Glad to see the players at Bohs look after themselves but Rraf need not be concerned about that when we play them. Gavin and Mauro will look after him.
Ah come on a last chance at having a challenge, if he waited 5 minutes and maybe saw what Cookie was putting together it would have given him a chance to be part of a side that could challenge.Remember what we did when we finally got a half descent squad together in the 2nd half of the season, only shams had a better record than us.
Remember we outplayed Bohs in the league cup semi and twice in the cup. No one said anyrthing about booing anyone and maybe some fans will chant his name but some definitely will not...
Look after themselves ?? Dont recall Raf missing out on many nights out with the team in McHughs.
Given his comments about wanting to leave in the summer transfer window to Shams and not forgetting his comments less than 24 hours after the Cup Final he can go ^&*% himself.
How soon he forgot what Rovers and Cookie did for him.
Last edited by Guts&Glory; 26/02/2010 at 3:55 PM.
Cretaro's comment "i was playing at sligo every week whether i liked it or not" angers me. Tell that to the thousands of unemployed lads at the present time, who would give anything to have a job. Incidentally, was cretaro a volunteer, not getting paid?!!!. As far as i know, in any job, an employee cannot choose which day or week they work.! He owes a debt of gratitude to Paul Cook for making him the player he became. I dont recall him setting Galway alight during his time there.!
every single one of our players would have left if bohs/shams came in for them and they'd be doing media interviews saying how great their new club is. Gavin Peers is obviously the exception so!
Last edited by bingoballs; 26/02/2010 at 4:53 PM.
Jeez, some of ye are very sensitive. A player answers a few questions honestly and is then pilloried for those answers. Some of ye claim Raff was having a few digs at Rovers in his comments! Where? How? He says "the physical aspect of the players" impressed him. No surprise there. Bohs' links with DCU means they are without doubt the best prepared side in the country, as they have the best facilities available to them in terms of training, conditioning, diet, nutrition, etc. Fenlon also doesn't strike me as someone who'd be out on the lash with them, as Cook is known to do from time to time. Two league titles in two years suggests Bohs are a finely tuned machine. And it really p!sses me off to hear the abuse Raff took after the comments he made immediately after the Cup final. Again, he was just answering questions posed by journalists as to his future. It's not like he ruthlessly came out with a statement or press release saying he was done with Rovers and was hoping for a move to Bohs or Shams. Raff has a lot to thank Rovers for, but we, as Rovers fans, have a lot more to thank him for. He provided some great entertainment and great goals over the years and owed the club nothing when they were not prepared to match either his wage demands or his ambition. Bohs have now satisfied both and I will be very surprised if he does not possess at least one winners' medal after his time with them. Plus, he will get to play in the Champions League. Qualifiers maybe, but at least it's the Champions League. Not many Tubbercurry lads can say that! I'll get very little opportunity to watch Rovers this year, but if I saw them against Bohs then I would hope I would not be alone in my initial applause for Raff. Anything less is an insult to a player who DID give his everything for the club, regardless of how poorly some of you think his application was after the July window. And I am guessing that if Raff was asked by a journalist to describe his time at The Showgrounds, what he thinks of the club, and what his hopes for the club are, I am sure he would be full of complimentary words as the club did and does mean a lot to him!
well it looks like Cook has got his wish with two players for every position, it looks a strong squad although theres a few unknowns, with Cooks comments about getting a forward with pace im sure he'll convert one of the faster wingers into a second string striker (if needed) as he has done in the past, i definetly see Eoin Doyle playing more up front this season, think people forget he has been playing out of position on the wing
------------------------------Richard Brush
------------------------------Ciaran Kelly
Paul Whelan ----- Gavin Peers - Mauro Almeida-----Iarflaith Davoren
Alan Keane ------ Derek Foran - Steve Feeney------Danny Keohane
Jason McCartney --- Richie Ryan - Conor O'Grady ------- Gary McCabe
John Dillon ---------- Mark Donninger - Danny Ventre ----Dean Marshall
----------------------Padraig Amond Mathew Blinkhorn
----------------------Eoin Doyle
dont know what position Mark McGoldrick, Barry O'Mahoney or Keith Duffy play so havent added them above.. plenty of competition for places and Russell to join mid-season as well, cant wait til the season starts
Last edited by redbuli; 26/02/2010 at 7:46 PM.
Marks centre forward,though he's played on the wing a bit. Barrys a centre mid and I think Duffys a centre back, could be left back though.
Dean Marshall looked lively when he played up front against Bohs, scored a cracker of a goal too, I'd wonder if Cook plans on using him up there this year.
Jesus Christ the bitterness towards Raf.
That interivew is just a carbon copy of every interview of a player going to a new club.
How quick people twist the knife, hes been a stalwart of our club for years and if he came to work saturated in babys blood id still be reluctant to question the lad after his many many years of service and commitment to the club.
A bit over the top but more than anything else our supporters got a bit upset at his remark about Sligo which at the least was a bit disrespectful to the club who looked after him for a long time. I hope he gets on well with Bohs but is a washout against us whenever we play against him.
Well Moderators......almost 24 hours later and still no sign of my post below? Any chance it will go up?
Last edited by dahamsta; 28/02/2010 at 12:26 AM.
I run Foot.ie in my spare time, if you want better reaction times, click Buy Foot.ie Kit or Join Foot.ie Club above. In the meantime, you might want to think about just how important your opinion actually is. Oh, and paragraphs.
Left Full back for Jason McCartney
Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!
It will be interesting to see if the sugardaddy of Sporting Fingal still has very deep pockets, according to recent news he may not have.
Supposedly working behind the Bar at Dalymount Park like Rossiter et al.
Are you saying we are supposed to believe that Raf moved to a more expensive place to live than Sligo - that Dublin is - for less Money than he was on at Rovers - come on pull the other one.
It wouldnt be like Bohs to be economical with figures now would it.
Didn't see him mentioned in the report on the Coleraine Vs Bohs game - is he injured ?