Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: What to get the missus for Christmas?

Just wondering what would the ladies here think of a trip to London for a 3 night wkend and tickets to the show Mamma Mia as an xmas present for the better half??

On that note actually, has anyone seen that show and is it any good??

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Just wondering what would the ladies here think of a trip to London for a 3 night wkend and tickets to the show Mamma Mia as an xmas present for the better half??

I did the same for her 21st a year or so ago, went down a storm, and I went to see fulham reading (doyle scored the only goal!) while her&a few girlie friends from london went to a show. wasnt that one, but I'd say a shows a show!
    this year i've been told to get an mp3 player, but will have to get the usual extra few bits aswell
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    this year i've been told to get an mp3 player, but will have to get the usual extra few bits aswell
    What extra bits?

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    What extra bits?
    in my best Louth accent ..... you tell me!!

I dunno, get a cd to go with it anyways after that Im kinda stumped! have to avoid jewellery as thats been used for xmas / birthdays nearly everytime. perfume books vouchers? I dunno!!
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

I got herself a Orgasmatron !! not what it sounds like its not some weird sex toy its a head masager looks kind alike a giant metal spider but the copper legs tickle the head and react to the electric current in the body drives them wild !!! .

Also got her a 8gb ipod nano video , digi cam + printer and dvd

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I got herself a Orgasmatron !! not what it sounds like its not some weird sex toy its a head masager looks kind alike a giant metal spider but the copper legs tickle the head and react to the electric current in the body drives them wild !!! .

Also got her a 8gb ipod nano video , digi cam + printer and dvd
    It would have sounded better if you said you planned to give her an Orgasmatron, and left it at that.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    It would have sounded better if you said you planned to give her an Orgasmatron, and left it at that.
    But i dont make promises i cant keep

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post

Shocking show saw it on Broadway wanted to leave after first act.
    Trip away is a good one but instead of wasting money on Mamma Mia, try getting Dirty Dancing tickets or shopping spree

yeah go for Dirty Dancing. The best movie ever for girls so she will love the show.

I would love to see Mama Mia but would have to shoot someone if had to sit through Abba songs.

Okay here's my dilemma. All help and suggestions appreciated. Started casually seeing a girl in October. Started off a drunken thing, but have met up a few times since, she calls over to my house a few times and we speak every day. She still won't let me call her my girlfriend, and I dare not even mention the "L" word. So all-in-all it's pretty casual.

However she's absolutly stunning, and I really like her so want to make an effort for christmas. Can't be anything too lovey-dovey or too meaningful (don't want to freak her out). Last thing is we're both 24.

Ideas so far:
    Digital photo frame (filled with her photos and fav songs)
    Massage
    Earrings/Necklace

Ideas I've already shot down:
    Weekends away - too soon
    Concert tickets - all good concerts are 5/6 months away - don't want to presume we'll last that long

Lookin at the €150 mark
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Quote Originally Posted by shedite View Post
    Ideas so far:
    Massage
    Earrings/Necklace
    1) Geeky
    2) are you doing it for her?
    3) Jewellery = commitment

€150 is a big sized budget for a casual thing. I think something like clothes might be the handiest thing here. You know what type of stuff she likes (presuming you have functioning eyes) so just get similar stuff. Next time you talk to her you can bring up shopping and see what shops she likes (she mightn't even think you're gay if you saying you're getting something for your sister/cousin/lollipop lady). A nice bottle of perfume (or a LUSH type gift basket) is a good option too.

As well as something half decent get her something "jokey" to show that you don't want to marry her just yet. You'll know her sense of humour so you'll know how far you can push it.

Don't get her anythign you like as it'll look like you're trying to drag her into a relationship.

As I've said €150 is a huge budget so maybe use some of it to get her out for thenight with you

shedite >> giftvoucher for hair/nail/massage treatment is a good idea. I went to this place http://www.freespiritsalons.ie/index.htm in the IFSC last month, enjoyed the treatment (Swedish massage) and prices are reasonable compared to other places.

Or perhaps a giftvoucher for a nice meal out? Most mid-range to top end restaurants sell giftvouchers. If you're in Dublin try Ely for example http://www.elywinebar.ie.

Best of luck with the gift hunt!
    Never send a monkey to do a mans job

Was gonna say €150 is a lot for a casual thing. I'd go for perfume/smelly stuff, safe option or even nicer get a nice set with lots of different cosmetics made up in some of the shops. Keep it simple
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Oh Damn...I misread the thread title, I thought it said how to get a missus for Christmas.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Oh Damn...I misread the thread title, I thought it said how to get a missus for Christmas.
    Early nominee for December POTM
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by shedite View Post
    Okay here's my dilemma. All help and suggestions appreciated. Started casually seeing a girl in October. Started off a drunken thing, but have met up a few times since, she calls over to my house a few times and we speak every day. She still won't let me call her my girlfriend, and I dare not even mention the "L" word. So all-in-all it's pretty casual.

However she's absolutly stunning, and I really like her so want to make an effort for christmas. Can't be anything too lovey-dovey or too meaningful (don't want to freak her out). Last thing is we're both 24.

Ideas so far:
    Massage
    Earrings/Necklace

Ideas I've already shot down:
    Weekends away - too soon
    Concert tickets - all good concerts are 5/6 months away - don't want to presume we'll last that long

Lookin at the €150 mark
    I made a complete disaster of the 'joke present' thing when I started with me missus but she still suffered through.
    Presume you won't be seeing her Christmas day and 150 is big for two months so I'd get her summat small but really nice (maybe the digital photo frame but I don't have a clue what that is) and spend most of it on taking her out Christmas Eve or the night before.
    Dinner, drink and something else, depending on your priorities of film, music and dance.
    Give her a nice little present then when ya say goodbye and happy Christmas to keep her thinking of ya.
    All the best either way.
    That's an exciting Christmas.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Maz View Post
    Was gonna say €150 is a lot for a casual thing. I'd go for perfume/smelly stuff, safe option or even nicer get a nice set with lots of different cosmetics made up in some of the shops. Keep it simple
    Would tend to agree, wouldn't want anyone spending that amount on me for Christmas, far too much. Not that anyone is going to this Christmas
    Especially if it is casual, 150 Euros is madness!
    Is she expecting you to spend that much or something?

Agree with the girlies on this one. She will only feel that she hasnt spent enough on you or feel obliged to get you something more and am sure you dont want to put that kinda pressure on her yet.

Next time you see her, tell her she smells good and ask what perfume she is wearing as you think your sister (if you have one) would like that and then get her it with the body lotion type set. That should set you back bout €60-80 and she will be delighted that you made the effort to find out what she wears.

If you feel like doing something more, as the lads suggest, take her out for a meal and make her feel special.

Would avoid jokey kinda thing tbh but some small sweet present like a cute/funny keyring or a CD would grand.

Well when I said the €150 mark, it was a max. PRob gonna take her out for a meal or somethign which is prob gonna be close to €70 anyway, so maybe a massage voucher for €80 or somethin would fit the bill. I'll report back with results anyway folks!
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Just give her one , thats what all girls really want

Note on the digital photo frame as a bloke id thought it was a great idea tested the water and she said she would hate it

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast