Page 30 of 128 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    Grand! End of debate.
    could Eoin Doyle from Shamrock Rovers be a possibilty ? hes not a usual goalscorer for shamrock rovers.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    could Eoin Doyle from Shamrock Rovers be a possibilty ? hes not a usual goalscorer for shamrock rovers.
    I know very little of this player only his sneaky goal against us this season. Purcell (Shams), McHugh (Derry) or Bates of Drogheda would be good signings in my opinion.

Realistically a swap of Faz for another striker would seem the best value.........if Cook decided that Mansaram is the player to swap, then that is his decision, uncomfortable as it may seem
    "Overwhelmed"

I know very little of this player only his sneaky goal against us this season. Purcell (Shams), McHugh (Derry) or Bates of Drogheda would be good signings in my opinion.

Realistically a swap of Faz for another striker would seem the best value.........if Cook decided that Mansaram is the player to swap, then that is his decision, uncomfortable as it may seem
    I reckon if Faz does go ona swap the team who sign him will have to allow us to sign a good striker because Faz is a very good player and we should be able to get someone as good as him in return. as you said if he went to derry we could get mchugh in return.
    Coleman for Ireland

The Mansaram Question

You're all nuts!!!! If Mansaran returns to the Showgrounds it would be a great move. This lark about him winding up the fans is ridicules.

He is a sound bloke and a good footballer, just the type of player we need, (big, awkward, can hold the ball up) and he's a proven goal scorer. As far as I'm concerned he is what our team is crying out for. Looking at the sexy "total football(ish)" style we are currently playing under Cook, we are the Arsenal of the Eircom League. Swashbuckling fullbacks and trying to walk the ball in and all that.... which is great to watch but sometimes route one is what's needed. A player like Darren would give us a badly needed alternative option when it comes to putting the 'pigs bladder' in the net!

The return of the the Mighty Daz should be welcomed with open arms particularly with the loss of a player such as Fantastic Faz.

How you can bare a grudge against a fellow for applauding a referees decision in favour of his team is beyond me. You're criticizing a bloke because he was playing the game. I too gave him a piece of my mind from the Tracey Ave Stand at the time, but soon got over it.

I''m also am a fan of Turner, i think he was and is a great midfielder, who's style is suited to the League and probably deserves to be playing at a higher level than where he currently is.

However, your all giving out about Daz, have ya'll forgotten that Mr Turner went-a-training with Boh's while still a Rovers player before his move to Dublin? It could be argued that Darren showed more honesty by not showing up for that Bray match.

Anyway, bring back Chrissy and we should all have a go at the Daz door-step challenge to see how we get on. Should we lose Faz and Murphy to Boh's, we could to a lot worse than Chris and Darren.

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    I reckon if Faz does go ona swap the team who sign him will have to allow us to sign a good striker because Faz is a very good player and we should be able to get someone as good as him in return.
    Do you really?!?!?!?! It's only fair isn't it.
    Last edited by Only1Rovers; 06/06/2008 at 9:57 AM.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    The return of the the Mighty Daz should be welcomed with open arms particularly with the loss of a player such as Fantastic Faz.
    I'd welcome him back, but hopefully he doesnt wear that terrible stud in his ear, it used to blind me from across the room at toffs

Still annoy's me his "injury" and his subsequent trip to watch Bohs while still under contract here.

Whatever about his footballing credentials, I don't like the guy at all.

But as was said if Cookie wants him and see's him as doing a job, well can't veto it can we?

As unhappy as I would be in one regard, on another he'd be a decent addition to squad football wise.

we cant afford to be cutting off our nose to spite our face

if cookie thinks mansaram will improve things, go get him

i for one am sick of matt judges efforts up front - a lack of ability i could understand but not even bothering to jump for high balls against jamie harris in the home pats match i cant accept. a jump would have made harris job more difficult even if matt did not win any headers.

give daz the benefit of the doubt that he was influenced by the poisoned dwarfs lies - he was getting the worst of abuse in the home bohs match last year.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Still annoy's me his "injury" and his subsequent trip to watch Bohs while still under contract here.

Whatever about his footballing credentials, I don't like the guy at all.

But as was said if Cookie wants him and see's him as doing a job, well can't veto it can we?

