Thread: Feedback on Prices

Feedback on Prices

A bit of Market Research here,wwhich i'm sure those at the Club will be interested to read as much as the rest of us.

How do people in general think the prices have been perceived?It's often difficult to gauge in these circumstances because E250/E20/E25 doesn't mean the same to everybody.

To be honest i haven't heard to much complaints about the season ticket prices,bar the expected moan and groan that they've increased dramtically.Having said that i think E250 is good value myself.

However at least 5 people who i've spoken to feel the general admission prices are to high.Some guy on the .net forum received the same reaction-except his "casual" freinds won't be coming back and the rest(Non casual) won't be renewing their season tickets.
    The E25 is possibly a smoke screen and the new stand will still have plenty of people in it but it will be dissapointing if come March there's more people in the old stand than new one.
    With the galway public you can never guess what will happen.We might,once again,get 3000 on the opening day in March or we may pay the price,pardon the pun,and be back to 1700.
    Hopefully it's not the latter.I just keep spinning off the"building to succeed"line.I think we all have to convince as many people as possible to keep with UTD.It's as much our responsiblity as nick's,Daniel's etc.
    Anyone who believes in UTD and our ethos has a duty to ensure people don't neglect us now.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

I think its inevitable that people will moan about the prices simply because our season ticket was the cheapest around last year. Maybe we should have played more on the fact that it was the cheapest around or shouldve have gone for a €200 price last year. The jump wouldn't have looked as big then. Still I think if we get off to a good start the crowds will come. Will there be the usual vouchers with the season ticket?

The few I have talked too are taken aback by the increase but didnt say no to buying a season ticket outright.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

As I have said on the pub thread Conor i am the only one in my department out of the four of us who is renewing their season ticket next season.
    One lad has given up all together and the other two are just cherry picking the best games to see .
    Now four friends of one and 3 of another said that they are not getting another ticket this season .

Most have said that 200 Euro would have been fair jump up until Xmas and a bit more after that .

Bottom line we are going to lose the fans we had last season over this and that means less money for the club

Had two lads ringing me last night complaining about the price increase. One said he'd probably still get a season ticket. The other wasn't sure yet.

75 Posts
    There is four Months before the season starts and considering there is the direct debit option of 3 payments and you are saving approx €70 on the league games alone I think peoples attitudes will soften.

Our biggest problem is the majority of Season Tickets last year were sold at €150 which was a give away and easily the cheapest in the premier so people are shocked to have to pay €100 more. We always buy 2 as do most of the volunteer workers at the club and we will be doing likewise this year even though we dont have to.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Just a quick question Gufct , so are you saying that volunteers will get in free of charge this season ?

And if so fair play to the club ......
    Last edited by Claret Murph; 15/11/2007 at 12:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    We always buy 2 as do most of the volunteer workers at the club and we will be doing likewise this year even though we dont have to.
    Well aren't you great - you should be nominated for a noble prize.
    Volunteering and buying 2 tickets - legend,
    you should look into getting the new stand named after your good self

147 Posts
    Really no need for that smart a*se comment
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

75 Posts
    Im saying the majority of the volunteers workers always buy a season ticket not looking for praise just stating a fact.

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06 View Post
    Well aren't you great - you should be nominated for a noble prize.
    Volunteering and buying 2 tickets - legend,
    you should look into getting the new stand named after your good self
    The attitude of some people is unbelievable. I think its a great thing that the directors and people involved in runing the club buy season tickets. They don't do it to look good they do it as they believe in the club. If they didnt see it worthwhile buying them it would be hard for them to go out and sell them to the public in fairness.

Volunteering for a club truely is a thankless job when you see the likes of the comment above.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Ah will ye ever get over yourselves.

The price has gone up a lot people are allowed to voice their opinions on the matter, a lot of people especially with children now will be paying much more to go to matches and a lot cannot afford to be paying it every second week.

They don't need to hear well I'm great I'm not just buying 1 I'm buying 2 - possibly 1 for me and the other for my ego.
    GUFCT if you didn't mean it like that so be it, but thats the way it reads to me.

Percentages

The following figures are based on an attendance of 2,200 adult supporters per home league game made up of 700 Season Ticket Holders for 2008 plus 1,500 adult supporters at 17 homes games in a season.

Nick Leeson states that turnover for 2007 was €1,000,000 with an expected increase in turnover of 20% in 2008 to a total of €1,200,000.

1) By cherry picking matches and attending no more than 12 home league games (70% of home games) then you save on the price of a season ticket.

