to see all the Rovers fans getting upset on JW's MB because ourselves and the Bohs fans weren't supporting them. Apparently it makes us barstoolers!
    I'm certainly not upset it just makes you seem to be a sad bitter shower of tossers.

Just think it could have been you. Except none of you would have bothered travelling, so it wouldn't have meant as much.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

777 Posts
    I was delighted that they won.

But listen lads its only half time so make sure ye get a big crowd for the return leg and FINISH THE JOB.

Originally posted by TommyT
    none of you would have bothered travelling, so it wouldn't have meant as much.
    So how did ya get on in Poland Tommy?

i'm delighted you did so well, i hope you can keep it up.

i support any LOI team in europe, regardless, their doing well increases their exposure at home and helps generate more interest in the league. well done the hoops, now lets have derry shels and bohs do the same.

Congrads to Rovers. Hope ye finish the job next week & probably go myself.

Even results in the inter toto cup have to do the league good. Well a defeat would be anpother excuse to slag the league off.

I think you either support all eL teams in europe or you don't - don't think you can really pick 'n choose.

I always support Irish teams in Europe, no matter who they are, it can only be good for the league. Mind you I am happier to see other teams winning..............

Smile

Well done to the Hoops. I didn't think they'd win.
    The Polish league is not bad, just look at how that crowd Legia Warsaw or Wisla Krakow did in the Uefa cup last year, beat Utrecht and Schalke 04.

Was at the Pats Gent game last year in Belgium and they should have won that too.

Things are definitely looking up.
    Rocky