As unhappy as I would be in one regard, on another he'd be a decent addition to squad football wise.
    I would like too see Darren back as he would fill the void up front with effect as hes tall and strong, which means we have someone who can get up for high headers and someone who can challenge for the ball up front I just want too say too fans who dont want him back, that hes the best we will probably get at the minute. If we give him a good reception he could enjoy it here again.
    Coleman for Ireland

I couldn't care less if he was Satan incarnate if he came back and got 15 goals between now and the end of the season. My only concern is whether he'd deliver - I thought he was good for Rovers, but not magnificent.

Ideally, we want a player who's another notch above what Faz and Judge produced last season - is Mansaram that player?

As regards his integrity, the one problem I'd have is that if he did start playing really well and banging in the goals to the point where our success really depends on him, and another club shows an interest, is he going to let everyone down again?
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    we cant afford to be cutting off our nose to spite our face

if cookie thinks mansaram will improve things, go get him

i for one am sick of matt judges efforts up front - a lack of ability i could understand but not even bothering to jump for high balls against jamie harris in the home pats match i cant accept. a jump would have made harris job more difficult even if matt did not win any headers.

give daz the benefit of the doubt that he was influenced by the poisoned dwarfs lies - he was getting the worst of abuse in the home bohs match last year.
    I agree about Faz and judge they both want to move to different clubs and they dont perform aswell as they should, but Faz acually puts in the effort but Judge however, has been simply awful. Pats are sopposed to be releasing 3 strikers we should wait and see who they are. hopefully 1 is a striker worth signing.
    Coleman for Ireland

In fairness to Judgey, it's not lack of ability, the guy just has zero confidence in himself at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    In fairness to Judgey, it's not lack of ability, the guy just has zero confidence in himself at the minute.
    that should not stop him jumping for a header - he has to be 6 foot tall ffs
    its not a matter of fairness - its for the common good of srfc

From eleven-a-side.com today:

Galway United Football Club has been forced to release six players from its first-team squad due to lower than projected revenue returns this season.

Goalkeeper Alvin Rouse, defenders John Lester and Wes Charles, midfielders Ciaran Foley and Daryl Robson and striker Stephen O’Flynn have all been informed that the will be released at the end of June.

Club chief executive officer Nick Leeson said: “It is with deep regret that we have had to take this course of action. It is absolutely no reflection on the individuals concerned but is driven purely by financial pressure.

“The club has suffered significantly in recent months from the general economic downturn that is affecting so many businesses throughout the country. Season ticket sales were down sharply, fundraising is behind target and advertising continues to sell poorly.

“In recent weeks falling gate receipts have added to the problem and prompted such action to ensure the long-term future of the football club.”
    Wonder if any of these lads would be on for moving to the Showgrounds? Considering the general difficulty we have convincing east-coast players to move west, this could be a golden opportunity.

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post

Ideally, we want a player who's another notch above what Faz and Judge produced last season - is Mansaram that player?
    Hold on.

All this talk about Mansaram stems from a swop with Bohs for Faz (and Murphy, hopefully no though).

Should it go through, it would be a situation where Rovers would have little choice in who comes the other way. We would have to accept what we're offered or just leave it.

I'm of the opinion that Faz will stay put until his contract expires and he''ll go for nothing and Rovers will receive nothing in return.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post

Wonder if any of these lads would be on for moving to the Showgrounds? Considering the general difficulty we have convincing east-coast players to move west, this could be a golden opportunity.
    Just have a look at the table and see where Galway are!

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    that should not stop him jumping for a header - he has to be 6 foot tall ffs
    and what's Faz's excuse for not jumping? Judge hasn't been given many starts this season to be fair, plus as has been said, he does have something personal going on at the moment, that's why he's (supposedly) leaving in the July window.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post

If you stuck the whole lot of them together, you wouldn't make one decent footballer.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I highly doubt Mansaram will be going to Sligo. Very small chance of it happening but as things stand looks like he won't.

especially when he applauded the referees decision to award a penalty to Bohs. Any player with dignity would have remained anonymous in such situations especially returning to a club who rejuvenated a declining career in football.

I vote NO to Mansaram
    think about it though,if you were being abused constantly obviously you would get a p1ssed of and more passionate. I know if I was him I would have also applauded the decision. In general(not you by the way) sligo rovers can be very fickle. I especially noticed this during the pats game,all was going well and we were supporting the team as best we could.Then after we conceded the second goal everybody randomly turned on the ref for NO reason.Think with your head lads(some of the time at least)

Sorry but the Pats ref was a disgrace from the 1st minute
    RIP JOHNNY

Page 30 of 128 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080 ... LastLast