2) Season Ticket prices increase is 42.86% on 2007 prices

3) Match day ticket increase is 33.33% on 2007 prices.

4) Selling 700 season tickets at €250 will give an increased revenue of €52,500 or will contribute 4.4% to the 2008 projected turnover

5) Having 1,500 adults pay at the turnstiles for 17 home league matches will increase revenue by €127,500 or will contribute 10.63% to the 2008 projected turnover.

By these figures, 75% of the proposed increased turnover to €1,200,000 will be garnered from increases in ticket prices.

With an increased profile of Galway United FC, it should be hoped and expected that the local business community would row in behind the club to help them achieve their ambitions for 2008.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eire06 View Post
    Ah will ye ever get over yourselves.

The price has gone up a lot people are allowed to voice their opinions on the matter, a lot of people especially with children now will be paying much more to go to matches and a lot cannot afford to be paying it every second week.

They don't need to hear well I'm great I'm not just buying 1 I'm buying 2 - possibly 1 for me and the other for my ego.
    GUFCT if you didn't mean it like that so be it, but thats the way it reads to me.
    Eire get over yourself I said we not I and anyone who knows me doesnt need everything spelt out for them.

Does we not include you as well, it does not state who the other(s) in the 'we' were so I just replied to you.
    And this is a public forum sorry but not everyone knows you, so sometimes you do need to spell it out.

ShamTalk, it would be great for the club if those proposed figures do work out, but I think unless the performances on the pitch dramatically improve a lot of the 'pay on the gate' fans won't fork out €20\€25 to go

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShamTalk View Post
    The following figures are based on an attendance of 2,200 adult supporters per home league game made up of 700 Season Ticket Holders for 2008 plus 1,500 adult supporters at 17 homes games in a season.

Nick Leeson states that turnover for 2007 was €1,000,000 with an expected increase in turnover of 20% in 2008 to a total of €1,200,000.

1) By cherry picking matches and attending no more than 12 home league games (70% of home games) then you save on the price of a season ticket.

2) Season Ticket prices increase is 42.86% on 2007 prices

3) Match day ticket increase is 33.33% on 2007 prices.

4) Selling 700 season tickets at €250 will give an increased revenue of €52,500 or will contribute 4.4% to the 2008 projected turnover

5) Having 1,500 adults pay at the turnstiles for 17 home league matches will increase revenue by €127,500 or will contribute 10.63% to the 2008 projected turnover.

By these figures, 75% of the proposed increased turnover to €1,200,000 will be garnered from increases in ticket prices.

With an increased profile of Galway United FC, it should be hoped and expected that the local business community would row in behind the club to help them achieve their ambitions for 2008.

1500 paying customers on averages would be 1/3 adults 1/3 students/oap

1/3 children which totals alot less that 1500 adults
    thats a general figure based on attendances at all games in league

imo even without the increase in prices the attendances for the season just gone would have been hard to replicate without the performance on the pitch/league position improving radically.

i'm sure a lot of people bought season tickets last season for novelty value (i personally know at least 4 people who would never had bought one before) and would need to be pushed to buy again this year (even at last years prices) - the increase in price has tipped the scale unfortunately.

There is four Months before the season starts and considering there is the direct debit option of 3 payments and you are saving approx €70 on the league games alone I think peoples attitudes will soften.
    Buy a season ticket at €250, miss more than 3 games over the course of the summer (not inconcievable) then the value of the ticket is gone.

If the club are adamant about this pricing structure, what about some kind of ticket exchange scheme, so if you are a season ticket holder and you miss a game you can sell your "seat" for that game for a % of the value. Don't know hpw it would be implemented but there are people paid to come up with those bits

there are two ways of looking at it in relation to season tickets anyway

one is the value for money - if thats the case well then youll have to make sure you make all home games

the other is supporting the club through your purchase - and i think that is the point that is being laboured by nick leeson or at least should be the focus of it

you had better believe when i say there are plenty of supporters looking for value for money and this new price regieme has people thinking about it - from those ive been talking to at least

personally i dont think of the season ticket as a means to financially show my support the club (i know full well it is) - if i want to do that there is the lotto etc.

the main thing is get punters through the gates and im not so sure about this price structure
    more water!

At the very least, 17 home games in the Premier Division.

17 x E25 = E425

Season ticket = E250

Cost saving = E175 (Seven matches)

personally i think the numbers will drop off and it will be a combination of price, novelty wearing off and the standard of hoofball fresh in the mind!
    more water!