Page 54 of 128 FirstFirst ... 444525354555664104 ... LastLast
Results 1,061 to 1,080 of 2551

Thread: Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Im not on here to wind anyone up lads but are ye living in the real world. Rumors coming out of all clubs is cutbacks of anything between 30% to 50% minimum and ye are talking of signing 5 to 6 players.

We have slashed our budget going nearly completely part time with contract based on appearence & big bonuses with very small basic wages. We reckon we could lose 5/6 players and be mainly locally based.

How are Sligo going to finance the expenditure ye are talking about here.We already have 3 sponsorship deals done plus a very exciting teamwear deal with Elverys and are selling season tickets already at much reduced prices http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/tickets...ckets-09.htmlh .

We also hope to finalise Jay O'Sheas transfer to Derby this week but are still only going to have a playing Budget of less than €350k for this season.
    Your spot on buddy. Talk on here of bringing in 5/6 more players is laughable.
    But with some of the people now involved in the running of the club i wouldn't be surprised.

Quote Originally Posted by red_away View Post
    We would hope to have a better income this year than last year
    Do you need a history lesson? Last year we raised 130k trying to save the club and break even, we even sold faz for 20k. And we just about break even.
    Now. Take that away next year! add 2/3 players to our wage bill, add massively reduced sponsorship money & dwindling attendances from the recession... and what do you get?
    Even taking into account extra cup games & setanta next year the club would be heading into the red.

The only way the club can bring in players and expand the budget is by the setting up of permanent fundraisers. No once off draws every year. A Weekly source of income. EG. The Johnny Chadda Fund, 1,000 fans drive.

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    If Drog's go to the wall will we be left short of money we're owed for Faz?
    We are not owed any money from the sale of Faz. FACT.

Also just to add:
    Parkhouse and Morrison deals being finalised.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    But with some of the people now involved in the running of the club i wouldn't be surprised.

Do you need a history lesson? Last year we raised 130k trying to save the club and break even, we even sold faz for 20k. And we just about break even.
    Now. Take that away next year! add 2/3 players to our wage bill, add massively reduced sponsorship money & dwindling attendances from the recession... and what do you get?
    Even taking into account extra cup games & setanta next year the club would be heading into the red.

The only way the club can bring in players and expand the budget is by the setting up of permanent fundraisers. No once off draws every year. A Weekly source of income. EG. The Johnny Chadda Fund, 1,000 fans drive.

Also just to add:
    Well said. I don't think that the recession will damage attendances too much though. Crowds in the late eighties and early nineties were probably better than now. Hopefully if peope can't afford to go to Old Trafford and Anfield, maybe they'll get off their holes and support their local team.
    Maybe I'm totally naive about it though

Also just to add:
    Dont know where you are getting your information from but some of it you might try keeping to yourself.S R F C are still owed money from the sale of FAZ.FACT!!!!
    Last edited by gustavo; 02/12/2008 at 9:14 AM.

Howya lads.

Now i'm not sure why you know about Owen Morrison. Him and Kenny didnt get on, I heard he wasnt respecting Kenny, being late to training etc.

On the field, he was better than McCourt. He was our second top league scorer last year even tho he only played for one third of the season. The man is sheer class. Last year Roddy Collins said that him and McCourt were the leagues two best players and he was right.

I was disappointed with Kenny as to how he handled Owen, i still dont think that Kenny can manage an ego yet. Than said, if you have a quick look at the guys history, Kenny isnt the 1st manager he has falling out with, so maybe he really was unworkable.

Whats the craic with McDaid? Ready for first team football yet? I was impressed by him two years ago when we made a few starts for ourselves.
    MD

Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    Howya lads.

Now i'm not sure why you know about Owen Morrison. Him and Kenny didnt get on, I heard he wasnt respecting Kenny, being late to training etc.

On the field, he was better than McCourt. He was our second top league scorer last year even tho he only played for one third of the season. The man is sheer class. Last year Roddy Collins said that him and McCourt were the leagues two best players and he was right.

I was disappointed with Kenny as to how he handled Owen, i still dont think that Kenny can manage an ego yet. Than said, if you have a quick look at the guys history, Kenny isnt the 1st manager he has falling out with, so maybe he really was unworkable.

Whats the craic with McDaid? Ready for first team football yet? I was impressed by him two years ago when we made a few starts for ourselves.
    Hopefully we can land him but he sounds a little difficult to deal with. McDaid, thats a good question he is still very young but i think he is a footballer and had an excellent attitude. Without being too big headed i would say the spell he had with us will have brought him on big time, i hope the lad does well for himself.

21 Posts
    Cretaro has re-signed according to the Weekender.
    Last edited by red bellied; 02/12/2008 at 2:40 PM. Reason: Cretaro has not resigned

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Cretaro has resigned according to the Weekender.
    i assume that means signed for another year rb. not resigned from the club.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    i assume that means signed for another year rb. not resigned from the club.
    That could lead to confusion, fixed it

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    The money Faz will supposedly be getting there, I'd be laughing if I was him too...
    Im sure he was laughing about the money he was supposed to get from Drogs too ...

Formerly: wild rover
    Very slow in the market unsurprisingly. All of Drogs' players up for grabs and several Bohs now ( JP Kelly and Burns amongst) available on a free.

151 Posts
    Burns and JP will be going to Athlone to follow the great leader, Sean Connor, when he takes over at the 'big' club. As long as they 'match his ambitions'.

Cook has got his man by the sounds of it.

Hopefully we land the lad, plenty of green eyed Monsters on that site. Great if stay up next season.

Also just to add:
    where do you get your facts from?

Try being positive for once.
    Negativity and negative speculation arent helpful
    Weve just had our most successful season in a long time,
    sometimes i wonder about people,
    would they prefer for us to be down at the bottom.
    Last edited by srfc1928; 02/12/2008 at 11:15 PM.

http://www.potomacsoccerwire.com/news/460/4762

No chance of JO'H coming back as rumoured...

21 Posts
    Back of the Sligo Post, Coleman heading over to Birmingham City for talks on Thursday.

http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligolei...leid=000002903

Sligo Rovers star full back Seamus Coleman appears to be on the verge of a move to second placed Championship side Birmingham City. The English club have made a six figure offer to Sligo Rovers and the club have given the player permission to speak to the Birmingham management.
    The young Donegal born player is at St Andrews this week and will train with the first team on Thursday.
    Any deal will involve add on clauses in relation to league appearances and international caps.
    Glasgow Celtic are reported to be monitoring the situation also. It is expected that that a decision on a transfer will be made inside the next 2 weeks although the player cannot officially move until January the 1st.
    Last edited by red bellied; 03/12/2008 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Ocean link

I hope this is true. Coleman is a great player but the club needs the cash that this deal could bring about. Also, I don't know the stats but did we not manage fairly okay last season when he was out through injury, suspension or international duty?
    I would wish him well though. Lovely footballer.

Well we are not desperate for the money so it should put us in a fairly strong position if the offers are coming in. A few months ago we would have had to take the first offer that came along. Also helps that Seamie is happy here.

Quote Originally Posted by Rory H View Post

No chance of JO'H coming back as rumoured...
    TBH Rory i dont think we need him, Brush has become one of the best keepers in the league, surprised no team has come after him yet.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    TBH Rory i dont think we need him, Brush has become one of the best keepers in the league, surprised no team has come after him yet.
    I agree, never said we needed him.