Page 82 of 128 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast
Results 1,621 to 1,640 of 2551

Thread: Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

Quote Originally Posted by Redkenrover View Post
    Heard at the weekend that he had joined Castlebar Celtic? Also heard that Eoin Torpey may be headin that way as well.
    I'd hate to see Torpey go, we're low on Centre Midfielders as it is.
    Coleman for Ireland

21 Posts
    Darren Meenan is still on trial at the Showgrounds. Probably rubbish talk, another striker is suposedly on the cards with Boco to be off loaded.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    another striker is suposedly on the cards with Boco to be off loaded.
    Heard this too, some of the suits want him gone. Really hope he's kept.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Darren Meenan is still on trial at the Showgrounds. Probably rubbish talk, another striker is suposedly on the cards with Boco to be off loaded.
    Wouldnt be suprised considering they were trying to off load him pre-season.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

That's a great idea. Sell possibly our best player to cut a bit of wages. Meantime we get relegated.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    That's a great idea. Sell possibly our best player to cut a bit of wages. Meantime we get relegated.

have to agree....if we are to get out off this we need Boco...simple as that...if we need to slash wages why not Butler as another thread has suggested or some of the dead wood at the club..not our best player.

I don't think it's all the MC's doing about getting rid of Boco, he's supposed to want out himself.

Ive heard he does not know what he wants himself.

when we were in team hotel in albania boco kept askin the treasurer (i think) when was contract negociations starting as his contract up in november. now he was saying it in jest but doubt he wants out the way he was going on. hope not anyways he is one of our best players

I just heard from good source we have signed midfielder Michael McGrath from Galway. Should be a welcome addition to a battle weary midfield. Whats the view on him lads?

Quote Originally Posted by Rover'n'out View Post
    I just heard from good source we have signed midfielder Michael McGrath from Galway. Should be a welcome addition to a battle weary midfield. Whats the view on him lads?
    Good signing if true, this lad has done well for Galway this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Was gonna say the opposite. I'd say he'll be a back-up, if its true.

EDIT: Didnt realise he'd made as many appearances
    Last edited by Rovers1; 22/07/2009 at 5:30 PM.

any new players are welcomed we have spent last 2 seasons with tiny squad now we are rebuilding. even if only a sub he is far more experienced than thorpey or kelly. we will wait and see what he brings to us but we live in hope

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rover'n'out View Post
    Haven't been that impressed with him tbh. Alot of the games have passed him by in the middle of the park. Doesn't tackle enough, and has been out-muscled by other midfielders on occassions

Sean Kelly has been far better for us. That said, there's nothing to say Macca won't do a good job for ye.

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Haven't been that impressed with him tbh. Alot of the games have passed him by in the middle of the park. Doesn't tackle enough, and has been out-muscled by other midfielders on occassions

Sean Kelly has been far better for us. That said, there's nothing to say Macca won't do a good job for ye.

Going by what you said, sounds like what Richie Ryan's been like this season. Have to give every player a chance though, could well prove to be a brilliant singing for us if true as we need centre midfielders badly.
    Coleman for Ireland

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Going by what you said, sounds like what Richie Ryan's been like this season. Have to give every player a chance though, could well prove to be a brilliant singing for us if true as we need centre midfielders badly.
    If an offer has been put in, then it probably has been accepted, as we badly need any cash going, and any savings that can be made

I remember Cookie saying he was looking to sign 1 or 2 Galway players, surprised he didnt look at a centre back instead.
    Coleman for Ireland

Would Rovers be in a position to make an 'offer' though?

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    I remember Cookie saying he was looking to sign 1 or 2 Galway players, surprised he didnt look at a centre back instead.
    Maybe he did look at their centre halves and opted for their midfielder instead
    "Overwhelmed"

I'm pretty sure a bag of footballs and some bibs would probably do it, such is our plight.

He has only missed two league games but I feel he has been a passenger for a lot of the games in our three man centre midfield formation. I don't know how he would fare with a 2 v 2 in the middle.
    He hasn't scored a goal, got one assist (of sorts) when a pass deflected off a ref into Faherty's path against Drogheda and has never stood out as a Man of the Match contender. Not a fan of putting his foot into the tackle either.
    That said, he plays a simple pass fairly well and seems fairly athletic. Can't see him dislodging O'Grady or Ryan to be honest.

Page 82 of 128 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast